We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly a Michelin Star Winner!”
Review of Luce

Luce
Ranked #302 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 5th Street
Transit: BART and Muni Stations close by (Powell Street)
Description: While Luce offers breakfast, brunch, and lunch, it is the dinner experience that illustrates the true talent of the Michelin-starred culinary team. The approachable menu reflects the surrounding farms of San Francisco and changes according to freshness and seasonality. Pastas, breads and all desserts are made in-house allowing for a truly distinctive dining experience. In addition to the à la carte dinner menu, Luce offers a tasting menu showcasing the best of the season, allowing guests to explore the full range of cuisine at the restaurant. Luce has been awarded one Michelin star 8 years consecutively, and the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence".
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Clearly a Michelin Star Winner!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Worth the price!! This Michelin star restaurant has a small menu, but all the items are lovely! I recommend the pre fixe menu, which changes weekly. The service had left a bit to be desired, but overall this was one of the better meals I've had in awhile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    94
    33
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Service was outstanding, food was beautifully presented and most enjoyable. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinners during our stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VZiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good value for a Michelin-starred restaurant”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Luce has been awarded a Michelin star for 4 years in a row. Service was very good, although the place was not even half full for the whole week that I was in San Francisco

For appetizer we had the abalone with duck confit. It was very good. The abalone was sliced, the edges were crisp while the inside was succulent

For mains we had the rib eye and the lobster. Both were excellent as well. The rib eye was roasted and very tasty. It was also very tender even when it grew cold, something unavoidable in San Francisco. The lobster was poached, with sweet corn and it was heavenly. We also had a half bottle of chateau Le pez which was perfect with what we ordered.

And the bill? Less than $200 for 2, tip includes. Now, how many Michelin restaurants have that kind of value?

When in San Francisco, make sure to drop by Luce

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great staff, excellent service and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amanda was as our waitress. She was very helpful and went above and beyond to ensure our experience was exceptional. Possibly the best service I've ever received. Would highly recommend dining here if you would like a fine dining experience. Meals are modern combinations of interesting tastes, pairing savoury and sweet. Interior design is aesthetically pleasing, beautiful lighting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav1ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The food is delicious but you will leave hungrey”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This restaurant is highly rated due to the amazing flavors and textures. The staff is too attentive, but you will leave hungry. Its a great restaurant but in the wrong location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luce also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing