We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dakota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dakota Hotel
Ranked #187 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location to downtown spot. Very basic but definitely worth saving the money over other fancier hotels. Free continental breakfast in the morning to get you by and free events nightly. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of any of the events but would have if we had more time. Had a very European hostel feel. We had a room with a window next to the street that we had to keep open at night to keep it cool so there were a lot of street noises but it didn't bother us as my husband and I are both heavy sleepers. Would recommend if you are looking for an affordable spot in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    34
    30
    37
See reviews for
18
35
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is a total dump. No need to consider this place. The room was totally dirty. The bed was dirty. Avoid this place like the plague. If we knew any better, we would not have booked this place. Save your money and book elsewhere. The only thing going for this place is the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rahul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

When I left New York and moved to San Francisco, two different private rooms in the Dakota were my home for the first three weeks. And what a home it was. I had stayed in their sister hotel (the Fitzgerald) when I had visited a few months prior, and there was no doubt in my mind that the Dakota, Fitzgerald, or Adelaide (they are all sister hotels) was where I wanted to be.
The rooms are clean and cozy. The staff are usually friendly and enthusiastic about community building. The location is convenient, right downtown, blocks away from the Powell-Market transit hub. The price is extremely competitive and affordable. Many of the staff and guests live there long term, and there is a sense of ownership and pride in the hotel's atmosphere, cleanliness, and livability.
Guests are of all ages and backgrounds, but there are weekly evening events including a pub crawl, poker night, and wine and cheese night, which are perfect for 20-something travellers looking to make friends and see the city.
Of course, the devil is in the details, which is what ultimately cemented my high opinion of the Dakota. The water is good quality. It's not hard water, it was easy on my skin, and I could drink from the tap. The bathrooms were spacious, the tubs were deep, the sinks were wide. The carpet was clean, and dust was almost non-existent. The mattresses were firm, and the sheets were new. The view was charming. The lounge was very cozy, with old, upholstered furniture that made me feel like I was checking my internet in a wealthy uncle's library.
I was there for three weeks, and any time an issue arose, the staff handled it promptly, with professionalism and care...making a point to follow up with me later on. They gave me, not just tourist's advice, but helped me in my search for jobs, apartments, and community organizations.
I haven't stayed at any other hotels in San Francisco...but having found the Dakota, I don't feel like I need to. I recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here this summer and had to write a review. I arrived in SF during peak season and have to say most hotels downtown had no space and didnt seem to want to help either! Until I walked into the Dakota that is. The girl Suprita on reception went above and beyond to find space for my friend and I and I couldn't have been more grateful. The hotel itself is clean, big and smack in the middle of the heart of SF. Anything you could ask for is a stones throw away and you will never be stuck for something to do, especially with the free activities set up by the hotel in the lounge all week, poker night, trivia night and free wine and cheese! In fact it's all free! Breakfast is included too and also a free walking tour. I can't wait to come back here already made my desecration :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwsf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been travelling all over the West Coast for a couple of months now, and this is surely one of the best places I have been to! The location is amazing, walking distance from anything you might want to visit and very well connected. It is in the center of the city, so there are a lot of places to eat and drink around. I had a room on the 7th floor and the view was literally amazing.Everything was very clean, rooms have tv and fridge. The bathroom was clean, with shower and tube and everything is in an exquisite San Francisco victorian style.
I really enjoyed breakfast, you have choice of jams, chocolate, bread, porridge, fruits, coffee and more and it is a buffet breakfast, so all you can eat!!! Internet is fast,I finally could have a good chat with my friends on Skype. There are also free computers to use if you don't have any laptop. The staff is helpful and friendly,they made me feel totally at home. Everybody knows the city by heart and I have been suggested some great places that I am sure I would not have found if they hadn't told me. Special thanks to Liz who sent me to the best pizza place in town! The hotel has also 24h reception and it is super safe. It is a great value both for the area and the service provided. Highly recommended to all kinds of travellers!

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor are quieter and have a breathtaking view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neni85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Dakota hotel during my stay in SF and had to leave a review after my experience. The hotel is in central downtown just 2 blocks from union sq and all of the city lights. Public transport is easily accessible from the hotel, with cable cars, the muni and bart all within minutes of the hotel, bringing everywhere in SF within reach. The rooms are spacious, super clean and fantastic for the price. I stayed in another hotel within a block of the Dakota and found it to be subpar in comparison and vastly higher in expense. The Dakota staff are wonderful and always at hand no matter what hour to lend a hand. The hotel itself is beautiful and rustic and the ornate elevator is something to see! looks like something out of the movies. Id definitely recommend the hotel, with the nights they put on for no extra charge to entertain the guests (trivia night, poker night, wine and cheese free!) and the free breakfast in the morning, you really cant pick a better place for the price.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are biggest, however, all of the rooms in the dakota are pretty big. They are clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. The location is unbeatable; just blocks from all of the great shopping, restaurants, and theaters downtown. You can also walk just a few blocks uphill to see the beautiful Grace Cathedral and views overlooking the city. We had a very large room for the price, which was great, and everything was kept very clean by the maids who came in once a day. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable of places to go in the city, and there was free breakfast in the morning, as well as computers in the lobby with free internet which is helpful for those like myself who like to leave the laptop at home while we travel. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Layne Hotel
#199 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#164 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#175 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#141 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dakota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dakota Hotel

Property: The Dakota Hotel
Address: 606 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dakota Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Dakota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing