We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3842 25th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (Mission District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've stayed at this B & B about 5 times and plan our SF trips around its availability. It is really a small efficiency apartment with a private entrance and garden terrace. The owner is friendly and refills the fridge daily with bagels, juice, yogurt, milk and fruit. There are other comfortable amenities that add to the comfort and charm of this delightful place. Located in a quiet neighborhood, a short stroll will take you to the many shops and fabulous restaurants in Noe Valley. A BART station is within a 10 minute walk and a neighborhood fitness center is a block away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1debby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Dolores Place is the perfect resting spot for a trip to SF. Clean and comfortable, the space is plenty big for two adults, with good beds and bath. We always felt safe. Spectacular view from the private outdoor patio. Quiet and quaint neighborhood, plus a well-stocked breakfast pantry. The owner is kind and accommodating. Will definitely inquire about booking for next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've been a long term guest (1 1/2 years) here and travel from the east coast to SF quite often for business and some vacation time. Main thing is a concern to me is absolute privacy and what I like about this place is that for one, you have your own separate entrance which makes it feel like you own separate place. I found it to always be well maintained, nicely furnished and the host was very welcoming. The price is very reasonable and it's located in a great neighborhood. I use a rental car to get around while I'm there so I know parking in San Francisco can always be a little difficult but I've never seem to have a problem in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This is not the typical B&B experience where you share main parts of the house and have a communal breakfast with friends you've never met. This is a full apartment built into the basement of one of San Francisco's beautiful old row houses.

If you happen to be on foot - which we were because we used only public transportation during our stay - be warned that 25th Street is draped over a really steep hill that makes even lugging wheeled luggage an aerobic exercise. Take into consideration that we're in our 50's and a little out of shape. But I do mean steep, as in parts of the sidewalk have steps as an option.

You have private access to this "garden" apartment. Out the main door and up a few steps is a nice patio with plants and trees that help to separate it from the street, which it overlooks. It was a little cool during our stay, otherwise we would have utilized this space more.

David met us on arrival and was very helpful in getting us oriented to the amenities and to nearby restaurants. After that we didn't see him again, although I felt that he was available right above us if needed.

The room itself was comfortable, with a separate sitting area and breakfast pantry. The bathroom has a shower only which was fine with us. The heating system is a little strange but we were comfortable the whole time.

A continental breakfast is provided in the pantry and the refrigerator. We could have easily made a descent breakfast from the fresh fruit, cereals, juices, and breakfast breads David provides. However, we're breakfast lovers and so decided to walk down a block to Chloe's Restaurant, which makes the best french toast (from croissants!) I've ever had.

If you're OK with seclusion as opposed to the usual social experience of meeting new people at a B&B, Dolores Place fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CptAhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Mission District
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
Nineteen 06 Mission
Nineteen 06 Mission
#11 of 52 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#7 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dolores Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3842 25th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District , Noe Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing