We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly without the frills”
Review of Amsterdam Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel
Ranked #39 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012. I paid a bit extra ($125 per night incl tax) for double room to myself with my own bathroom in the room. The room was old fashioned and not pretty but it was clean. The bed was fine. My room was under downstairs and near the stairs so i could hear people moving around the hostel but it wasn't too noisy.

The location is ok, its not in the ghetto but you're never too far from one in SF. Its about 15 mins walk from Market so its close enough to the crazies but far enough away that you would feel relatively safe in the area at night.

I talked with a few of the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The cleaner wasnt so friendly but i was checking out almost 2 hours late so i was delaying her (Other than the cleaner, nobody seemed to mind that i was checking out so late and i didn't incur any late fee).

All in all, i would go back to this hostel as it was cheap, clean and had friendly staff.

Room Tip: I didn't see the dorms but the private rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 284 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in a four-bed dorm - the bedroom and attached bathroom were clean. The room wasn't huge, but I didn't have trouble moving around. Big lockers were also provided (without locks) so you can keep your stuff safe. Beds were pretty comfortable, and the room was pretty quiet.

The only slight downside is the make-your-own-pancakes breakfast which meant the queue could get pretty long if you got to the kitchen at the wrong time. That said, the pancakes were pretty decent and you can have as many as you like so it was filling enough.

Location is fantastic - just a short walk away from Union Square, BUT the hostel is located on a pretty steep hill so consider yourself warned if you have tonnes of stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not much to say here really. The room was pretty dirty and the hostel itself smelt like a mixture of urine and cleaning detergent. The breakfast was decent and provided us with a good start to the day. The bedroom was comfortable, albeit dirty. The ensuite bathroom was much better than I thought it would be. The location of the hostel is its most attractive feature - a lot of previous reviews said that the hill was a killer. However, it really wasn't that bad.

All in all, summed up as average. Not great, but not terrible.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Amsterdam hostel is in a good location - but that is the only positive.

We paid $32 for 3 week nights in a dorm room.

The first night myself and my friend were split into two rooms due to overbooking.

The second night we were not allowed into our room until 2.30p having had to check out at 10am!

Prices appeared to vary depending on who you are. Which was frustrating.

The bunk beds are ridiculously and dangerously high with no ladder and no barriers. You had to practically take a run and jump to get onto one.

The staff are unhelpful.

Don't waste your money. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Disgusting! Went to my twin room in the bowels of the building for a privilege of $85 per night, paid in advance with no opportunity to view. Two single hospital beds awaited me, furniture from the dumpster, a red facecloth and a kids beach towel. My view in the small window was a pile of mattresses left outside. I then went to Starbucks, sat and contemplated and for safety, security and peace of mind, decided to forgo what I'd paid and book somewhere else. For the $25 dollars more I acquired an immaculate double double room with ensuite, safe for valuables, crisp white linen, working TV etc. The Amsterdam is preying on the young and inexperienced travel off to see the world for the first time or the person who's given up on life. I would not recommend putting my dog there for the price when there are so many other motels around offering the basics for much less.... My friend didn't even get the opportunity to see the squalor as she managed to get there later and didn't have to experience the ordeal. I was promised one night refund but I see nothing on my bank statement.... so guess trusting the word of someone on a desk is a learning experience. :-(

Room Tip: Sorry there was no swimming pool! Except maybe the puddle made by the rusty old shower if it worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hostel is located on Nob Hill. It's great to explore San Francisco.
But there is not a lotmore good reasons to pick this hostel.
The free breakfast sounded great. What you;ll find is a pancake mix.
You will have to do pancakes with Maple syrup everyday. Some cereal or something would be a great alternative.
We stayed 7 nights in the same room and there was nobody who even vacuumed the floor or clean the bathroom. Our room was located in the basement and it got really cold the two nights temperatures dropped below 50 (outside). We could fix that with some more blankets.
The service is good. They are nice and help you right away if you have a question.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hostel is situated quite close to Union Square and a cable car ride to fishermans wharf (which is great fun). Hostel is located up a few hills but that is the story of the city. To get anywhere you have to climb hills. The dorms were specious with a bathroom which was good. Staff were friendly and the facilities including laundry facilities were good.
The only negatives about this hostel was that despite being pretty warm outside they kept the radiators on for hours and hours which made the rooms like ovens with no air con. The bunk beds were also fairly dangerous. They have no rail to oprevent you falling off the top bunk and ladder to climb up. You have to be very athletic to climb on the top bunk because of your not you quite simply can't get up there.
To summarise good location despite lots of homeless in the surrounding vacinity, good staff and facilities, if your a good climber I would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Bottom bunk if possible as you have to be an athlete to get up to the very high top bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Mission District
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#31 of 72 in San Francisco
13 reviews
SoMa
Winsor Hotel
Winsor Hotel
#30 of 72 in San Francisco
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orange Village Hostel
#14 of 54 in San Francisco
259 reviews
SoMa
Inn On Folsom
Inn On Folsom
#42 of 72 in San Francisco
49 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel

Address: 749 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3897 (Formerly AAE Amsterdam San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $31 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing