We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of Tropisueno

Tropisueno
Ranked #464 of 6,501 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Mission Street and Market Street
Transit: Tropisueno is close to BART, MUNI, and taxis of course.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

Happy hour veggie nachos can be a full meal for someone looking for a quick, inexpensive dinner before 6:00 pm. Small draft beer selection, but $4.00 price counters that issue.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank jess_a_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 746 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2017

My experience is definitely positive for this place, great people, waiting time was ok, food was average but great chips and guacamole in a central location.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Delicious food in a vibrant environment. Crowded and busy at lunch but worth the hassle. Reserve a table before you order. Try everything it is great. Bar service was fast but the margaritas were watered down. A waste of money.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank BirdRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

I honestly don't understand the reviews saying the food is average. I had without doubt one of the best meals of my life here. Place was packed when we arrived at 6pm, but sat at the bar for a few drinks to start, nice friendly barmen.

Actually expected our meal to be a lot more expensive then it was. Came to $99 for 3 of us, 3 main meals, 2 appetizers and a round of cocktails.

It was so good, we intended to go back for our second and final evening in San Fran, and would have done if it hadn't of been fully booked!

I highly recommend the chicken mole with refried beans!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Redblu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

This is a regular, average Mexican food restaurant just outside of the Marriott Marquis Hotel. The service was a little on the slow side; looked like they needed more wait staff. They got a couple of drinks wrong but were quick to correct the issue. Don't know if the air conditioning wasn't working the night we were there, but it was uncomfortably warm inside. The food, however, was good and lots of it!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropisueno also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tropisueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing