We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for unique shops”
Review of Union Street

Union Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Francisco Fire Engine Tour
Ranked #110 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recently gentrified Victorian neighborhood is also the nighttime hotspot for the college and professional crowds.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for unique shops”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the things we wanted to do during our visit to San Francisco was shop. However, we wanted to avoid the stores (Macy's, Nieman Marcus, etc.) that we would find in any other big city. We wanted unique shops with unique items (particularly clothes) and we found in on Union Street. You can spend a solid afternoon here. Good place to grab lunch as well. Then head south on Filmore for more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RVNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Old Neighborhood”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great area. Interesting shops and restaurants. Nestled between Pacific Heights and the Marina. The Presidio on one end and North Beach and Telegraph Hill on the other.

Helpful?
1 Thank transano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of shopping”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife loves this area. Lots and lots of stores on both sides of the street. Could literally spends hours there (well, my wife could. Not me). Impressive variety of shops. My wife was dooly impressed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank elrobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stroll and Shop”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I love the Union Street area... one of the last areas of the city with quaint shops and fun locals. I like the cafes and the clothing stores...and there are nice restaurants...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great street market”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

quirky clothes good fast food food stalls and a kids fair

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tobycaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street also viewed

 

Been to Union Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing