We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“July 4th and July 5th 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francisco Bay Inn
Ranked #143 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“July 4th and July 5th 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights.
The staff at this hotel is soooo friendly and nice!! The hotel itself is dated but clean (who cares if the furniture is from the 80s, if the room is clean, who really cares?).
Great location!! About a 15 minute walk to The Buena Vista (yummy Irish Coffee) and Ghiardelli Square and about 20 minutes to the Wharf. 2 Blocks away from the "crookedest street in the world." Which we walked back to the hotel from one night...UPHILL!!! LOL
The parking is free which is a bonus. It does get a little cramped so be patient, most people are very accomodating and move their car if you need to get out.
As for the noise, it is a little noisy since this hotel is right on Lombard Street. They know this so they leave earplugs in the room if you want to use them. The noise did not bother me one bit.
The shower pressure was excellent!! And the bathroom was very clean.
The wifi was a little spotty and not great.. but it made us spend more time having fun and exploring then being on the web!!
The FREE Breakfast was ok, it was danishes, coffee, juice, nothing crazy, just enough to get you going in the morning (I dont understand people who complain and base their negative comments on a FREE breakfast...smh).
Overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay here... the price is great, free parking, a clean hotel and a friendly staff!! If you want updated furniture, spend four hundred a night, and pay thirty dollars a night for pakring, and stay at the hotels down by the wharf. This is perfect, clean and affordable :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    174
    129
    62
    68
See reviews for
118
153
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked through Hotels.com and got a reasonable rate, given how expensive San Francisco is. The room was a decent size, although on reflection we should have booked the two room family suite, we were 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom was very spacious and the whole unit was clean and well presented.
The complimentary breakfast was a little limited but it was handy to fuel up before hitting the sights. The booking blurb suggested that Fisherman's Wharf was within walking distance and it was, generally the location of the property was excellent.
We took room 432 which was a corner room on the top floor very convenient for the (incredibly slow) lift. Our only compliant was the very poor wifi service. This was complimentary but had no signal strength in our room.
We'd certainly recommend a stay here, it was a cool place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved the hotel clean rooms, and great customer service. They also provide free breakfast, and free wifi. And most important free parking in and out available. I will definitely be going back soon.
It is close to Fisherman's Wharf. Price is good not that expensive why stay at a high cost hotel if you can use that money on all the activities at Pier 39.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's obvious they're trying to make the place better, but it still falls short. Decor is terribly outdated, but the bedspreads and curtains are fairly new. Room and bathroom were very clean, but the sinks and vanity were in very poor cosmetic condition. Advertised wi-fi barely worked - I could get a few emails but no websites would work on iPad or Kindle. Coffee in the morning was instant (really!) with pastries and packaged oatmeal and toast. The location was relatively convenient to visiting Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, but it was still a 20 minute walk to any decent restaurants. The staff was pleasant and the room was a decent size (4th floor, yes there was a view of the GG bridge from the outdoor hallway, but our room had a view of the roof of the neighboring building. Noisy with windows open, but they provided earplugs in the room. Yes, parking was free (a huge plus) but don't try to fit in a larger car. The worst of all were the beds - I could literally feel the springs and had to sleep with a pillow under my hips for support. Sheets are cheep, yet the bathroom towels were not bad. Overall, a really mixed bag. We actually had reservations (and had paid for) two nights, but left to go back home by mid-afternoon...I couldn't handle sleeping another night in that bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Mokena, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a long weekend in May. The room was spacious, clean and conveniently located. We were able to pick up public transportation a block away (a plus since we didn't rent a car) and we had many helpful suggestions from the front desk personnel on how to get places such as Chinatown, the Giants ballpark, Golden Gate Bridge etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I forgot it was a holiday weekend and graduations on top of it, so when I tried booking hotel rooms for a reasonable price, I was having a really difficult time finding anything that wasn't totally creepy for under $200/night. After four hours of searching, I found this hotel and grabbed it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised! While not the Ritz, it was definitely acceptable, and even though it is located on a very busy street, once you close the windows, the noise level goes down considerably. My husband and I stayed there four nights and were quite comfortable. The bed, linens, shower stream were all of good quality. The front desk staff were very accommodating. The free parking is a big plus in that city! The negatives were the breakfast foods and coffee, yuk! And the water temperature kept varying while showering, so that was a little annoying. Some young people came in around 1 AM and continued partying in the parking lot and on the walkways by our doors for about an hour, but I guess that wasn't the hotel's fault. Otherwise, our stay was certainly acceptable. I would go back.

Room Tip: Third floor is away from the noise a little more. I would request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0ria777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Upon checking into this hotel I was told a deposit of $25 was necessary and would be charged seperate from the room. Also that this deposit would be refunded in about two weeks after checking out. I checked out on January 14, 2014, have emailed them three times with no response, today is May 29, 2014. The room was adequate, the sweet rolls and coffee did not qualify as breakfast. Beware of this "deposit scam".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#177 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Property: Francisco Bay Inn
Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing