We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Budget Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Park San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexis Park San Francisco
Ranked #172 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Alexis Park motel is perfect for those travelers who simply want a clean room, bed, and shower. There are no frills, the parking is tight, the front desk is somewhat surly, and the immediate neighborhood may not be ideal for those who are not accustomed to urban homelessness. The Alexis Park is within walking distance of great bars and restaurants in the Tenderloin and in good proximation to venues on Van Ness. The price cannot be beat in San Francisco proper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    23
    12
    31
See reviews for
25
31
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Firstly, it is in very bad area full of homeless people. We arrived at 11 pm to the hotel and walked most of our way there by feet with lot of suitcases, we got strange looks and I was actually scared on the streets. The hotel room overall looked very nice though, it was clean and had really nice furniture. The heating was broken or something and I was freezing the whole time until I went to the bed (February). Next thing was that we could hear our neighbors walking above us and as soon as they took shower, the water pipes where just one loud disaster. I didn't like the guy on the desk either, he looked grumpy and the breakfast was terrible. There was not much of a choice, basically some chemical overly sweeten pastry and we had to take it to our room. I came there later at 11 am and I could not even get more tea. I think tea would be good to have there all day for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a room at the Alexis Park for Saturday night, with plans to run the Nike Womens Marathon yesterday. But, checkout is at 11am, and we would not be back. So we asked for late checkout. No. We asked if we could leave our bags at 6am and get them later. No. The only option, according to the manager, was to leave our bags in the lobby (this is the crappy Tenderloin neighborhood) until noon, and if we weren't back by noon he would put them in a room and charge us for another night. We asked for our money back. He said he couldn't as there is a 48-hour cancellation fee. We said we wouldn't leave without our money.

Meanwhile, we checked out the room and it reeked of cleaning products and mold. We couldn't even enter it without getting a headache. The cleaning woman said there had been some sort of infestation.

We went back to the lobby and insisted that he refund our money. We refused, again, to leave without it.

He called the police.

The police said we should try to get our money back from Expedia and that we should leave. Then he started streaming obscenities at us. The police asked him to calm down and we went outside. The police officers then came outside and said he was demanding that we remove our car from the lot. But, of course, we still couldn't have our money back.

Expedia won't give us a refund unless the hotel approves it. I'm pretty sure that's not going to happen. So we got screwed.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hombrechtikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was quite skeptic, when I saw the hotel from outside. But if you are traveling alone, as business (wo)man, as a young couple, and when you are not afraid of loitering homeless people around in the area (the hotel manager took care off, to get them off the hotel area) I would recommend to go there when you are looking for a centrally located hotel for affordable rates. I would not recommend to go there when you have children or you cannot cope with the homeless people around this place. The rooms are big, recently completely refurbished, the shower-areas are totally new and modern, the free continental breakfast (which you have to take into your room because the lobby is very small) is adequate. The rooms provide a table for 2 and a desk, free Wifi, and the best of all ... free parking lots ... downtown San Francisco ... free parking lots (enough lots for everybody, at least during my stay). So, after you have closed the door of your room, everything is perfect. And you are in 10 minutest walking distance to Union square, 30 minutes walking distance to northern embankment... I mean - what can you expect more? I really had some very bad experiences with other low-budget-hotels, but with the exception of the little Saigon atmosphere around this hotel, there was really nothing to complain about. I was positively surprised. I will return there, when I am back in SF.

Room Tip: Would advise to get a room on the 2nd floor - Would make you feel more safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ullrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have never been to. First, the location is not safe, there are lot of homeless people around this hotel, if you have family with little kids, highly not recommended. Second, they said there are free parking available, but the very RUDE hotel manager reserved most of parking space for his family members and himself. Yes, they all live in this hotel. All the ground floor rooms were occupied by his family. Parking lot is very small, You are lucky if you can find one. Third, the room is very dirty. Hotel staff is very bad, not willing to help and keep making mistake. I booked & paid 3 night via Expedia, the second night I went back to the hotel, they locked my room and refused to let us in. I have three little kids waiting inside the car for 2 hours, I talked to Expedia and they confirmed that we had 3 night and the hotel staff had made mistake. We waiting in the parking until 11:00pm. The manager insisted us to provide him a hard copy of the email from Expedia in process to let us in to the room, however I didn't one with me and I asked if I can use their printer which I can print the email out, believe it or not, he refused to let me use their printer. The manager might be the owner of the hotel and he thought he can do whatever he like to his customer, after all the drama, Expedia manager call him and finally we were able to get in the room. I am so so regret to stay in this hotel, please spend a little more to stay another one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KawingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libraryladyfo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We needed a place close to Nob Hill for my nephews FIDM graduation. Unfortunately, it was June 14 and PEEK season for S.F. We literally were just going to sleep in the room, with dinner, events, breakfast & site seeing filling our hours. So...this is a decent little motel, parking is available & free but first come first serve. Rooms are clean, but bare bones. Bathroom seemed to be remodeled but some wallpaper was coming off one bottom corner. Rooms are on the small side, double beds only, continental breakfast & free wi-fi. Staff NOT too friendly, even with much smiling and chatting NO smiles or chatting returned! :( So...I'm giving it an average.

Room Tip: NOPE...everything is noisy because you are in S.F. and on a corner. Garbage trucks, busses...but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbraryladyfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angwin, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was the WORST hotel experience I have ever had. This hotel is centrally located to the heart of SF and as a result, the staff feels entitled to gouge their customers. The front desk staff is RUDE, and the hotel is filthy. The maid entered our room despite the DO NOT DISTURB tag being up, and when we returned to our room to check out, the accused us of having a dog in our room?! What were they even doing in there to begin with if the sign on the door says "do not disturb," and considering the size of the room is about a big as a thumb tack, I am not sure where I would have even put the dog. Finally, I made a mistake when booking the room by accident for the wrong day, and they REFUSED to give me a refund for the mistake and charged us DOUBLE to stay for the night we needed. Overall this place for ONE night cost me $400. I will never come back here. They also photocopy your ID card, credit cards, and charge a $250 damage deposit before you can even check in. Needless to say I cancelled my card after staying here because the staff is shady, rude, and worst of all this hotel is so dirty. I found long black hair all over the bathroom floor (I have short blond hair), and when I ran a damp rag along the floor it came up BLACK. (See my photos). The carpet was stained, the comforter was stained. This place is gross, and this is coming from a college student that has travelled by couch surfing. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Best tip is to not stay here at all. If you must stay here, come for the free parking and sleep in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess21K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Layne Hotel
#205 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#149 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#157 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Park San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Park San Francisco

Property: Alexis Park San Francisco
Address: 825 Polk St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6921
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexis Park San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Alexis Park San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Park San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing