We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in San Francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chico, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our family was in San Francisco for the weekend and enjoyed the central location of this property very much. We were just one block away from Union Square, four blocks away from Powell Station (public transit hub) and one block away from great parking. The property itself was clean and the rooms were very spacious.

Room Tip: from the 19th floor you have a pretty great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpropetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    759
    193
    52
    24
See reviews for
440
465
85
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
464 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed midweek for a few nights. This hotel is well located about a block away from Union Square close to much of the city action. The hotel seems more of a Courtyard Marriott to me but that's probably due to its quirky layout and small lobby area. Nevertheless, its clean and comfortable. If you arrive by car, there is little room outside to park - for valet or otherwise - on a very busy road. All in all, a good stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first trip to San Francisco. We were uncertain about safe and fun areas to stay in. We are VERY glad we chose this hotel. Staff was friendly, everything was great and clean. The hotel is at a Cable Car stop which was awesome and convenient. Any type of high end retail you could want is within 4 blocks of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lushou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for a conference. Quick 10 minute walk (uphill) from the Powell St BART station. Easy access to the cable car line and Union square. Close to Sears restaurant. Hotel is modern and rooms are updated. Rooms are not large but comfortable. Plugs, connections etc all updated and easy to access. Wireless is $12.99 per day but there is free wireless in the lobby and mezzanine areas.

Breakfast is $22 but there are multiple cafes within a 5 minute walk

Views from upper floors are nice but 10th or so and down not so much

All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and painless

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tea_Meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is just one block away from union square, so a great base for tourists visiting San Francisco. It's a typical Marriott hotel with the usual Marriott decor all in good condition, by the looks of things the hotel has been through a renovation recently.

The cable car line runs right outside the hotel which makes it very easy to get about.

I'd recommend venturing 50 metres out of the hotel to go to Sears Fine Foods for breakfast - simply briliiant!

Room Tip: Get a high room so you're not disturbed by the noise from the cable car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times and have had no problems... but after my experience today I would not suggest staying at this hotel if you are coming into town during a city wide event. The front desk has a terrible layout with pillars a couple of feet in front of the check in/out counters. There are no stanchions in place to help guide guests... thus people become a mass mob trying to get to the desk first. The woman who actually checked me in was nice and apologized.... when I mentioned the problem to a manager who eventually showed up behind the desk, she made excuses and basically denied there was a problem. Terrible customer care! When you are paying over $300 a night, including taxes, management should care. I am only giving this hotel a poor rating as I have stayed here before and not had problems... based on this one stay, terrible is much too kind a rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avillebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We used to stay in this hotel in its previous life as a Crowne Plaza so thought we'd give it a try now it's a Marriott. It is expensive but this is a prime location in San Francisco and you expect it to be pricey. We booked a room on a higher floor and although there was an extra cost it was definitely worth it for the view over the Bay (and it's much less noisy). The Union Square location makes this hotel. It's close to Sears & Macy's, on the corner of Powell Street and the cable car, within walking distance of many attractions, and Chinatown is nearby.
Check-in was smooth and the staff were generally pleasant and helpful. We were pleased with the quality of our room which was a good size, with adequate storage, a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Our only complaint was the quality of the towels which were thin and did not meet the standards of the rest of the room. You also have to pay for Wifi in the rooms, the only time we encountered this on our trip and we did feel that, given the room charge, this could have been included. However we did discover that we could use the public network in the lobby for free.
We did need our rental car so had to pay the fairly extortionate parking charges, which are common to most hotels in the area. At 60 dollars including tax I would recommend managing without a car if you can!
Overall this is a good quality hotel and the location makes it worth the price!

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiepDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing