We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salted rim glass margarita” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropisueno

Tropisueno
Ranked #175 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Mission Street and Market Street
Transit: Tropisueno is close to BART, MUNI, and taxis of course.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Salted rim glass margarita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The food is excellent! The drinks are tasty and not watered down. The chips and salsa delish, very important in a Mexican restaurant.
The tacos are awesome and the guacamole fresh. I like to sit inside at a table because the lunch set up is weird or at least the last time I was there it was. The forks the salsa the pick up food the to go silverware were all at different locations lol
Seriously though. Yummy !!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank getoutandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    214
    67
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Nachos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having read the reviews of this restaurant I was quite surprised at the food, it does rather appear that they have simply thrown everything they can think of at the plate in order to impress. The food was rather bland and seemed to cool very quickly.
I normally love Mexican food but was very underwhelmed by this place.
On the plus side the Nacho's were very nice, maybe I should have asked if I could have a main course of those !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for Mexican just off the busy streets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was in town with my family and we were looking for a good Mexican restaurant close to the Westfield Mall. Our concierge recommended (and backed up by Yelp!) Tropisueno. We were lucky to only have a 30 minute wait on a Saturday evening. Our service was fantastic, with never ending bowls of chips and salsa. The food was very good, as were the drinks! If you're in the area, and want to get off the busy streets, give Tropisueno a shot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey for just o.k. food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went here as it was highly rated. Unfortunately we were highly disappointed. Food was very spicy which did not sit well for me or my daughter. Food was pricey for portions. Would recommend trying other restaurants in area for the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

First night in town, instead of waiting 30 min. was escorted to bar table and had a great waiter despite packed out restaurant and bar. Food was on point! Decent price. Get the old school menu lots of good!

Helpful?
Thank MrGreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropisueno also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tropisueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing