We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square. Just blocks away from China town and a short walk to Union Square, it was very centrally located. The hotel room was exceptionally clean, modern and reasonably priced! The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the best ways to get to San Francisco's main attractions. Very friendly staff, overall!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
There are newer reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner (Lucas) and I stayed here last week (July 24th -27 2013). It was perfect. The location is prime. Just one to two blocks away are all the high end shopping stores you could ask for, Several cafe's for great breakfast are located within steps of the hotel doors, not to mention a star bucks within 20 feet of the hotel entrance. There are many great restaurants for evening dining and the walgreens is on the corner as well. The cable car/trolly runs just outside the hotel doors. So easy to hop on and off without having to climb the hills to your destination. The hotel lobby/bar and restaurant are beautiful. The bar staff is friendly and the drinks keep coming. Our room was beautiful with a view facing the bay and the Mark Hotel. The room was very very clean. I highly recommend this location. Worth the price!!

Thanks
Chad Barker
Dallas, TX

Room Tip: Upgrade to have a city view or a bay view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed a night here in June. We wanted to be in the middle of everything while we were in SFO. The plan was simple - morning time a visit to Alcatraz; afternoon and early evening at Pier 39; A couple of hours of relaxing at the hotel after that; this was to be followed by shopping and dinner. Next morning we wanted to do cable car and a round of crooked street and go up to Golden Gate bridge.
Marriott at Union Square was perfect location to do all this. The rooms were spacious and we had a family room. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel but from Pier 39 it was just $ 10 by taxi. Cable cars were right next door. There was a lot of shopping available at walking distance and we spent a lot of time at Macy's as there were separate Macy's buildings for men and women. A diner was just next door where we had breakfast. There were many coffee shops and restaurants in this business district and Bart station was very near as well.
They gave us a late check out so that really helped as we could do a lot of things in the morning and come back after lunch to check out.
Full marks to this hotel for being perfectly located in SFO.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rohinarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in the business district one block from union square. The hotel is also next to the cable cars so it's easy to hop on and just a short 5 minute walk to china town. The rooms were very nice, the staff was very helpfull and close to many good resturants. The only thing that could be better is that you have to pay 12.95 a day for wifi in your room and you have to pay to use the business center. In this day of everyone having a tablet computer and needing to access the internet it should be free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked here for a 3 day family vacation due to its central location to the city. Impressed from the moment we arrived. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were updated and roomy.Views of the city were fantastic. Steps from a cable car line and Union Square. Very happy with our choice of hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband & 2 teenagers stayed here for 3 days. The location was just off Union Square on the north side right on Powell. This was nice so that we could hop right on the cable car. There was Lori's Diner on one corner and a Walgreens on the other. This appealed to our Midwest sensibilities when it came to food. Chinatown was an easy walk, too. The hotel staff was awesome. The rooms were ample & very current in design. Beds were soft. We were on the opposite side from Powell, so our noise was fine. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square. All tree trips were for business, although I believe this would be a great place to talk the family. The location is outstanding, the food and staff are great.... the rooms are comfortable and clean... not sure what else you need!? Of course the prices are high and the parking is too expensive... but hey, it's San Francisco.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,765 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
5,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,687 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $218 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing