We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 2x the size of $400 hotels in Union Square!”
Review of Inn on Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn on Broadway
Ranked #171 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Nevada City
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Room 2x the size of $400 hotels in Union Square!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Russian Hill is. Buzzing neighborhood, full of great restaurants, pubs, coffee shops, "real" food shops, and real people, so finding the Inn on Broadway at $110/night for a huge clean quiet room with fridge, microwave and free parking was just amazing, and often you can get Internet deals for less than this.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper they will give you a room on the 4th floor away from Van Ness Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    140
    138
    64
    64
See reviews for
112
156
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel was cheap considering the rates of close by hotels, and to be honest it served its purpose. It was a clean room, with microwave and fridge. I though that the staff was very helpfull. Overall the feel of the hotels is a bit outdated, but again for the price we were happy. Great location too,in the corner of Van ness and broadway were you can get route 47 to fisherman wharf and other popular spots. Also walking distance to a bunch of cool and yummy eateries (on polk st).

Room Tip: specify a room away from the st, since this is a busy intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lclero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Trip was planned by my daughter and granddaughters for me for Mothers Day. The room was really a nice size for the three of us, two King beds on the 4th floor. It was quiet most of the time. It was clean and spacious. The elevator was old but we all had a great laugh over it. Staff was friendly and helpful. I am 77 so walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf was a bit too far for me to walk. We cabbed it most of the time and it did get a bit expensive. All in all we had a great time and the price was right. I would recommend it to anyone who is on a budget but next time for me personally, I would choose a Hotel closer to the wharf.

Room Tip: I would recommend to ask for the 4th floor as it was quiet as a lot of others had recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaCMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We would stay again. Nice rooms, friendly front desk. We had no problem with an early check-in and the room was clean and well decorated (3rd floor). While it was a bit noisy, it wasn't enough to bother - after all you are in the city. Everything is an easy walk (Starbucks, restaurants, movies, stores)or bus ride. Since S.F has such good and easy to use public transportation, we parked our car once for 3 days in the lot - so the motel parking was never an issue. The nice thing about this Russian Hill location for lodging is that it's not as busy as Fisherman's Wharf or other higher tourist areas, more quaint and centrally locatedl. We were able to get to At&T Park, Golden Gate Park, Fisherman's Wharf, AMC Movie Theatre, Chinatown easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braiden222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stumbled upon this hotel through one of the hotel comparison websites and after reading the reviews decided to give it a chance, I knew the area from being in San Francisco twice before. The hotel is ideally located about 15minutes walk to fishermans wharf, 5 minutes walk from the bars and restaurant of Polk street. 10 minutes walk from north point. And a short bus rice away from downtown, the bus stops outside the hotel.

The rooms are large and spacious,we had two queen sized beds which were clean and comfy, the bathroom was spotless and cleaned everyday, it was all good. If you get a cheap bargain I say book it!

The only problem was the internet. There was one evening that it didn't work but not much of a problem. It was fixed by the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brainless69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We found this in one of the brochures you can get all over the place in the US which advertise discounts at many hotels and motels. We were looking for a couple of nights for a family of 3 to see the sites - Alcatraz, Cable Cars and the shopping. We picked the motel due to it's close location to many of the popular tourist areas in San Francisco, and nearby access to public transport. There is inclusive parking which many hotels charge extra for, and whilst it isn't a 5 star property, the rooms were large and clean with refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. The guy on reception was very helpful and told us of the quickest way to get to the many attractions - fisherman's wharf, the shopping areas of Union Square and Westfield, the bridge and suchlike. He also advised of areas (or actually the area) to steer clear of - Tenderloin, but everywhere else was safe and no problems were encountered. We also got a good deal on the room rate which as it was a weekend was higher than on the weekdays. We got a good breakfast from Pete's Diner next door - the blueberry pancakes were great - and the staff very friendly. There was a little bit of noise at night, but this is in a central area. All in all a good deal and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the frontage and the main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HG11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed a couple of days, price good but parking is terrible, Internet sucks, elevator scary, I don't recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaliSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 228 in San Francisco
329 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#111 of 228 in San Francisco
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Broadway

Property: Inn on Broadway
Address: 2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2512 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Broadway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly and completely renovated, the Inn on Broadway welcomes you. Our customer service staff receives each guest with exceptional service and a pleasant smile. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Our on-site restaurant offers a quick and delicious way to grab a bite to eat before exploring San Francisco's beauty. Located in a safe and convenient neighborhood of San Francisco, the Inn on Broadway is within walking distance of the legendary Cable Car route, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and our City's famous 'Crookedest Street'. The Inn on Broadway's spacious rooms include: Flat Screen TVs, In-room microwave & fridge, Modern and newly renovated rooms, In-room coffee and tea, FREE Hi-speed wireless Internet access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN100% Non-smoking rooms, Iron & ironing boards, Direct dial phones with dataport. The Inn on Broadway is a quality approved member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel San Francisco
Broadway Manor Hotel
Broadway Manor San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing