We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here with my 35 yr old son, we had two rooms - A junior suite and double room. The rooms, service, location, view were all wonderful - Lovely rooms! No complaints at all in this area. But, the complaints I do have are: 1) For the HIGH price of this hotel - There were no refridgerators in our rooms. 2) Breakfast was not included in the room rate and 3) We had to pay to use the computers in the business center.

I knew this before booking the rooms, so, I stayed here entirely for location. So, you need to keep this in mind when booking here - If it's location you want, this is the place. Not good for family with children, little or teenagers (teens like to stay on the computer!).

I just think it's a shame that at lower cost Marriott Hotels, (such as Residence Inn), you pay less, have great rooms, with an all inclusive package. But, here - You pay hefty, get great location....just don't expect all the added Marriott perks - Not here.

So, no complaints with the rooms or service - All was fantastic and served the purpose of this trip. But, on routine vacations - we will surely stay at one of the more economical Marriotts.

Also, they did not have connecting rooms, but they did manage to place us in rooms off the main hallway, in a cul de sac type of setting - private, with a door separating from main hallway. This was very nice.

DH

Room Tip: Great location, convenient and easy to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMHMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We love the central location, the friendly staff, the colorful appointments (cheerful), the light-filled room.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuditka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel has been completely re-done and is wonderful. It was once the Crowne Plaza and smelled like a greasy restaurant, but it is now a modern, stylish hotel with a staff that makes you feel welcome and safe.

Our room on the 16th floor had a good view of Nob Hill and was spotlessly clean. Both the room and the bathroom were large and well stocked. The hotel is centrally located on the Market/Powell cable car line, and is one block from Union Square. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: The senior rate is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustCruisin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have stayed here a few times. The last visit was exceptional because of the way I was treated. Everyone from the man in the garage to the Lady at the front desk was genuinely friendly and nice. It makes a big difference when it is apparent that the employees make the guest a priority. The hotel itself is quite nice and seems to have been recently renovated. I was given a beautiful room with a fabulous view of the city and the bay. The price was quite good relative to other options and considering the excellent quality. The location in Union Square was the best. The parking is very expensive but I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view, it worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB88fml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Spent 2 great nights here. The room was a little small but very comfortable and spotless, and the beds!!!!They were extremely comfortable. Best sleeps I had in the USA and rest of family concurr.Ensuites very modern and also spotless. Internet cost about $12.50 per day which I thought was a bit much.
If you have a car it gets a little pricy because parking is $48.00 a night. Valet parking, whilst handy, is also not cheap. They tell you it may take up to 40 minutes to get your vehicle, but I never had to wait more then 10-15 minutes.
Chris at the front door is a mine of useful information, and 'Butch' was also great to talk to.
Concierge helped us with tickets to basketball playoffs in LA for the day after we left, and really could not do enough for us.
Location is great, close to trams, chinatown, union square and wharfs. This is not a hotel for the budget conscious, but ideal if you want to pamper yourself a little. Will certainly visit again if in San Francisco again. (here's hoping!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room wasn't large but it was very well laid out with a flat screen TV and coffee maker. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. The bathroom is small but again well laid out with space for all your toiletries. We never had to wait long for an elevator even though the hotel was full.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Always a hello and a smile!

This hotel is very well located with a Starbucks across the street and lots of shopping and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed here with 2 teenagers in April so we could visit Alcatraz, Golden Gate etc. I chose this location rather than the tourist area of Fisherman's Wharf and I am glad I did. Fisherman's Wharf is full of tourists and all the associated hangers on that come with that type of location but you need to go there to visit certain tourist attractions. We caught a bus down to the wharf for $2 each so the Marriott's location is very good. We had 2 double beds for 4 people so it was a bit cramped. No free wi fi was a shock as every other hotel i stay at offers this service. We had breakfast out as the restaurant is very pricey. The accomodation was also expensive even though I had booked online some months earlier but I guess that's the price you pay for a premium brand hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchellaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
6,223 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 231 in San Francisco
5,032 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
#64 of 231 in San Francisco
1,113 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $201 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco Marriott Union Square offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from our hotel in downtown San Francisco, California. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing