We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, walk to Pier 39 & Lombard St”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, walk to Pier 39 & Lombard St”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in May 2013, and having researched Trip Advisor prior to booking followed other travellers advice and asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel. We had room 309, it is on the top level and faces a brick wall at the back so no view, but nice and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable, air conditioning was a little noisy but ok. We hardly spent any time in the room though as there is so much to do in San Francisco! We loved the free wifi and free undercover parking at The Columbus. You can walk easily to Pier 39 on level ground, or Lombard St is close by but very steep walk up to the top. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby and a Walgreens just a few minutes walk on Columbus St. Service was pleasant and we had no issues at all during our stay, would definitely recommend and would stay here again if we return to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, rooms at the front have a view of Columbus and passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    561
    105
    24
    12
See reviews for
431
498
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had trouble choosing a place in San Francisco that accommodated our budget, was close to attractions and had parking available and the Columbus Inn was perfect. The room was large and clean, had all the amenities, the location was close to a drug store, Starbucks and grocery plus walking distance to many attraction. Parking was easy and a bonus. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm9695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramerton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We traveled as a family in early June, and the Columbus Motor Inn was an ideal place for us to stay. It was very affordable without being cheap. The accommodations were very clean, parking was free and off the street, and the desk attendants were very helpful. The inn is at a central location close enough to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Ghirardelli Square. Our family would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been here a couple of times. Make sure you ask for a room up front with a view. I could see Coit Tower out of mine. The rooms in the back have a view of a wall but they are quieter, I'm sure.This a budget hotel for SF. But you are a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf and right next to the cable car and bus lines. But better yet, you are just a short walk from all the great Italian restaurant on Columbus St. And you get free parking and wifi. I will stay here any time.

Room Tip: Get a room on the street if you want a view. The rooms in the back were darker but probably quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrBretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stay here every time we visit San Francisco. It is reasonably priced, very clean, close to restaurants, and right on a bus line, We walked to Coit tower and it was a pleasant walk. The staff (especially Joe) was very helpful and always had great recommendations. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patsy_Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked our San Francisco vacation stay at the Columbus Motor Inn because of other travelor's Trip Advisor recommendations. We were pleased to find out it was the perfect place to stay in a pleasant, safe neighborhood. It is located within walking distance of the wonderful restaurants, parks, etc. to the north of the hotel, and the Fisherman's Wharf area with restaurants and various tours locations to the south and east of the hotel. Since San Francisco is a large city and it was our first trip there, it was important to us to be able to casually and easily get around to see what we wanted to see. It is also close to the locations where various tour buses, the trolly, etc. load and unload. The city bus stops right outside of hotel also which is an inexpensive way to get around the city. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff was very helpful and always had great recommendations for any of our questions. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hubby and I went to visit family in San Francisco for one night and needed somewhere that would give us easy access by foot, wouldn't empty our wallets on parking, and offer a comfortable bed and a good night's rest. Columbus Motor Inn met the requirements and I was definitely pleased. This is a great mo/hotel for a short stay. The beds WERE comfortable. The shower was hot. And my husband and I were able to walk everywhere. It's a short distance and a steep hill's walk from Lombard, a nice walk to the Pier 39, and within easy access to tons of excellent restaurants and shops all around Cow Hollow and into Washington Square. Free parking is amazing in a city that averages $40/night anywhere else and there was always an available spot between the main lot and secondary lots. Service was pleasant, even though our only encounters were at check-in and check-out. And the rates were very reasonable. The building itself is showing its age, the amenities are extremely basic, and the room seemed a little dungy to me, but not bad enough to deter me from getting comfortable deep sleep. I was warned that it may be noisy both at night and in the morning, but I experienced neither. Our room was facing Columbus and I didn't start hearing cars until after I was waking up and getting ready for the day. To be fair, it was a Wednesday night... but I didn't have any issues with noise. Overall, our stay at the Columbus Motor Inn could not be beat. We had a great time and were thrilled to be so central to everything for such a fair price. And free parking? Oh heck yes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LA_Neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,985 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
806 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing