We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 4 nights here on our holiday from Scotland. The location is great within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf, little Italy, the crookedest street and the cable cars stop. Felt safe walking around area after dark. Friendly staff, safe easy parking. Rooms clean and large with all you could need for a four day stay. The only negative thing to say is the decor is slightly dated but then that doesn't really matter if the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Would definately stay here again if we travel to San Francisco again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smeegleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    575
    110
    24
    13
See reviews for
442
508
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent 2 nights here after my daughters wedding in Santa Rosa..Immediately impressed by friendly staff. Easy walking distance to Little Italy,Fisherman's Wharf, The crookedest street and cable cars. Easy free parking and safe area..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and I just spent 3 nights in a suite at Columbus Motor Inn. This place is in such a great location, definately within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Little Italy and North Beach areas.

Check in was quick and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our suite was clean and larger than expected. One room had a queen, main room had a king. There were 2 TVs which was good for our young daughters. We had requested to have a fridge in our room which was $5 per day and as there is a Walgreens just a couple of blocks from the hotel, we stocked the fridge! They don't have a restaurant at the hotel but that wasn't a problem. There are soda vending machines at the hotel.

We found the ticket booth for the hop on, hop off bus not too far from the hotel so that gave us easy access to Union Square and Golden Gate Bridge. And with Fisherman's Wharf not far away, this location couldn't have been better! Cable cars and buses are also close by too.

Have a car? - FREE PARKING!!!! A huge plus!!

Would DEFINATELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandBMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a San Francisco vacation! The decor is somewhat dated, but all we cared about was that it was clean,quiet, and safe.Our double queen room was roomy and comfortable. Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, close to cable car stops and buses. A hidden gem for a reasonable San Francisco price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phirephighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Do I really need to say more?
This is an anomaly in San Francisco, unheard of, but no, it is true.
And what a fantastic location! Right on the edge of Little Italy, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf…
Most of the top must see and do places are within walking distance. Or you can jump on a cable car or even the local bus.
Now, there’s nothing fancy about this place, very basic hotel. They do not offer any type of food service, but that’s okay, just take a look around, there’s plenty of great places nearby.
We strongly recommend this hotel while in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise and close to the Wharf! Free parking is a wonderful perk! Our room was clean and spacious. The small balcony was so sweet! The staff were very friendly as we were quite tired and had our room ready!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy from MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second visit to San Francisco and we didn't hesitate to re-book Columbus Motor Inn - we think we even ended up staying in the same room! It's in a great location, within walking distance of a lot of the main areas to visit. The room was getting a little dated, but very spacious and clean. One of the main reasons we originally stayed here was for the complimentary parking, which there was plenty of. Taking this and the room rate into account, this hotel is great value for money and we'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,136 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
94 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing