We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Union Square location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Union Square location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Whenever I visit S.F., this is my first value hotel choice. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, walking distance to Union Square, close to all forms of transportation, and the rooms are spacious and quiet. Lobby bar has daily "happy hour" with nice food options for the single traveler not interested in a solo trip to a local restaurant. Overall, very nice property and always a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North or East side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbgranite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    775
    197
    52
    24
See reviews for
447
470
86
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our family of four (kids ages 12 and 14) recently traveled throughout California, ending our trip at the Marriott Union Square. What a comfortable hotel and great location. Just blocks from anywhere - shopping, Union Square, Chinatown - and the staff could not have been nicer. The doormen and were so friendly and helpful in assisting us in getting around and offering some great touring tips (on catching a streetcar, etc) that helped us out. There's just something nice about walking in our out of a hotel and being greeted by a big smile. The concierge was equally helpful. We always seemed to have an extra need in the morning - a towel, another coffee, etc - and housekeeping was always happy to accommodate.
The room was a bit on the small side, but nothing unexpected in a big-city hotel. The shower and amenities were very nice. An in-room refrigerator would have been appreciated (indeed, it looked like the room had been set up for one) but an ice bucket sufficed as a beverage cooler ;)
We debated between staying at the Union Sq location vs the Fisherman's Wharf location - I'm so glad we chose Union Sq! Fisherman's Wharf is tooooo touristy for our taste. I'd rather be surrounded by high-end shops than T-shirt shops any day of the week!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

As a Marriott Platinum member, I think this is a great looking and well managed hotel that lives up to the Marriott standard. An excellent value just one short block from Union Square. The rooms are large well appointed. The concierge lounge is excellent with a great view of the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
263 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Luxury hotel. I stayed at the hotel for two nights. We can have a coffee at starbucks on 1st foor, and there are a lot of cafe near the hotel. The location is good bacause the hotel is near the market street. We took the streetcar near the hotel, and went to fisherman's walf with only two dollers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

awesome location...right in the middle of union square so everything you need is walking distance. Try to get a room near the elevator and in one of the lower floors so you can get free wifi from the lobby

Room Tip: get one of the lower floors if you wnat free wifi from the lobby. theres an awesome restaurant/bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights, the concierge was very helpful for tours. The room was clean and fesh. The front desk was polite! The curbside bell hop was great! The hotel is centrally located so it was convenient to everything we wanted to do!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

First the good news: the hotel is in an ideal location, with easy access to Union Square, the trolley and the Powell Street BART station (a bit of a hike if you have lots of luggage though). More good news: The hotel is in decent shape, the Concierge Lounge is solid, and the rooms are very comfortable, though I think Marriott comforters have gotten thinner...

Now the bad news: I started with a corner Junior Suite, which was nice, but only on the 14th floor. When I heard the noise from the street, I was told all of the corner junior suites were on the same line up the hotel, but that none was available any higher. At 1 a.m., after being unable to sleep (trolley car bells, garbage/delivery trucks etc.), I went down to ask about moving higher in general and was told, in a less than empathetic way, that the hotel was sold out, but that I was welcome to walk across the street to Walgreens where they sold ear plugs. Instead of doing that, the next morning, I went downstairs and finally got some help from Kelley (thank you Kelley!), who moved me to the 27th floor, but couldn't put me in a junior suite, but could move me to a regular double bed room. Given the noise problem, I agreed. The move was a big improvement because it gave me the opposite side of the hotel (and a much better view as an added bonus) where there were no trolley cars and deliveries to be heard. Bottom line is that I would not recommend Junior Suites if you are at all conscious of noise unless you can assure they will be at the very highest floors. Other than Kelley, I also found the front desk staff to be short, frequently disinterested, and generally unhelpful. The concierge was only at her desk once when I was looking the entire three days I was there, and the front desk was supposed to answer questions in her absence. Overall, I didn't think the customer service in this hotel lived up to Marriott standards and I would definitely choose elsewhere to stay the next time I'm in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Unless you like major street noise, I would not stay here unless you can get a room at the very hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiamiMark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing comments about your stay.

I apologize for the service issues and will definitely follow up with the staff mentioned. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am pleased you found the location ideal and hope you will consider us again.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#34 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing