We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, tourist-class accommodations”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #106 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Castle Inn offers large motel-style rooms in a central location. If what you want is simple and tidy, then the Castle Inn might work well for you. The rooms are very clean, but the overall look of the place is somewhat dated and shabby.

The Castle Inn offers a few nice amenities. Rooms are equipped with both refrigerators and microwaves. Though there is not an on-site restaurant, they have arranged for "room service" through a near-by budget diner. You will also find that you receive all basic cable channels through their television service. Each room also has independently-controlled heat and A/C, which can be nice when SF's weather varies.

The drawbacks are due mostly to the physical plant of the building. It is an old four-level motel with open-air hallways. Because of the set-up, each room has one medium-size window that looks out onto the adjacent building. Therefore, the rooms feel pretty dark, which is not helped much by the small lamps and CFL bulbs. The indoor decor is dated, and the public spaces look a little shabby, from stained indoor-outdoor carpeting on the stairs and halls to scraggly geraniums on the stair landings. As well, though the Inn offers breakfast, it is hosted on a small counter within the main office; you have to be patient with the line to get your milk and cereal or granola bar.

The location is good, but not great. You can easily take a bus line north on Van Ness to the waterfront or south toward the Castro. The closest BART stop is about 1.5 miles away, so a cab or shuttle is your best option to and from the airport. The Inn is convenient to Nob Hill and Polk Gulch if you're looking to browse a few shops or grab a bite to eat. However, these are not the most exciting areas to go out and about in San Fran.

In short, Castle Inn is serviceable, but nothing fancy. The overall value varies, depending on time of year. My king room ran about $200 per night in the last week of June. If I had been able to book a room in town earlier, I likely could have been able to stay at a three-star establishment for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatalpaCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 849 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 8 nights over July 4th week and found the facility immaculately clean and quiet, the management excellent with great information for exploring the city, and the room very comfortable. The location is an advantage in a city made for walking with many of the places you'll want to visit a reasonable walk from the hotel. Polk and Union Streets for eating and shopping are right out the door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked a family suite online and stayed for 3 nights early June. Great location, within walking distance of many of the places we wanted to visit (Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, Coit Tower, Chinatown). Bus & cable car routes nearby. Fantastic service from hosts Marshall & Arlene. They gave us a local map and marked all the places to see (and not go). A light continental breakfast was served each day, and this was sufficient. The room was very spacious. The free Wifi was fairly weak so not easy to get or hold a connection, but mostly spent our days exploring the city, so lack of internet service wasn't an issue for us. Great range of restaurants & cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holiday_from_cows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the many good reviews on tripadvisor. It didn't disappoint! The location is great--very close to buslines--easy to get around the city from there. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The office staff were very friendly and welcoming--gave us a map of the area and suggested where to go and not to go. I knew going in that the breakfast wasn't that great--didn't stay here for that. We ate at Peter D's across and down the street from the hotel--the best pancakes I've ever had. This is a great value for location and what you get. We didn't stay in our room alot, so it was perfect for us. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was a great choice for our family of 4, with kids ages 9 and 12. We had a car and the free parking was an enormous savings! We tried to use public transport whenever possible - the bus to Fisherman's Wharf was on the same block as the motel. We waited 1 minute and were at the Wharf less than 10 minutes later. (The office attendant told us about the bus when he heard we were heading to the Wharf.) The cable car was just a few blocks away.

The fridge and microwave in the room were terrific for our family. We didn't have to rely on restaurants every night when we were tired of eating out. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast but we went to Walgreen's on the corner for cereal and milk to supplement the breakfast offerings of instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, packaged muffins, fruit bars, yogurt. (Our only disappointment was that the motel's offerings were sugary - would have appreciated plain oatmeal, plain yogurt, etc).

There is a good selection of reasonably priced and family-friendly restaurants just around the corner (Chinese take-out, Thai, pizza, burgers, upscale). We walked all over with our kids and the area appeared and felt very safe - lots of residents grocery shopping, doing errands, etc.

The office staff was outstanding. Cordial, helpful and knowledgeable. Happily kept our valuables while we were out during the day, offered patient and useful advice about directions, public transport, and insider tips. We all slept well and did not notice any street noise. We turned on the a/c at night and the fan must have blocked it.

My top priority was cleanliness and the Castle was spotless - everywhere. This isn't the Hyatt or the Mark - it's a small motel - no robes, tempurpedic mattresses or 24-hour room service, but clean and comfortable, with everything you truly need.

We are very experienced travelers with zero tolerance for bad attitudes, poor service and iffy cleanliness. We have NO criticisms of the Castle Inn at all - we will return and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fastidiousmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our room was well equipped, everything worked and we were very comfortable here. The location is fairly central and the staff were very helpful. Parking was a little challenging, but free. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NaldoWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have rated this place a 4 because my husband wasn't so keen.. I think he would have preferred a place closer to Fisherman's Wharf, but he doesn't understand the cost/benefit ratios of the area like I do after all of me research! This place was in an excellent location - very safe, right next to the best restaurant street - and the BEST "Rice Pudding Shop" which we ate at every night after dinner.. We were walking distance to Fishermans Wharf too. Just a tip if heading to Alcatraz (prebook!!). For our family of 4 this was a good choice, and the service staff were very friendly and helpful - don't expect too much from the breakfast though!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Here_we_Go2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#111 of 230 in San Francisco
1,050 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#136 of 230 in San Francisco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,591 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
775 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $110 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing