We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Friendswood, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a nice, clean, spacious, and conveniently located hotel (lots of restaurants, the wharf, tour buses, MUNI buses, cable cars, Safeway and Trader Joes, Walgreens and a laundrymat all walking distance) and FREE parking to boot. The hotel staff was great, (except one guy I will call Lurch!) very, very friendly. Nice water pressure, the fridge was cold but did not freeze everything solid, lots of room to spread out, comfortable bed. I would stay again.The Wi-Fi totally sucked though (very congested, slow). Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want quiet do not get rooms facing Columbus. The balconies are entertaining though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha6341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    574
    110
    24
    13
See reviews for
442
508
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Columbus Motor Inn was an excellent place to stay. We were only several blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and it was a very easy walk. A bus stopped immediately in front of the hotel, making it easy to move about the city. The Cable Car stop was about two blocks from the hotel. Parking was also free, which in San Francisco is very rare to find if not impossible. The rooms were clean and large. The staff was very friendly and all of them went out of their way to answer our questions. Pat's restaurant is a block away and an excellent place to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeanderingRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom room. Helpful staff, nice clean rooms, with lots of room to spread out. Free parking is also an advantage as is the location. You can easily just walk everywhere you need to go. The only negative is the road is a very busy one and therefore creates some traffic noise but it wasn't overbearing and wouldn't stop us staying again.

Room Tip: 3 rd level rooms may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Friendly staff, free parking, great location, excellent room, fair rates .... that says it all for this convenient and helpful hotel and its staff. The Columbus Motor Inn has sufficient parking for guests of all 45 rooms.

Room Tip: Small hotel (45 rooms) -- no restaurant or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAR6730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I read all of the reviews before booking this hotel. We were going to a 49er game and most hotels were either too expensive or already sold out. This is a gem. The staff was very friendly, the room very large and most important to me, clean, clean, clean! It's a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf. If you like a nightcap after a 49er game, there are several choices right by the hotel. Loved it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Settles1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the end of October - great location for exploring San Fran. Walking distance to the Wharf area (without the goofy hotel prices) and also easy walk to the North Beach area and all the great restaurants there. The trolley turn around is in walking distance as well so we were able to hop on that & go over & spend some time in another area of the city. Room was great, bed comfortable, front desk employees were great about recommending area restaurants. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in room 208. A large room that was very clean and well maintained.
Pros: Free parking garage, hair dryer, coffee maker, BEAUTIFUL furniture, safe, iron & ironing board, free WiFi, 47 in. LG LCD TV, quiet air conditioner, large sofa with a table & chairs. Great location to shopping & Fisherman's Wharf.
Cons: No breakfast or dining, no refrigerator or microwave, no laundry facilities on site
The location and price make this a very good value. We paid $175 for the first nights, and $100 each of the next two nights. Be aware - there is NO smoking allowed in the rooms, and they are serious. My wife smokes, but I can't stand it. On arrival, we asked if smoking was allowed in the garage area, and it was. She only smoked in the garage area, but on our final bill, we had an additional $75 charge for smoking in the room. Apparently, the smell on her clothes was enough for them to assume there was smoking in the room. To the hotel's credit, when I contested the charge, they dropped it from the bill without much argument.
We were within walking distance of Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Alcatraz Tours and Russian Hill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
823 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,128 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing