We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, clean, on bus line, free parking, Joe - very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean, on bus line, free parking, Joe - very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stay here every time we visit San Francisco. It is reasonably priced, very clean, close to restaurants, and right on a bus line, We walked to Coit tower and it was a pleasant walk. The staff (especially Joe) was very helpful and always had great recommendations. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patsy_Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    554
    103
    22
    12
See reviews for
424
493
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked our San Francisco vacation stay at the Columbus Motor Inn because of other travelor's Trip Advisor recommendations. We were pleased to find out it was the perfect place to stay in a pleasant, safe neighborhood. It is located within walking distance of the wonderful restaurants, parks, etc. to the north of the hotel, and the Fisherman's Wharf area with restaurants and various tours locations to the south and east of the hotel. Since San Francisco is a large city and it was our first trip there, it was important to us to be able to casually and easily get around to see what we wanted to see. It is also close to the locations where various tour buses, the trolly, etc. load and unload. The city bus stops right outside of hotel also which is an inexpensive way to get around the city. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff was very helpful and always had great recommendations for any of our questions. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hubby and I went to visit family in San Francisco for one night and needed somewhere that would give us easy access by foot, wouldn't empty our wallets on parking, and offer a comfortable bed and a good night's rest. Columbus Motor Inn met the requirements and I was definitely pleased. This is a great mo/hotel for a short stay. The beds WERE comfortable. The shower was hot. And my husband and I were able to walk everywhere. It's a short distance and a steep hill's walk from Lombard, a nice walk to the Pier 39, and within easy access to tons of excellent restaurants and shops all around Cow Hollow and into Washington Square. Free parking is amazing in a city that averages $40/night anywhere else and there was always an available spot between the main lot and secondary lots. Service was pleasant, even though our only encounters were at check-in and check-out. And the rates were very reasonable. The building itself is showing its age, the amenities are extremely basic, and the room seemed a little dungy to me, but not bad enough to deter me from getting comfortable deep sleep. I was warned that it may be noisy both at night and in the morning, but I experienced neither. Our room was facing Columbus and I didn't start hearing cars until after I was waking up and getting ready for the day. To be fair, it was a Wednesday night... but I didn't have any issues with noise. Overall, our stay at the Columbus Motor Inn could not be beat. We had a great time and were thrilled to be so central to everything for such a fair price. And free parking? Oh heck yes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LA_Neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

First, the hotel is solid for the money and especially the location. No complaints on the facility. However, we booked on our VISA debit card and paid with another card. $295 dollars is still being held by Columbus Inn and we are on our 14th business day. We were told, you will be told "takes 5-7 business days" - which is already about 4-6 business days longer than it should be in today's transaction environment. It's NOT the amount that stresses us out, it's the verbal mis-information that all the Columbus Inn employees keep relaying, it's inaccurate and shady.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family (parents, oldest brother and I) booked this hotel based on needing at least three beds, separate living areas. This place was priced right (FREE parking), had 3 beds (1 king, 2 doubles) and was a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf! We stayed in 215 (I think, last unit at end of hall). Had a great view of the bustling city but was very noisy when trying to sleep! The room was clean but no 5 star Ritz! We were very pleased with the accommodations and booked based on reviews from others who stayed here. Thanks Columbus Motor Inn for the quick night passing through San Francisco!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCH0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Columbus Motor Inn is better than a motel but not a hotel. It's perfect for the average traveler. There is a coffee maker and blowdryer in the room and you can rent a refrigerator for an extra $5 if you want to. It's a very comfortable place. YOU MUST ASK FOR A ROOM THAT IS NOT, I REPEAT NOT, on the Houston St. side of the hotel. There is a private club next door (Bimbo's) that sometimes has parties at night and they can get loud. Our friends who had a room on the Houston St. side complained that they heard people partying late on Houston St. but I heard nothing, even with my window open. The parking is free at Columbus Motor Inn and that's a great savings. Other places charge a few dollars less, but they charge up to $45 per night for parking. Some other places say they have "limited" parking. So be aware of that. There is ample free parking at this establishment.
I must plug a little hole in the wall burger joint also: Burger Meister at 759 Columbus Avenue. They serve much more than burgers! Their salads are amazing and they have vegetarian fare, too. We found it by chance and were very pleased with the food. You order your food at the counter and they bring it to you. The dining area is very casual.

Room Tip: YOU MUST ASK FOR A ROOM THAT IS NOT, I REPEAT NOT, on the Houston St. side of the hotel. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaD_11
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great little hotel in a wonderful, central location. Walking distance from many attractions. Really safe area. Room was very spacious and very clean. Parking was included. Service was great. Bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing