We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Tiny Rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge San Francisco Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge San Francisco Central
Ranked #212 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Tiny Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

These rooms are super cramped, but they were clean. We just needed a cheap place to sleep, so I didn't have high expectations. You can barely walk between the bed and the dressers. Notes that you have to pay $15 for parking! The breakfast is cereal, juice and packaged pastries, but my kids though it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrozierSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    115
    184
    190
    385
See reviews for
191
184
156
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The only star is for the only positive about our visit - the staff member on reception who was kind and courteous during our stay.
Firstly, my card was overcharged by over $100 and despite several complaints and my original booking for reference, I never received this back. Secondly, the area is terrifying. There were people scavenging through the bins at all hours and some shady looking characters hanging around in the car park at night. I was glad that our room was on the second floor, however, the window was easily opened from the outside. We had to make a gadget out of a suitcase padlock and a chain to keep the window shut.
The room was dark and glum and seemed grubby. The carpets were threadbare, the furniture had seen better days and everything smelled of cigarette smoke. It isn't a hotel that I would associate as being a Travelodge and I'm surprised that more effort hasn't been made to change it's image to comply with other Travelodge hotels.
Finding a hotel in San Francisco can be expensive but I would recommend spending the extra money to stay somewhere other than here. We loved the city but staying in this hotel definitely had a negative impact on our visit.

Room Tip: Try and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

La Genetouze, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Don't like being negative but this hotel was a big disappointment.
Rooms very small and cramped and although they are non-smoking guest group together on balconies to smoke and smoke filters into rooms,also very noisy because of this//
T.V very old model with very bad reception//buffet breakfast very limited and not enough seating area,some people had to eat standing//.
Also the car-park is not free....$17.20 per night.....this is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place is awful, I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you don't mind being kept awake all night by people drinking and smoking and generally making a lot of noise. Although this place is only 20 minutes walk from Union Square you have to walk through one of the most unsafe parts of town meaning that it wasn't all that accessible. There was never anyone in the office, we had to wait 15 to 20 minutes for anyone to help us. The room was not particularly clean, there were burn holes in the sheets and the room smelled horrible. There was no safe in the room and I was reluctant to leave anything in our room. We were originally booked to stay for four nights and only lasted two, when on the second night there was a party going on in the room next door, the people in that room attempted to break through the door between the rooms and we had to put up with the smell of weed wafting into our room all night. Upon informing the owner of this the next day - he simply shrugged shoulders and was not at all interested. For $175 a night this place was an absolute rip off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krey008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the towels and toiletries in the bathroom and the location was close to mass-transit and in walking distance to local eateries, but the rooms were not clean and the walls were thin. My floors were sticky, my sheets were thin, and the front desk was not helpful when I called to complain about noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#183 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#153 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#155 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Francisco Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Francisco Central

Property: Travelodge San Francisco Central
Address: 1707 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Francisco Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge San Francisco Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing