We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #47 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great price and location”
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We spent 3 days in July at the Columbus Motor Inn and found it clean and quiet. Staff very helpful and the location cannot be beat. We asked for a quiet room. It came without a view but it was blissfully quiet! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — clean, location, quiet
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    561
    106
    24
    12
See reviews for
431
500
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We chose the Columbus Motor Inn in which to spend July 11-15, the last days of our CA vacation. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near Fisherman's Wharf so we could have easy access to all the attractions families with teenagers would enjoy. We found the Columbus Motor Inn on tripadvisor and followed the recommendations here. We are very glad we did! The main thing Columbus Motor Inn has going for it is LOCATION! It is absolutely perfectly centered for everything we wanted to do as a family. It is 1 1/2 blocks from the Powell-Mason St. cable car terminus, making grabbing a cable car uptown to Union Square or Chinatown a breeze. Bus #30 stops right in front of the hotel and it takes you from the Palace of Fine Arts one one end to SBC Park on the other. We were within easy walking distance of Fisherman'w Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz and the tourist shops. Within a few blocks are great Italian restaurants and Pat's Cafe around the corner makes a great omellette. We parked the car in the FREE parking garage attached to the hotel. We bought a 3 day MUNI pass and used public transportation to go where ever we wanted. We had a standard 2 double bed room on the third floor that was quite spacious. It was clean, well maintained and there were fresh fluffy towels each day. From the bay window we could see Alcatraz, Coit Tower, and the TransAmerica building. Wow! The room didn't have any "extra" perks- refrigerator, microwave, guest laundry or continental breakfast, but the location made up for it. The staff was very helpful setting up city tours, recommending eating places, and giving travel directions. This is a great economical hotel at the heart of where we wanted to be in San Francisco. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
6 Thank CTMom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

This past May we spent four nights in San Francisco staying at the Columbus Motor Inn and we were very pleased with our stay there. The location of the hotel is ideal for touring the town and the real bonus is that parking is included, which means we didn’t have to use our car. In fact we only used it once to take us to the Golden Gate Bridge for the traditional walk across the bridge and loosely following the 49 Mile Scenic Drive.

Our room was very, very clean and large with two Queen-sized beds, a sofa, which is always a bonus. We had a nice view of the SF skyline from our room. Excellent value for the money and would absolutely stay there again. The Columbus Motor Inn doesn’t have a pool but for us this was more than compensated with their free parking. The Inn also provides free High Speed internet access (wired and wireless); just bring your own laptop. Also accessible within easy walking distance is the popular (and famous) tourist destination, Fisherman’s Wharf. There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel (number 30) that goes downtown.

jet29

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jet029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I just got back from a stay at the Columbus Motor Inn. I booked the hotel because it was the only reasonably-priced hotel in the area with FREE PARKING.

Upon checking into the hotel, I was originally given a room that had a broken air conditioner. I called the front desk, and within a few minutes, the clerk had brought me a key for a different room down the hall (with a newer, working air conditioner).

The room was very clean and comfortable. It had a nice round table and a balcony. There was a sink outside of the bathroom, and both the bathroom and the hotel room itself were very large.

There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel that you can use to get to Chinatown, Union Square, etc. The front desk can provide you with a bus map. A one-way bus fare is $1.25. Also, there is a cable car stop very close to the hotel. Fisherman's Wharf is within about a 2-3 block walk.

The hotel also has FREE WIRELESS INTERNET access, which was very fast and easy to use (I think the network was unsecured). All in all, no complaints here- I'd happily stay at the Columbus Motor Inn during my next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

we spent two nights in this hotel in May 2006; good location and it is all; an email to be received: two blocks ahead, breakfast: two blocks down; the last one night was terrible: the customer of the next room had rented for deals; silence was made only when one woman threatened while howling to call the police force (a customer.. not the night watchman) ; two blocks down , its Holliday Inn and a Hilton it will be my next choice ..

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

After my previous post -March 16 - "Me Too", I was a little apprehensive when I checked in. I needn't have worried, everything was fine. We had a two bedroomed room which was light, very clean and comfortable. There are ice-machines on each floor and for the price, the location was great, not far from Fishermans Wharf. Turn left when leaving the hotel, not right like we did, must have been jet-lag. There is also a great little cafe just around the corner (Pat's) which does great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sea167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

April 30,2006

We recently spent four nights at the Columbus Motor Inn and we enjoyed it thoroughly. I don't believe we have ever had a nicer, more helpful staff than these fine folks. This is not a five star Hyatt or Mariott but is very comfortable, clean and conviently located just a couple of blocks from the cable cars. We felt the rates were very reasonable since the location was so great, just blocks from Fisherman's Wharf.
I would recommend the Columbus Motor Inn to anyone looking for'
price, location, comfort and a very friendly staff. Our Serta mattresses were among the most comfortable we've ever had and always enjoyed a restful nights sleep.
Do yourself a huge favor, make your reservations at the Columbus
Motor Inn. I'll be happy to answer any questions you might have at
radio87@yahoo.com

Thanks to all at this wonderful hotel. Glenda and I loved it.

Larry

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,082 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing