We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & roomy, great location”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #47 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean & roomy, great location”
Reviewed December 25, 2009

A nice clean motel with lots of space. We had a 2 bedroom room. Motel is old but it's nicely done up. A fridge and a 2nd alarm clock is all that we were missing.The beds were comfortable. Great location, a 10 min walk to Fisherman's wharf & Pier 39, and about 30 min walk to union Square. Free parking is a bonus. We felt safe walking around at night. Lots of eateries, convenience stores and launderette all neat by. There was some noise from the street below but it never othered us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    561
    106
    24
    12
See reviews for
431
500
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

The reviews from tripadvisor are very accurate. Great location within walking distance to Lombard Street, Chinatown. Nice view of the city from our bathroom window and Columbus Ave from the bedroom. Free parking! Spacious rooms. Would stay here again if we could come back again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Not really a motel, this is a hotel with a car park underneath it. Nothing wrong with that though - its in a good location and good value when you compare it to other hotels. Room was clean and large. Staff aren't going to win any customer service awards but they weren't rude. No real personality to the place but nothing to complain about. From the front door you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf in 5mins, tram stop is 2min away and walk into city centre is pleasant, taking about 15-20mins.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights and found the location perfect for a short walk to Fishermen's Wharf and "little Italy". Staff is friendly and helpful. Cable cars are a block away, bus service is at the front door and Dim Sum is just steps away in China town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmc_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We had the family suite with two double beds and a separate room with a queen. Spacious with nice views of Coit Tower, the Embarcadero and the bay. We were in the front, so you had to settle into the street noise but the views were worth it. One block off cable car route and a few blocks to Fisherman's Wharf. We loved the location. We would definately stay here again and you can't beat the free parking!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhgusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for several days in november with wife,2 teenage daughters and a 9 yo daughter.
we had the suite with one room with 2 queens and a huge flat screen tv and another room with another queen bed and a flat screen tv.
the hotel is not luxurious but is very nice,clean,functional.For some reason all our kids loved the hotel and it was not because of the tvs as we had little time to watch it.

From the hotel you can easily walk to ghiradelli square and the wharf . We also walked to the alcatraz ferry pier from the hotel in about 10 minutes. Our family rented bikes to go across GGB from blazing saddles on Hyde st an easy 6-7 walk.There is also a blazing saddles bike shop next to the hotel.We chose the other shop because is closer to the bike path starting point.

Around the corner on Taylor street is Pats Cafe which is a cute and tasty place for breakfast.

North Beach with all of its food places are just a little longer walk up the street. Golden Boy Pizza has great pizza .

From our third floor room we had a great view of Coit Tower lit up at night and from our bed we could see the Alcatraz lighthouse in action at night.
We stayed on the streetside away from Bimbos nightclub.
yes there is some street noise especially since we stayed there over a weekend but it did not seem to bother anyone.
But just in case you can bring earplugs.

the front desk was helpful with directions and there is a bowl of apples in the morning.there is a coffee maker in the room.

Parking is secure and free. Most hotels in the area charge between 20-50 dollars a night for this parking!
Oh yes there is also free wireless internet.

Overall a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel gets high ratings from us for price and convenience. It is located between Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach, very convenient and close to transportation. You can park your car for free and have access to it at any time. We also liked the neighborhood feel of the area, much different from Union Square and all of its chain stores. There are a couple of coffee shops nearby, so it is easy to grab a latte or a quick breakfast before heading out for a day of site seeing. Our only complaint is that it is on a somewhat busy street, so there was quite a bit of street noise, but truthfully after a long day of siteseeing we were so tired at night that it never bothered us. We stayed here because all of the other hotels in more touristy areas were booked, but having stayed there this one time we would definitely say again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,082 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing