We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$198
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$281
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$199
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$241
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$434
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$392
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
$178
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,288)
Filter reviews
1,288 results
Traveler rating
530
602
116
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
602
116
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingpat's cafecoit towerfisherman's wharfcable cargreat locationlombard streetwithin walking distancebus stop rightsmall balconyfew blocksalcatraz ferrywashington squarelarge flat screen tvthird floorqueen bedwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 1,288 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The great thing about the hotel is its location. All the major attractions are within 15-20 mins driving distance.

It is clean, though old. The internet is of reasonable quality ie 3-4 bars of signal strength most of the time

If you are looking for service, then you will be getting cold, though not unfriendly service. I spoke to the night clerk and the day clerk and they both were "cool", though not rude.

The parking is free. They have parking on the 1st floor and the 2nd floor. The parking spots are somewhat narrow but that's not a knock against the hotel as this hotel is in the prime location, I was not expecting wide parking spots

The walls of the hotel are not noise proof. We could hear the footsteps of the folks upstairs. Though, they could be "loud walkers"

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip down the PCH. Clean, comfortable, very convenient location...really terrific for the price! I travel a lot for business, and generally stay in the upper middle range of chain hotels, and this hotel is as good as any chain experience I have had...better than many, actually. We would recommend to anyone, and will definitely book again when traveling to San Francisco!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MrsEasterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

When we checked in, the guy at the front desk treated us like it was a high end hotel. For the price, it is fantastic. The pricing structure is predictable, rooms are clean and above average for the price and they have FREE parking - seriously, just a few blocks from the wharf. I think we paid $110. We stayed at a chain hotel in the wharf as well 2 blocks away where we paid more, were treated like a number, paid a bunch for parking, etc. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If the popular tourist attractions are what brought you to San Francisco, you can't really beat Columbus Motor Inn for location at an extremely reasonable price. We booked for two weeknights at a rate of $125US taxes included. As others have noted, this includes parking which could run you another $20-30 a night in other downtown establishments. The two double beds room was spacious enough for us three, nicely decorated, and very clean. We also were fortunate to have a third floor room facing away from the street with a great view of the Transamerica tower. It's a quiet, small hotel with almost a nice feel of exclusivity. It's only three floors, so if the lone elevator were to ever conk out, it's an easy jaunt up and down the stairs.

The immediate area doesn't have much in terms of restaurants (there is bar next door), but that probably makes it more peaceful compared to Lombard street hotels. It felt safe, which was important to us. A few minutes walk north on Columbus and you're in Little Italy, a little further and it's Chinatown. Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, all the tour bus and cable car stops are within 5-10 minutes walk.

The hotel manager was efficient and helpful.

We would always check the availability of this hotel first the next time we decide to visit San Francisco,

Room Tip: Third floor facing away from Columbus. It's quiet (except when the garbage truck comes down the alley maybe once a week) and you get a nice view of the city rather than a wall.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreeNSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We wanted someplace near the waterfront and tour buses with free parking. This hotel is certainly conveniently located within walking distance to the waterfront, cable car route, the Italian district of SF. The price is excellent for this area. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable and clean. Bedding is very comfortable. No breakfast but there are nice cafés in the area. A great bargain in SF!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews