We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my home in san francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dakota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dakota Hotel
Ranked #187 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Algiers, Algeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my home in san francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

en i first arrived at the adelaide i was preterbed to be told i was going to be staying in their sister hotel called the adelaide, my negative feeling immediately disappeared though upon arriving in the dakota to a friendly and welcoming receptionist with dreadlocks named bob. he informed us that the adelaide is a company consisting of 3 buildings; the adelaide, the dakota and the fitzgerald. all of which you are free to come and go between making the social aspect of this hostel extremely expansive. all of the staff was extremely informative and the breakfast spread is one of the best for value ive ever seen in a hostel. the daily events the hostel organise for the guests are a great way of breaking the ice and helping people get to know eachother especially the wednesday night pub crawl run by bobby and kevin, one of the best nights out ive ever had, drinking with 2 irish guys who could think of anything more fun to do on a wednesday night. i would definitely recommend staying here and will do so myself if im ever back in san francisco. THANKS ADELAIDE

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwellpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you! We do make sure to provide lots of free, fun activities for guests, and socializing between the different buildings. Glad to hear you had a great time out on the town with Bobby and Kevin! Be sure to come see us again for more good times the next time you are in the Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    33
    30
    37
See reviews for
18
35
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just spent a few days there while exploring the city and planning our onward trip north. Staff were all very friendly and Bobby at reception was a wealth of knowledge and really helpful, we met lots of great people and found the place really social, much more than other hostels I have stayed at in SF.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the Dakota Hotel and although it served it's purpose I wouldn't stay there again! I had book a dorm room which I shared with 3 other girls. (All 3 of them lived and worked at the hostel). There is certainly no security at this hostel and people can come and go! One of my roommates had an outside guest which was her g/f and sure made a point that they enjoyed each other one night while the rest of us were trying to sleep! With the 90 percent of the staff was nice , one staff member thought it was more important to talk about his bag of weed he had lost or how many girls he was hooking up while looking after the front desk. Breakfast was good, and they certainly had a lot of activities to keep the guests busy but certainly no shortage of drugs!!! They claim they have WIFI, but 99% of the time the connection was weak and you are not able to use it in your room.. They do have 2 computers that are open to guests. The rooms were dirty and messy (even the 3 girls that lived there were messy) and the bathroom was gross!! On a positive note it was in the heart of the city and everything was in walking distance.

I would certainly shop around a bit more before I would book this hostel again!

Room Tip: Not sure if I have a great tip for this hostel, perhaps don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stayc0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The common areas (kitchen, lounge) are OK, but the room was disgusting, especially the carpet. No one did any cleaning during my stay (3 days), apart from changing the bin liners. The carpet had clearly not been cleaned in ages, it was so filthy I didn't dare to walk barefoot in the room, and same with the bathroom. I didn't have any problems with bedbugs as I've read in other reviews, but there was a bottle of bedbug killer in the wardrobe, so I guess they're a problem.

The hostel is indeed very noisy as the windows look to a very busy street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked it through the Adelaide Hostel as a private room. While I wouldn't classify it as a hotel as such, our expectation of a hostel room and not being picky, it wasn't a bad place at all. Very basic and old, but clean. Staff were friendly,

It was a bit noisy though, people next room partied till 3am and the street noise gets in the room fairly easily, I suggest you bring ear plugs! Also our room, facing the street had a fire escape outside, and one of our windows had a broken lock, so it could be easily broken into. I managed to block the window from opening with a little ingenuity, but check your room to make sure the windows can lock.

It serves basic breakfast, but it also has a well equipped kitchen which guest can use to cook their own breakfast, which was pretty cool.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me and 4 mates shared a room here at the beginning of our road trip. We had a room with double, single and bunks. It served its purpose and outdone any hostel options in the area at a good price. Real,old style San Fran hotel. Tight stairs, industrial lift. Sash windows out on to external fire exts/staircases. 2 minute walk to union square. Verging on the tenderloin but so what, great bit of town.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a private room with Adelaide Hostel and we were directed to their affiliated Dakota Hotel which is just along the next street. Location was great. It was near the town area. However, on our final night we were unable to have a good night's sleep as there were some loud screaming coming from the streets in the middle of the night and this went on for an hour or two. You might want to arm yourself with some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Love the quaint old-school elevator which helps a great deal when you are lugging your luggage around and the last thing you'd want is to have to scale flights of stairs.

Includes complimentary simple breakfast which includes toast, cereal and beverage.

Staff are really helpful as we shipped some packages over to them before we collected them on our final day and this was done smoothly without any hiccups.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#178 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#153 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dakota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dakota Hotel

Property: The Dakota Hotel
Address: 606 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dakota Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Dakota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing