We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price+location=unbeatable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Motor Inn to your Saves list
Columbus Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Price+location=unbeatable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked after looking over tripadvisor and we wanted a close location to Coit tower. My wife and I were doing an overnight getaway trip to view places the kids wouldn't care to go. Hotel is perfectly located between the pier 39 area and North Beach, both within walking distance. Also the bus stops right in front for going south to North Beach/ Business district. Across the street you can pick up the bus to go to the palace of fine arts for awesome pics. Bus fare is $2 pp for unlimited riding for 90 mins. The 30 and 30x lines go in a loop on Columbus back to near the palace.busses arrive around every 5-15 mins. I reserved a room on the third floor to get a view of Coit tower. Paid 148 total for the night, an incredible deal from what I've researched in the surrounding area. We stayed in room 303 just across from the elevator. We slept fine that night with only light traffic on Columbus ave below us. If your a light sleeper request a room facing the alleyway out back. Room was furnished with a king size bed that was compfy. Never turned on the tv but it looked to be about a 40 in flatscreen. They have free wifi that worked fine. Staff was courteous and we arrived at 0930am they let us park there and said our room would be ready before 3. We walked to the tower, washington park,and had a bite, returning around 1 and it was ready. From our patio the 180 degree view was from north above the pier area, across the top of the lighthouse at Alcatraz, full view of Coit tower, and south down the street to the north beach area. We had to lean out to see the transamerica pyramid. A solid view. The only way it could be better would be to be up a story or two but this is a three story building. If your somewhat fit you can easily walk to all the sights nearby, or take the bus on the cheap. Other places I looked at were starting at $200 and that didn't include parking which could reach 40-50$ a day! This place was free!! I dare you to find a better deal. The room was clean enough though the bathtub could have used a good bleaching. It's not the W or one of the high class hotels near the business district but if you want a good deal on a room for a couple visiting north beach or a family visiting the pier, this place will save you big money for very very little downside. Or go ahead and throw your money away and stay closer at the pier it's up to you. When we come back with the kids we are definitely staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4CacheMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    524
    91
    20
    10
See reviews for
390
458
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family requires a suite when traveling and finding one under $300 in SF was a challenge. This place was great. Extremely quiet (on the backside of the motel), friendly, convenient to all the touristy things and rather nice inside the room. I was surprised that the provided amenities were good. Thick enough towels and good coffee. Only negative was that the air unit was in the main room and the second room didn't have one. So when the second room's door was closed it got stuffy and hot. I highly recommend this place to anyone who doesn't need fancy and does need free parking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Columbus Motor Inn definitely lived up to its ratings. Got into our room very late on a Sunday night and I was very pleased to find a clean, comfortable, fairly large room. We stayed in 312 and it had a small balcony with a great view. The bed was really comfortable as well. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The place is walking distance to the cable cars (2 city blocks) and the wharf (8/10ths of a mile). Parking was free....Yes Free and they allowed us to stay in the garage until 3pm the day we checked out. Overall great experience with the Columbus Motor Inn. Will definitely come back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0rningstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just needed one night during a college tour. I thought this one would work since it was between Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. It is very walkable to the Wharf but we never made it to Chinatown.

We got room 208: a large room with two queens and a couch. The nice thing about this room was the hallway Inside the room. No noise from the hallway as we could not see the door from in the room. We were awakened just before 7am on Saturday morning by a trash truck in the alley dumping bins of bottles from a club called Bimbos that is adjacent to the hotel. Other than that the room was very quiet. Many rooms do not face an alley but they face the side of a building. We had some view of the surrounding neighborhood.

The room was clean, beds comfortable. Not a resort but a good room to explore the city from. Nice than I expected. The parking garage has two levels so stop at the office to find parking if the street level garage is full - and yes the parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Columbus Motor Inn did not disappoint. We were traveling with twin toddlers and this place was perfect! We were within walking distance to the Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39 and North Beach. We had the two queen room and there was plenty of space for all of us. The staff was super friendly (I got a thank you note after leaving a tip for the housekeeping staff- that was a first!) and the place was clean. It is an old hotel and you can tell they tried to renovate some but there is still some peeling wallpaper here and there, but it's very clean. Here's an example... I'm a bit of a germphobe so before my kids sat down at the table to eat I whipped out my trusty Lysol wipes to clean off the table. When I looked at the wipe after thoroughly cleaning the surface there wasn't even a speck of dirt on it. I was very impressed! On a side note, my mom stayed in a two double room and it was also nice but she didn't have any sunshine due to a wall outside her window. She wasn't as happy as I was with my gorgeous view and tons of sunshine. Probably a good idea to request a view. Overall, I was very pleased and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view and if you have more than two people request the two queen room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qmamaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is why I have Trip Advisor on my phone and Ipad! The Columbus Motor Inn lived up to its great ratings. Got into our room late last night, was happy to see a large, clean room with comfortable bed. Wished we could have had more time in area and at Inn. Will definitely come back. It was also great to not have to pay for parking in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doubledisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When traveling with kids, budgets are important and the Columbus Motor Inn worked in our favour. From the free parking, to the clean large rooms, and the proximity to everything, we couldn't have asked for more! All the other hotels would have charged us an arm and a leg for having 3 kids, but the CMI room had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidR594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#28 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,730 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing