We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, good location, clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Francisco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Francisco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
morro bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dated, good location, clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I forgot it was a holiday weekend and graduations on top of it, so when I tried booking hotel rooms for a reasonable price, I was having a really difficult time finding anything that wasn't totally creepy for under $200/night. After four hours of searching, I found this hotel and grabbed it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised! While not the Ritz, it was definitely acceptable, and even though it is located on a very busy street, once you close the windows, the noise level goes down considerably. My husband and I stayed there four nights and were quite comfortable. The bed, linens, shower stream were all of good quality. The front desk staff were very accommodating. The free parking is a big plus in that city! The negatives were the breakfast foods and coffee, yuk! And the water temperature kept varying while showering, so that was a little annoying. Some young people came in around 1 AM and continued partying in the parking lot and on the walkways by our doors for about an hour, but I guess that wasn't the hotel's fault. Otherwise, our stay was certainly acceptable. I would go back.

Room Tip: Third floor is away from the noise a little more. I would request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0ria777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    167
    118
    58
    66
See reviews for
110
143
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Upon checking into this hotel I was told a deposit of $25 was necessary and would be charged seperate from the room. Also that this deposit would be refunded in about two weeks after checking out. I checked out on January 14, 2014, have emailed them three times with no response, today is May 29, 2014. The room was adequate, the sweet rolls and coffee did not qualify as breakfast. Beware of this "deposit scam".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was great and the tour bus stops outside the hotel. We had a view from our room of the Golden Gate Bridge which was fab. The only downside to this hotel was the WiFi in our room. It was very weak if it worked at all. Overall this hotel was nice and clean in a good safe location with great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Francisco Bay Inn for two nights following our cruise. The hotel is dated but that is really the only negative thing I can say. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. The room like I said was dated but was very clean. We had absolutely no issues with cleanliness. We requested a feather free room and that is what we got and an added touch was that when we returned to the room for the evening they had brought in extra blankets without us requesting them. The location of the hotel is good for such things as Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 but a bit of a hike to Chinatown, Nob Hill and other such places. I can't say much about the continental breakfast as there was not much there to say anything about. Overall the price was great and the value for the dollar was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A lot of problems can be covered when a hotel has a good location and a good price, especiallly in pricey San Francisco. The Francisco Bay Inn at 1501 Lombard Street, has both. It's only a few blocks from Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. The price was reasonable for San Francisco. The room was small but adequate. Other rooms in the complex were somewhat larger than ours. The bathroom was surprisingly roomy, intended to accomodate a wheelchair. The breakfast buffet consisted of pastries and coffee, maybe a little orange juice. The donuts, croissants, and cinnamon rolls (in celophone wrap) were all quite delicious and fresh, but not a very nutritious breakfast by any means.

Upon checking in, we found the TV cable wasn't set up right so no TV the first night. It was fixed the next morning. Also, we had two big suitcases but there was only one stand to support them in the room. We asked for a second folding stand the first night. Again, "we'll take care of it tomorrow." The room clerk seemed to be the only employee on hand in the evenings. The stand turned up the next morning as promised. The free WiFi was slow and erratic, at best (not to mention frustrating)..

The physical layout is this place's worst problem. The two wings are on two different levels. The third floor of the older wing, where we were, is four steps BELOW the third floor of the newer wing. Two different hydraulic elevators server these two levels. One is old and quite slow. The other elevator is newer and larger. The smaller elevator will barely contain the one and only luggage cart (unloaded). As I had the cart loaded, it would not fit at all. So I had to push the cart across the sloping parking lot (everything slopes in San Francisco) to the larger elevator, rise up, wheel it along the third floor balcony, then carry each of several bags down four steps to our room.

The parking lot is inadequate even without two spaces apparently being rented for two panel trucks for sale (one parked in a handicap spot). We used the other handicap parking spot. The place was clean, the staff (limited as it was) seemed was friendly and helpful. As I was checking out I suggested they invest in a second luggage cart. All other efforts to fix their inherent problems would be considerably more costly. The room went for $130 per night. Other area botique motels were somewhat higher or had less favorable locations.

Room Tip: Seek a room on the upper level facing Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The people were very nice and helpful. It was an ok hotel and the price is good. If your tall you want like the showers. My husband is 5'9 and had to squat to wash his hair. I am 5'4 and hit my head on the shower head a few times. Breakfast is pastry and doughnuts. Fruit is on the weekends only. Doughnuts are good but wish they had a healthier choice. Overall it is good place for the price. The decor of the rooms is outdated but clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ateegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hi guys, I stayed in the hotel back in 2010, they have a good location, just a couple of blocks from the Fisherman Wharf and on Lombard Street. Free parking lot, that is important in a city like SF. The hotel has a great wifi connection in each room, the breakfast it wasn't too good but there are lost of places to grab some food around the hotel. The hotel staff are good people they helped me to coordinate a full day tour in Sillicon Valley. I was able to visit the Apple Store in Cupertino and the Intel Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlonjuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#140 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#105 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#81 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#166 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#75 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Property: Francisco Bay Inn
Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing