We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner out”
Review of Slanted Door

Slanted Door
Ranked #66 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Embarcadero between Mission and Clay St.
Transit: The Ferry building is served by public transportation: Muni, Golden Gate Transit, Bart, F Train. Ferry service is available with Golden Gate Ferry, Blue and Gold Fleet and Bay Link Ferries. For more information, visit www.transitinfo.org and www.sfport.com
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“dinner out”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great food and atmosphere, but highly popular! Make a reso and get there as the sun goes down for some nice colors over the bay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dyondorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,491
    935
    383
    123
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great High End Choice for Foodie Friends”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well, if you are a foodie, or have a friend who is, this is a great choice. They have a crazy over the top menu, and the prices to prove it. $40 for a steak, and $11 for the side of asparagus...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
215 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“My new SF fav”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Slanted Door is my new SF favorite!! I am in SF for business at least 7-8 times a year and I make a stop at the Ferry Building at least once a trip. A friend recommended The Slanted Door, which I had never been to before. Just culinarily speaking...this is the best food in town. Absolutely fantastic. Unlike alot of restaurants, they dont hide low-grade ingredients behind a smothering of salt. This is the place to order family-style so that you get to taste everything.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatientX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great either.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I visited the slanted door with some work friends, hoping for something excellent. We booked in advance, arrived slightly early and had to wait a good half an hour to be seated. The place was absolutely packed which may explain but doesn't excuse this. The food was a mix of delicious and bland, ambience was noisy but not terrible. The view is great. Service was fairly attentive and polite. As someone who loves eating, I'm not sure what the fuss is all about here :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE TOURIST TRAP”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were taken to the Slanted Door by friends during a recent vacation and would certainly not have chosen this restaurant based on TA reviews.

The location of this restaurant is by far the best part of the experience of the Slanted Door. Full of tourists due to location and light show on Bay Bridge.

Food was distinctly average and vastly over-priced.

I thought the wine list was strange with a restricted choice of great Californian wines and an over-supply of central European ones.

Service was reasonable considering how busy it was but nothing to get excited about.

Would I go back ? - NO - SF has so many great places to eat that I would select a restaurant based on individual style rather than 'fusion'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EgunRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slanted Door also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Slanted Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing