We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good price, poor accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge San Francisco Central
Ranked #207 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good price, poor accommodations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I agree with MikeE73. The hotel is run-down and can use a little face-lift. The furniture and fixtures are old, but the worst part are the linens and towels. The bedcover in our room was tattered, had holes in the lining, and the outer cover had patchwork that's not part of the design. The mattresses were covered with bedbug protectors, thank goodness, so there were no incidents with those creatures. The towels had make-up (mascara) stains in them, and are so rough with age. We didn't see any bugs or roaches in the bathroom, but maybe because they use strong-smelling disinfectants that welcome you when you enter the room.

As well, the walls are thin, you can hear your neighbors beside and above you. Our neighbors above appeared to be moving furniture in the middle of the night, and we lost some precious sleeptime because of that.

As for the staff, they are not the friendliest, although they are quite accommodating. I'm not sure if they're just stressed or are on guard because they are so used to all the complaints. There was always only one person on duty when we were there.

It is in a sleezy part of Market Street - there were a lot of homeless people sleeping next door, but they don't really bother you. And yes, you will see some ladies of the night walking outside but there were very, very few of them and we had no incidents. It was the weekend of the US Open when we were there, so the hotel was fully booked, and the occupants were mostly those who came in to watch the game.

It was the perfect location because it's strategically along Market Street, close to the opposite sides of the city and two famous attractions - Wharves and Golden Gate Bridge - and accessible to all modes of public transportation. If you are up to it and fit enough to walk all day, you won't need a car. We loved it that all we needed was a Muni Pass to go around the city riding in the streetcar, cablecar, bus and trolley. The BART is not included here.

I would probably look for a hotel or B&B that is closer to downtown but accessible to public transport. We saw a lot of these and made notes. I don't think I'm going back here.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVictoria228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    126
    201
    199
    417
See reviews for
208
194
168
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff at the hotel are nice and helpful, but the rooms are horrible. Bedsheets were dirty and had holes in them. Rooms smelled. Night lamps in two consecutive rooms did not function. Perhaps worst of all, the beds were bug-ridden.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Agy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Because of a airline mess up several of us passengers were made to stay here what a disgrace dirty rooms hairs in the tubs run down actually slept in dirty clothes from our luggage to feel cleaner raze it and start from scratch

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerickCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have to be honest. This hotel is old and the furniture is well past it's prime. The location is in a rather seedy area of town and one needs to check in early in order to park off the street. But, being located on Market Street, the city is at your finger tips as San Francisco has one of the best public transportation systems in the country and Market Street is its nexus.

The only real bright spot was the overworked desk clerk. He handled multiple check ins with friendly aplomb and even took the time to call the room later when he had found the answer to my question about the location of a certain attraction.

If one is looking for a place to crash and have a shower at a reasonable price in a city with unholy hotel tariffs, this place should be on your list.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I used to live in SF years ago and recently took my wife for a visit. We didn't make any hotel reservations before hand and were destined to be stuck down town on a Friday night. We walked into the Travelodge and Simon made us feel at home. He also knew sports scores of every team in the bay, and was a real pleasure to talk to! Rooms were small, but extremely clean, and from what I observed, they were very concerned about their guests and very hospitable....... Can't go wrong staying at this place!!! AND!!!! say Hi to Simon for us!!! Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times since 2006 and it is now my favourite hotel when I travel to San Francisco. It has a perfect location on Market Street. The F-line tram has a stop just outside the hotel which takes you all the way to Fishermans Wharf and many other attractions in the city.
The rooms are small but clean and cozy. It can be a little bit distrubing with noise from the street at night.
I stayed for 2 nights and had no problems at all. I would highly recomend this hotel if you plan a trip to San Francisco.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place was crazy. Firstly, the area is horrible. Homeless people and crazy wierdos everywhere, more so than your average city. Beggers sat outside, urine smells, homeless center just down the street, the area is shady and dangerous and you dont feel safe at all. It's so noisy at night where the crazy people are having fits in the street, one man kept us up for hours just standing outside the hotel shouting at the top of his lungs. We actually barricaded our bedroom door with our suitcases as our room was infront of the stairs leading to the street and we were that worried any old psycho was going to walk up and try and get in. The walls are like paper, we were kept up by noise in the room next to us constantly sounding like they were moving furniture and having parties. The staff were ok, however we complained about the noise one day, next thing we know we have the thugs in the room next to us banging on the door seperating our rooms screaming and cursing at us because reception had told them we'd complained. They were hurling insults aimed at our nationality and acting like [--]. So thanks to the staff for setting us up like that and then not helping us!
The room however, was clean. Breakfast was nothing special. Reasonably priced i suppose. I would not stay here again. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere safe!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#197 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#135 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#162 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#156 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Francisco Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Francisco Central

Property: Travelodge San Francisco Central
Address: 1707 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Francisco Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge San Francisco Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing