We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep in SF”
Review of Inn on Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn on Broadway
Ranked #171 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Sleep in SF”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Let's start with the good: Room comes with free WiFi, free parking, a microwave and mini fridge. The room was very clean.
The bad: parking is very limited and cars have to double park nightly. The place is on the corner of Broadway and Van Ness Ave which is a major busy street. My room was on the second floor and I could hear every single car zoom by as if I was standing on the sidewalk (not good when you are trying to get some sleep.)
The walls are paper thin, I could hear my neighbor's tv, cell phone ringing and conversations. And don't get me started on the elephants that were above me and decided to trample around their room at 6 am!
If you are a light sleeper like me DO NOT COME HERE. However, if you can sleep through fire alarms, earthquakes and zoo animals this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    140
    139
    64
    64
See reviews for
112
156
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst place to stay un San Francisco, I mean they charged me $208 dollars for a 14 hour phone call that I didn't even do !! I was not even in my room at the time the phone call was registered and the staff was really rude about it and refused to clear the situation.

They also offer free Wifi but it never worked, rooms are Ok but if you want to avoid stupid charges into your credit card this is not the place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kent, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

For a very reasonable rate we got a clean, quiet room in a location that was convenient for us.
This is not a luxury hotel; but for a one-night stay near many tourist destinations - at a price within our budget - we thought it was a good deal. The beds were comfortable. The bedspreads should be upgraded: they were quite old and faded (i.e. they don't make a good first impression)

Negative comment: They advertise wifi, but it did not work. We made several calls to the front desk, but their attempted solutions did not work. In San Francisco, this seems like a significant loss of service.

Room Tip: They have off-street parking, but a limited amount. We were glad we decided to walk to dinner, inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel about 2 weeks ago. The location was very good, near to local attraction near by. Cable car was just 3 blocks away. Sam who checked us in was very kind to show us places around and warn us about places NOT to go. There was a shuttle pickup to the airport from the hotel which was awesome. The rooms were clean and nice. We stayed in the 4th floor and it was quite. Liya on the front office was able to book sightseeing bus which was fun and was very helpful with all our questions about the city. I would definately go back to this hotel again as we got a discount code for our next stay. Thank you for wonderful service, clean rooms and good price. Cheers!

Room Tip: 4th floor is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soyam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel about a week ago on my 1st trip to San Francisco. Two ladies in the front desk were very helpful. They let us check in early. They akso showed us map around. I made a reservation online. The first look of hotel gave me 90s feeling because front office was tiny and old. But when I got to room I was extremely pleased, the rooms were remodeled and nice. The cleaning people did a great job. We stayed for 5 nights and every day we returned it used to be clean and smell good. A short cab ride of about $10 to the wharf was not too bad. We got a very good deal online at their website. I also got a discount card upon checkout :). I would definitely stay here again if I come back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABhatt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I would much rather spend my money on things other than where I sleep, I am not a very fussy person. That said, my room and bed, etc., were just fine--clean and comfortable, hot water, fridge and microwave. Aspects of hotel could be improved: registration desk and room are tiny, if there is a problem with one check-in, things get cramped and you might have a wait. The door to my room had many non-working locks from prior versions (now uses a key-card); in fact, though the door said to use a bolt/double lock, there was none). I did not feel insecure, however, the neighborhood seems fine. My room was on Broadway side, the traffic noise was not bad at all, mostly because windows and wall seemed to muffle most of it. I was attending a meeting at Moscone, the numbers 10 and 12 bus were very convenient, and a cable car not far away. I walked one gorgeous morning, great views along the way. Easy walk down to Ghiradelli Square and Fisherman's wharf. I learned after my first night that the nearby place to go for cafes, etc., is just one block over from Van Ness, on Polk. Everything you might need is there, not much on Van Ness itself, except traffic. This is one of the best hotel deals I have found in San Francisco.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the Van Ness side are noisier. I always bring earplugs but didn't need them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is old, the elevator is old, but the worst was the bad smell of my room. It smells like s**t, really. The reception guy was gentle, but they have no more room available, so I just get out of the room ASAP and return later just to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeblung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
461 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 229 in San Francisco
330 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#169 of 229 in San Francisco
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#131 of 229 in San Francisco
773 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Broadway

Property: Inn on Broadway
Address: 2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2512 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Broadway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly and completely renovated, the Inn on Broadway welcomes you. Our customer service staff receives each guest with exceptional service and a pleasant smile. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Our on-site restaurant offers a quick and delicious way to grab a bite to eat before exploring San Francisco's beauty. Located in a safe and convenient neighborhood of San Francisco, the Inn on Broadway is within walking distance of the legendary Cable Car route, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and our City's famous 'Crookedest Street'. The Inn on Broadway's spacious rooms include: Flat Screen TVs, In-room microwave & fridge, Modern and newly renovated rooms, In-room coffee and tea, FREE Hi-speed wireless Internet access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN100% Non-smoking rooms, Iron & ironing boards, Direct dial phones with dataport. The Inn on Broadway is a quality approved member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel San Francisco
Broadway Manor Hotel
Broadway Manor San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing