We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - and great customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Marriott Union Square while in San Francisco with my family.

We arrived late (@ midnight) - and were greeted immediately by friendly staff at the door and the check in counter. We were given our keys quickly, and the room was quiet, clean and quite comfortable. A bit small, but that was expected.

The location of the hotel is excellent -- nearby are many fantastic restaurants, a Trolley stop is across the street, and a short walk to Chinatown and many other tourist locations. We even walked to the Wharf -- not too bad if going downhill! :-)

Note: the concierge lounge was not open on the weekend. Did not have an opportunity to evaluate.

We did have an issue with our room during the second night - and the hotel staff dealt with it quickly and professionally. We were impressed with the follow-up customer service (even the next morning), and appreciated the hotel staff's follow up with us, even as we were checking out. It is nice to see this level of customer service in time when many hotels are lacking in this.

We will be heading back to San Francisco next year, and will plan to stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor - better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc_family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location was fairly good. Close to a trolley stop, bus stop, train station, etc. It is a hike to Fisherman's Warf, but you can get there via public transportation. The rooms were nice and clean, but small. Overall it was a nice hotel, but not a place I would rush back to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased your found your room clean and the location suitable for exploring the city of San Francisco. Your feedback is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

There are great hotels in the Union Square area that have more charm but you won't find one with a better view. Parking is a whopping $57 per day. there is a cheaper garage right next door. Ask for a room with a view of Nob Hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor with a view facing Nob Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were in San Francisco for 2 days, then headed out to Yosemite and Big Sur, then coming back into San Francisco for another 2 days before heading home. We chose to stay at this Marriott for the second half of the stay. I got a good price ($161 per night) for our stay. That good price had partially contributed to the rating. I would expect more from the hotel with a higher price point.

Check-in: We arrived at the hotel around 4 pm. Upon our arrival, we noticed immediately, the hotel staff were not nearly as friendly as the ones at the Grant Hyatt (across the street). Then we had a little issue at the check in. When I booked the hotel room for our family of four, I chose "Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, Limited view". And I did not see "2 double beds" under "Room & Accessibility Preferences". I should've realized that meant there were no rooms with 2 double beds available. I put the request for 2 beds in the "comments" area. The hotel sent me an email the morning of our arrival, but I haven't had a chance to read it before arriving at the hotel. None of this is the hotel staff's fault, but I wished they would have explained the situation more kindly rather than "We were sold out of the double beds by the time you booked the hotel room. You didn't specify the bed type you needed in your reservation. We sent you an email this morning. Didn't you get it?" We ended up getting a room with 2 double beds. But the whole check-in experience was unpleasant.

Room: the room was very nice. It was clean and beautiful. We loved the chair with ottoman and the extra power outlets at the desk. Having a mini-fridge and wi-fi in the room would have been nice, but we were okay without it. A few reviews mentioned the bathroom was small. I thought the bathroom was big enough. There were extra counter space on the mirror ledge. We didn't have any problem with the bathroom space. The only down side to the bathroom was that the light can go through the sliding door. If someone is using the bathroom at night, it might bother the others who are sleeping. We got a room facing Sutter. It was noisy, but we had expected that with the lower floor on a busy street. And the day we were checking out, we realized there was a window that was opened in the room. That might have contributed to noise level.

Concierge: The lady at the Concierge Desk was very helpful. She booked the Muir Woods tour for us. She also helped us planned our day on the day of the tour. And she printed out the Bart schedule so we know which ones we can take to be sure we are back to the hotel lobby before the tour company came to pick us up.

During our stay, most of the staff did not greet us (or most of the guests). Not one staff smiled at us. I did notice the gentleman at the luggage storage (You can leave the luggage with them after check out) was very friendly and pleasant. He was the only staff I saw smiling to guests. If the price is good, I might stay here again (the location and room were good). But if the price is about the same or high than the Grand Hyatt, I would definitely choose Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

OK, the rooms are a little small and there is no pool, but the Marriott more than made up for minor shortcomings with superb service, ideal location, and excellent amenities. As a Marriott Rewards member, I was given access to the Executive Lounge, along with my family. The breakfast, afternoon snacks, and views really made our stay extra comfortable and shaved off some of the costs. The Front Desk, bell hops, doormen, and concierge were all gracious and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, whether on business or a family vacation, and recommend it to others as well. Marriott always delivers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneisawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate some family birthdays, so we treated ourselves to this Marriott and we loved it. Perfect location, beautiful rooms, and very helpful staff (especially the Concierge, Cathy). The food in the restaurant was excellent (as was the service) and the fitness center was very well equipped. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars was the expense. It's pretty pricy. Ask for a room on the higher floors. We were on 10th floor and road noise carries that high. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TheOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 7 nights at this property. Got room on the 24th floor with the bay view. Great location but other than that nothing special. Small room and tiny bathroom. Expensive but you pay for a location - cable cars stop just outside!

Thank Chris_Columb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us for your extended visit to San Francisco. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you found the location to be ideal.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,819 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
5,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,712 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $212 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing