We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average Marriott in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very average Marriott in a great location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

As a platinum member it was quite disappointing to check in and have the front desk tell us that our room was in the un-remodeled section of the hotel but it was more convenient. Wrong on both accounts. The room was so old it had a popcorn ceiling still. Bed was fine. They've installed more energy saving shower heads so the water spits at you. The room was backyards in terms of the bathroom door. The bathroom door was at the front of the room and the door opened into the room vs the wall so you had to keep it closed or you'd hit it every time. Lounge was pretty good on terms if food choice and service. Location of course is great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BotRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    787
    198
    52
    25
See reviews for
453
479
88
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

PROS:
Location, location location. Can't beat the location in the heart of Union Square and down town San Francisco

Standard Marriott bed and pillows comfortable.

CONS:
Very poor internet service. In room WiFi is 12.95/day. The lobby WiFi is complimentary but a pain to use as every time you have to go through 3 login pages. If you go out or go up to the rooms and come back you have to re login every time. When I told the front desk staff about this they said just write a complaint. At the rate I was paying WiFi should be included and hassle free.

The rate for our convention was very high at 288/night (the usual being 169-199). Thus the value for dollar was not very good

My room was on the 6th floor and the sound proofing is poor. I could hear every car, trolley and even people screaming. Tough when you are trying to sleep.

Bathroom was small and amenities few, no bath gown, at least the shower was strong. No fridge in room.

Breakfast was 22 dollars and not worth it. Very limited selection of breads or cheeses. There are plenty of diners right next door which are tastier and less expensive.

There are plenty of excellent hotels in the same location thus staying here is mainly for Marriott loyalty points.

Room Tip: The higher floors the better due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat ! Just a block from Union Square, it's central to everything. My daughter and I recently stayed over a Saturday night with my Marriott Rewards points and I have to say I was disappointed with the service--it seems to have gone downhill from earlier visits. The doormen are great but we found the front desk staff to be surly and service short. Our room was ok but no Marriott Rewards upgrade, no water until we asked and we only accidentally found out that the Concierge/Executive level was closed on the weekend. When I asked about it, the clerk told us that "corporate" decided not to open this on the weekend. Heads up if you plan to visit on the weekend!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a high floor to lessen street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girltraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Met my husband here for a long weekend after a west coast business trip. Full disclosure I have elite Marriott status, so they're usually (but definitely not always) accommodating for me.
Because this was a romance weekend, I considered staying at the more expensive JW or Marquis, but I'm very glad I came here instead. I got a super AAA weekend rate of $161. (Downtown San Fran always cheaper weekends.)
The standout part of this Marriott is how everyone just bent over backwards to be helpful and accommodating. From the random manager who stopped over seeing us struggle with our map, to the check-in clerk who spent so much time looking for an available view room (view rooms being a category upgrade, I asked for but did not pay for), to the clerk who upgraded us for free on day two to a high floor. Standouts, and I travel through a lot of hotels. The waitress at breakfast was a bit TOO friendly to my husband. But what can I say he is a good looking guy LOL.
Our room was small but nicely set up, looked new, comfy, generally quiet, and very clean. Our first room had a decent view but the second room (day two, the first day they were quite full with a convention) beautifully overlooked the city and even the bay in the distance.
The location of this Marriott is great. We walked most everywhere, including China Town, Sear's restaurant, Dylan's tour pick-up across from Morton's, Nob Hill, View lounge at Marquis, Embarcadero..., but used the cable car stop right next to the hotel to go to Fisherman's Wharf.
I liked this hotel more than I expected to, and I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a view room. The worst they can say is no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitchaMitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for, 3 nights, and the locations was perfect, Trolley stop right outside the door. Walking distance from bus line and cable car. The service was a bit spotty, we checked in early and was surprised to have our room avail in the morning. At check in we asked for a refrigerator to be put in the room, and stated they could go in, while we were at breakfast. We returned from breakfast, no refrigerator, so called down and asked and again, mentioned no problem to deliver when we were not in our room, as we were heading out for the day. Nine hours later, on return to the room, nothing...so two more calls were needed to get it delivered. Once delivered all was well. Our room service person was amazing in we just requested new towels and coffee, being we don't have our rooms serviced daily, she got them for us, and was just a sweetheart! The location/view from our room will bring us back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely lobby bar with free wifi, big bed & very comfortable-great views from high floors. Overall a very nice hotel. Also has an executive lounge with complimentary cakes etc. nice diner on opposite corner for good value breakfast etc & opposite is a Starbucks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whazit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday night, check-in was quick and efficient. Upon checkout the next day the reception lady was a bit annoyed when I asked for a receipt copy via email (the original paper copy was poorly printed to begin with).

Room was clean and nice as you would expect from any Marriott. The city view was great too on my "view" room at a few dollars extra.

Location is a bit far from the BART station (a few blocks), but at one block from Union Square it is not too bad.

Room Tip: If you book a free cancellation rate, check the rate again frequently. In my case the rate went down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaxynexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing