We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trails and History”

Presidio of San Francisco
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
San Francisco Private Urban Hike: The Presidio
More Info
$89.00*
and up
7x7 San Francisco Bike Tour
More Info
$59.00*
and up
San Francisco Experience - City Tour
Ranked #27 of 554 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A military installation from 1776 until 1994, the Presidio saw duty for Spain, Mexico and the U.S.; it is now a national park with almost 1,500 acres of hiking and biking trails, beautiful beaches and stunning views.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We only travelled the outskirts of this park as we specifically went to Industrial Light & Magic to get a picture with the Yoda Fountain but we read a lot of the history on the various signs on route to Crissy Field (the long way - going from the North East side of the Presidio to the South West side of Crissy FIelds). We saw trails and if we had time, we would have totally taken them. Would definitely come back here to explore more.

Thank HPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
There are newer reviews for Presidio of San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 959 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were killing some time, driving and sightseeing before checking into our hotel, when by luck we drove into the entrance to the Presidio. What a beautiful open space next to a busy city. We took many photos near the water and Golden Gate. We came back on a different day for the Disney Museum.

Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidioTrust, Public Relations Manager at Presidio of San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed this tranquil space and hope you come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent half a day just walking around and admiring how it had been sympathetically transformed from the Army base to this beautiful park in San Francisco. 10 out of 10 to SF, nicely done.

Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidioTrust, Public Relations Manager at Presidio of San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thanks! We pride ourselves on stewarding the Presidio in everything we do. We hope you had a chance to check out some of our hiking trails and take in the history that surrounds this beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Presidio is a worthwhile spot. It is absolutely beautifully and form there you can walk all the way to the Golden Gate Bridge, a memorable promenade.

Thank Juan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidioTrust, Public Relations Manager at Presidio of San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your time here! Some of the best views are from near the Golden Gate Bridge, however, some of the most peaceful quiet spaces are right in the heart of the Presidio on one of our many trails. Happy exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our brief time in the Pesidio was made special on the Real SF Walking tour with a visit to LucasFilms/Disney - which was great fun. Wonderful walk through some of this park, wish we had the time to bike through it more thoroughly.

Thank ChipNovaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presidio of San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Presidio of San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing