We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Nearby Hotels
$230
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$418
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$272
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$323
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,908)
Filter reviews
1,909 results
Traveler rating
751
856
215
59
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
856
215
59
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaregreat locationthe concierge loungecable carjunior suitehigh floorlori's dinersutter streetcorner roomcoit towercounter spacecomfortable bedswould stay here againfisherman's wharfking bedpowell stfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,909 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel is located only one block away from Union Square. A Walgreens store is right across the road. Several affordable and reasonably good restaurants are nearby. The cable car stop is also almost in front of the hotel. However, the cable cars are usually full with tourists, thus no chance to get on it. It is easy to get from the airport to the hotel by BART. The Powell station is in walking distance, although you will have to walk a bit uphill.
The hotel bar has excellent wines. We did not try the breakfast, there a plenty of options near by. There is a bus station down the road, which can be used to go to the Golden Gate Bridge.
Funny: Although American Hotel Rooms seem to have usually quite a lot of power plugs, our room (not a suite) had about 20 of them.

Room Tip: We stayed there now for the 2nd time and always had a room to the north side. If you are high enough it is possible to see Alcatraz from the room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkEtKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed 5 nights with this the first stop in our vacation, perfect location at Union Square. You have great access to shopping, restaurants and attractions. We paid for club access that was a wise decision. Great selection for breakfast and food/drinks throughout the day and evening. Wifi was excellent and asking for a room on the high floors gave us views of the bay and Alcatraz. Very comfortable and I recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floors for great views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is really a good place to stay, nice rooms, great view and a perfect location to discover San Francisco. Cable-cars are stopping right in the front of the hotel and bring you to fisherman wharf with uniques sensations. If you prefer shopping, all shops are within a block... A place to stay to enjoy and discover San Francisco

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We'd booked a three night stay in San Francisco, at the Marriott Union Square, for the end of August. I've visited the Bay Area many times, and frequently stay with family in the area. This trip we wanted to focus on downtown areas and not be worried about commuting back across the bay or even out to the southern end of the city. Union Square was perfect for our interests.

Choosing the Marriott is my default hotel choice. I expect good value and good service as the norm in any of their properties. I can't say enough good about the Union Square hotel. We were warmly greeted on entry (the door men must have photographic memories, after our first entry, we were always welcomed back, usually with comments appropriate to how long we'd been gone). We were upgraded to a marvelous suite on the 28th floor, overooking the top of Nob Hill and the Golden Gate. Even my hard to impress lady was suitably impressed at the view.

We tried room service the 1st night, food was promptly delivered and excellent. The rest of our stay, we visited local restaurants instead of eating in the hotel, but based on the room service, I'd not hesitate recommending the restaurants in the hotel.

Great location. Great service. Great food. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: try to get a bay view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasinUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel staff were very courteous and the location is excellent. I stayed on the 7th floor overlooking Sutter St. Unfortunately the elevators were not working well and the repairs took longer than expected. Also, soundproofing is very poor as I could hear the street noise.
The lobby is spacious and breakfast is available but many restaurants are in the area. In general, the hotel could use some modernizing including quieter air conditioning.

Room Tip: Stay above the 10th floor and towards the back of the hotel, facing north for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews