We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO private yet a stones throw from Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SO private yet a stones throw from Union Square”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

This is a small hotel, but the rooms were great and seo close to Union Square! We had a ball and had 2 rooms from Hotwire for only $55 a night all taxes. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Liked — Rooms were neat
  • Disliked — parking was $35 in 2003!
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlii1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    776
    197
    52
    24
See reviews for
447
471
86
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 5 nights in September as part of our 2 week holiday in America. The hotel was in a great location near Union Square and we were able to walk to most places which we really enjoyed. We got the BART from the airport to the hotel – it was shortish walk from the station but we found the hotel very easily. We had booked the hotel through priority points and I think may have got an upgrade because of this. Our room was very large and had a beautiful view over Nob hill with the cable cars running up and down. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was some noise at night and you could hear the cable cars going up and down sometimes but I think that is what you expect in a big city! We had a wonderful time in San Francisco – we ended up walking nearly everywhere as the queues for the cable cars were ridiculous. There are so many nice restaurants to choose from, you are spoilt for choice. We ate at Lori’s diner on our first night which is just next to the hotel and is great for burgers and shakes! We had breakfast at Sears fine foods one morning when we were up early and it was really good, thankfully there was no queue as there was one every other morning. Other than that we ventured further out to Chinatown, North Beach etc and found some great places.

I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza to anyone, it is in a great location in a wonderful city.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

The Crowne was booked for us by my husbands work. It was one of the few hotels still available for the VMWorld conference, so we took it at a rate of $210 a night. When we arrived, we found the parking garage and pulled in. We were quickly told that we couldn’t get any help with our bags if we stayed in the parking garage, but the nice man there offered to bring the car around front for us so that we could go check in then get our bags. This was greatly appreciated after our nerve wracking trip from the South Bay to the city. (We stayed the previous two nights in the south bay to visit some friends).

My husband and I gathered up our few items we wanted to keep with us at all times, and walked down the very steep (and slippery, BE CAREFUL!) garage area to the stairs outside to enter the hotel. When we arrived inside the lobby we saw the lobby packed with airline employees waiting to check out. There were probably 50-75 people ahead of us in line. My husband sat down on a bench with our items and I waited outside for our car. Our car arrived about 15 minutes later just as all the airline employees were boarding a bus to apparently go to work. As I helped the bellman unload the car, my husband called to let me know we were checked in and ready to go.

The Crowne had upgraded us to a junior suite on the 23rd floor. The view from the room was absolutely spectacular, we slept with the curtains open every night so we could see the beautiful city lights.

The room was quite nice and spacious. The bathroom was against the back wall, next to that was a small table and chairs for eating or playing cards. There was a rather large living room area with a sofa, coffee table, a chair and a television in a cabinet with some drawers and a refrigerator. Beyond that was a half wall separating the living area from the sleeping area. Directly in front of the bed was a desk with a light and outlets ready for your laptop. The room was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows.

Internet was not included in the price of the room. It was $10 a day for internet access, or $35 for the week. I understand that this is typical in upscale hotels, even though it frustrates me. That being said, when I pay for internet access in a hotel, I expect enough bandwidth to be able to conduct business (VPN access). The download speeds were frequently less than 200kbps, which is totally unacceptable. This was one of the recommended hotels for the VMWorld conference, which is a computer-related convention. A hotel should expect high internet usage when they are a participant hotel for a high-tech conference, and be prepared to handle it. Even on Thursday night, when most of the conference participants had left, the bandwidth still didn’t exceed 310kbps. My expectations for $10/day internet access are much higher than free WiFi in non-premium hotels, and unfortunately the Crowne Plaza didn’t come close to meeting those expectations.

We opted not to use the room service available, since the cheapest thing on the menu was a $22 hamburger that didn’t seem all that special from the description on the menu. A morning pot of coffee was $7, and a basic breakfast was over $15. Instead we went to the grocery store and bought a few staple items and frequented restaurants in the area.

Most of the staff members we ran in to were very polite and friendly, especially the housekeeping staff.

Parking was somewhat of a fiasco. It took a minimum of 15 minutes every time we needed our car, sometimes closer to a half an hour. At one point one of the door men got rather testy with me and told me I should call for the car before going downstairs, otherwise we should just go to the garage ourselves to get the car. (Which was fine with me, less tipping!) Not only did they expect a tip every time we got in or out of the car, the parking was $60 a day. (Yes, I said $60 A DAY). I understand real estate is at a premium in SF, but $60 a day?!?!? Again, no choice we had to pay it.

When we went to check out my husband mentioned the problems with the internet, and how important it was for him to have internet access, he was met with a snide “Sorry”, and handed a receipt.

Overall the room was lovely and most of the staff were polite and helpful. Would I stay here again? Maybe. It surely wouldn’t be my first choice by any stretch. It’s very important for computer people to have reliable internet access. If it were free, we wouldn’t complain, but considering less expensive hotels have better internet access this was a big disappointment. The room service menu being SO highly priced also put us off a little. The parking, well honestly it was kind of disastrous for us. So only in a pinch would we stay here again.

  • Liked — The view was spectacular from our room on the 23rd floor!
  • Disliked — The internet connection was ridiculously slow for $10 a day!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yvieinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

First things first: The location of the hotel is just about perfect: cable car outside, with Chinatown, Union Square shopping and restaurants all very close by. I didn't eat at the hotel--a full breakfast was about $23. A nice breakfast can be had across the street at Sears--a San Francisco institution--for about $10 less.
The room I had was a standard king and was fairly small, had a coffeemaker but no refrigerator and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was unremarkable but sufficient. The hotel staff were very nice; the doormen especially so. A huge number of airline crews stay here. The lobby is relatively small--considering it's a 30 story hotel-- with limited seating if you're the type who likes to lounge around and watch the world go by.
I spent an entire week at this hotel and also the Grand Hyatt(on a previous stay), which is a block away. If it's a matter of a night or two, it probably doesn't make much difference, but for an extended stay, I'd choose the Grand Hyatt--much better views, nicer room decor and a more upscale ambiance.

  • Liked — perfect location
  • Disliked — somewhat small room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank guyinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was a very nice hotel. Located just a block or so north of Union Square. It's an easy walk to Chinatown, the subway and all of the dining and shopping in the area. I bid for the hotel on Priceline and got it for $77 (pre tax) for Labor Day weekend (Sept 1-3, 2007) so not a bad deal at all. We were in room 806, which was a corner room. It was larger than the other hotel rooms, though it had 2 queen beds, not a king. There was a welcoming packet on the bed with linen spray, eye patches and ear plugs for a good night's rest. Staff seemed very friendly, though we did not deal with them much. Hotel has the usual: soda machine, free ice machine, toiletries included shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bar soap and shower cap. Small coffee maker in the room.

Nice little cafe right across the street for a coffee, pasty or quick glass of wine. There's a Walgreens pharmacy kitty-corner to the hotel if you need to stock up on supplies. Dotties (522 Jones) is on of the best brekfast joints EVER! Be Prepared to wait in line for an hour, but it's almost worth it. The place it tiny.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some street noise from below
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank designjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

3 of us shared a quad room for 5 nights whilst sightseeing. After arriving gone midnight and missing our luggage due to flight delays, the only Porter on duty was able to run around and get us all the toiletries and Robes we needed to relieve the effects of travelling for 36 hours.

Our room was very spacious over looking Sutter Street itself, I suspect it may have been a disabled room because of the wetroom and rails, instead of a bath. No issue with cleanliness and beds very comfy indeed. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Yarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

We booked a family holiday on the West Coast of US and stayed at Crowne Plaza Garden Grove, Caesars Las Vegas, Crowne Plaza Union Square San Francisco and Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach LA. I am a Priority Club member that is why my preference for Crowne Plaza. There were 7 of us in two rooms at each hotel.
The Crowne Plaza Union Square is in a great location with the cable car stop just outside (Powell Street) and is close to great shops. The run to the bay isn't too bad. The hotel is a little old and could do with a refurb. We booked 4 months in advance and asked for adjoining rooms but ended up on seperate floors. OK but wouldn't stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality and seperate floors for family
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NovAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing