We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Definetly Recommend it, Best deal for San Francisco Pier Area”
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francisco Bay Inn
Ranked #149 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The price is great, 99.00 weekdays, 179 weekends, Great deal, EXTREMELY CLEAN, Comfy beds, This area is so darn expensive and we had a hard time finding something reasonable. This place is nice for the money, Really close to the pier and attractions are all relatively close, drive 4 blocks east and you run right into lombard street. Free parking allowed us to use the car every day, breakfast is primitive but ok if you like muffins and a donut, Coffee is really good though. Just note the picture of the room on the net is the larger room, NOT the ones on the upper floors, Be careful there! We got the smaller room and we told them and they immediately put us in room 101 next to the office. People are nice and I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 559 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

The room was clean, but very poky. Good location to Fisherman's Wharf and easy access to public transport. Not a lot of facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I really think that if you consider yourself in the category of high maintenance or easily complains, you might not want to stay here. I can understand why some people would give bad reviews. But honestly the place isn't bad at all. If you want something spectacular, go stay somewhere else. I had my reservations about the bad reviews. But upon getting there, the place was not bad at all.

There was free parking, our only interaction with the front desk was checking in and checking out. We had iphones and a map, and that figured out the rest for us. Theres a really nice breakfast place to the west of Lombard called Cafe Golo to go eat. The room was ample sized, we had two beds. The beds were comfy. There was an odd smell at first, but it quickly went away as the room aired out. The bathroom was very large and very clean. Im a very light sleeper and thought the noise would bother me, but it really wasnt bad compared to how it could have been. I thought we would be hearing the fog horn all night. But that was not the case at all. Just cars driving fast, which would happen anywhere! I do recommend that you avoid the elevator though. Its tiny and confusing. The room we had, had a microwave and mini fridge in it. A large TV with cable too.

You can walk two or three blocks up the hill and go to the crooked part of Lombard street, you can also catch a trolley there. We found lots of yummy places to eat a little down south around Polk and Union. You're within walking distance to the Fishermans Wharf, which is then walking distance to North beach and Chinatown. We took a bus very close from the Inn into Union Square. I think several buses ran back to the hotel also though. We did drive to the Mission area and to Golden Gate park because it was a little further away.

If you have no problem paying more somewhere else, go ahead. But we really enjoyed staying at this place because it had everything we needed, and the price was probably the best we could find that wasn't horrible. We booked through staysf.com and all the other similar Inns had pretty good reviews. Just depends on where you want to stay and how much you want to pay. I dont think Id have a problem staying here again if I had to!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chikizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We read some negative reviews here so weren't sure what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised - the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped and the location excellent. There was some traffic noise, but not to an extent that it stopped us sleeping. Service was fine though we didn't have any problems to deal with. Free parking was a bonus. We didn't spend much time in the hotel itself but it was a great base to explore San Francisco from - walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf area if you want the touristy stuff and 0-2 blocks from 3 or 4 excellent bus routes into downtown and out towards the Golden Gate bridge. We didn't use our car the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I was really dissapointed with this hotel. It was outrageously overpriced but we booked late and this was all that was left in the area. The front desk was unprofessional and the rooms left a lot to be desired. I'll stay at a Travelodge or Motel 6 before I stay here again. I'm not hard to please but this place was terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smashingyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

You get what you pay for here... the room smelled like old wet weather (what you would expect from a hotel near the bay I suppose). Once you get used to the smell, it's hard to ignore the sound of the upstairs neighbor's toilet flushing and the subsequent water trickling down the pipes in your walls- maybe someone just forgot to insulate the pipes? The bed was terribly uncomfortable. Of course, there's no place like home, but we could feel the springs in the mattress- we would have expected more from a "newly renovated" room. Another frustration- the "free wireless internet" as advertised was something we counted on to be able to plan our daily activities, find directions, restaurants etc, and the internet does not work. The only page we were able to bring up on our laptop was the Francisco Bay Inn home page, which never even full loaded.
Pros: The bathroom was clean, the parking was free, the staff was friendly enough, and we didn't have to sleep out in the cold on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

So I went there and I was not expecting much but I did not pay much so that's allright. The thing that bug me the most was the day prior to leaving I asked if they could CALL me a taxi to take me to the airport the next morning. So the next morning I check out and I realize that they did not call a taxi for me but they scheduled an employee to take me to the airport with his filthy car and charge 50$ cash ( that's illegal by the way in SFO ). So I had to call a REAL taxi driver to take me to the airport and it cost me 40$ instead, and the cab was clean. Other than that if you're only looking for a place to stay for a night it's not too bad has long as you take care of calling a taxi yourself. But if you're looking to go there with your girlfriend on vacation you should look elsewhere.

By the way there is a 25$ deposit when you check in .

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeromenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
840 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
772 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#137 of 230 in San Francisco
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing