We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a small jewel within the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #32 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a small jewel within the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

This hotel is something really special: so colourful, with palms and an inviting pool in the courtyard. The hotel is located near Lombard street, but not too close to get its noise. The breakfast is served in the courtyard (one critical point: there are not enough chairs, when the hotel is full). The location is perfect to discover every sight in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family-discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    410
    133
    35
    13
See reviews for
410
266
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Del Sol is another great hotel in the JDV Hotel Chain. We loved staying in the Marina District, which is close to the great food and shopping on Union Street. Like all the JDV hotels, The Del Sol is decorated nicely....so bright and cheery. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We loved not having to pay for parking, which can run $30 to $35 per day downtown. The free breakfast of coffee, juice, bagels, muffins, oatmeal and yogurt is also a huge plus! We bought some fruit around the corner at a Market called Real Food that we added to the hotel's breakfast offerings. We stayed in a junior suite, which had a separate bedroom as well as a pull out couch. The couch bed was not that comfortable so my son slept on the actual couch (not pulled out) and said it was cozy. They gave us a roll away for my daughter. The bed in bedroom was very comfortable with very nice sheets and bedding. The bathroom came equipped with shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion that all smelled really good. The hotel is also pet friendly. There was a CLEAN dog bed and filled water bowl in our room when we arrived. Finally, the staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families. I have also stayed at JDV Hotels, The Rex and Hotel Vitale . Those are also great, especially The Vitale, if you have a little more money to spend. You can check out all the JDV Hotels at JDVhotels.com

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Hotel del Sol is obviously a former relative of the "motor inns" on Lombard Street, a block away, and the surrounding area. However, the cheerful, colorful face-lift it was given really makes it stand out. We had a junior suite, which has a queen bed in the bedroom, a small living room with pull out couch and a bathroom with a shower. My teenage daughter slept on the pullout and she complained that it wasn't comfortable, but most kids would probably be OK with it. The queen bed was perfectly comfortable. There's a bit of traffic noise, but it wasn't so excessive that we couldn't sleep with the windows open and enjoy the cool night breeze. The hotel is immaculately clean and the staff is helpful, friendly and efficient. There's free wireless internet and cable TV without a huge selection of channels, but when there's so much to do and see in San Francisco, who wants to sit and watch TV any way. The continental breakfast is OK, but the coffee served with it is excellent. I was expecting the use the pool, but even though it was the end of June, the weather was not warm enough for me. Only a few hardy children seemed to be swimming. They should not let gargantuan SUV's park in the small courtyard parking spaces. One somehow got in next to our Volvo and we could barely get into/out of the car. The location is fantastic for exploring Pacific Heights, Cow Hollow and the Marina district on foot, bring comfortable shoes. There are really good restaurants and shops nearby. Check out Union Street. (I highly recommend the Brazen Head on the corner of Buchannan and Greenwich - only a block away.) I recommend the Hotel del Sol for anyone looking for a casual atmosphere in San Francisco.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank phillykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I was traveling alone with my 2 little kids last week, and we stayed at the Hotel Del Sol because it had great rates, free parking and a great location for our purposes. It's basically one of the old motor courts that got a FIESTA face lift! It's bright and happy, with music playing in the courtyard. When we checked in they gave my kids these little bags full of fun stuff like sunglasses and bubbles, which made them very happy. They have good coffee and tea in the lobby and a free continental breakfast. The rooms are pretty small and simple, but modern and cutely done. They have DVD and VCR players in every room, and they have a cabinet in the lobby with movies and games you can borrow for free. My kids were very happy with this! The afternoon and evening staff were especially nice and helpful.
Free parking is a major bonus. If you're traveling with kids, you should know that not every room has a tub, so you should ask when you book. Also, there's a great playground 2 blocks away on Chestnut, and there's a terrific cafe right around the corner on Greenwich (Abigail's). There's also an IHOP 3 blocks away and a Mel's Diner 3 blocks away. I noticed there's a bike rental place right on Lombard too.
Anyway, it's not fancy, but it's very cute and it's a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeinlimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

The real selling points of this hotel are its location and the free parking. The updated motel has free parking underneath the rooms and we parked on arrival and didn't need to move our car until we left after 3 nights.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming and offers a very basic breakfast to get you started in the morning. There was no computer to check the internet, so you need to go to the Marina Public Library in Chestnut Street a few minutes walk away - limited opening hours though.

We had a corner room overlooking Webster Street and it was quite noisy with the windows open, so we had to sleep with them closed. The room was large, with a large walk-in cupboard where we stored all our suitcases. There is only a shower, no bath tub.

It is a very easy walk to Chestnut Street where you can catch the number 30 bus (on the corner of Webster and Chestnut Streets - look for the yellow marking on the lamp post). This bus takes you to Ghiradelli Square, Fishermans Wharf, Columbus Avenue (with all its Italian restaurants), Chinatown and Market Street. The number 28 bus on Lombard street goes to the Golden Gate bridge and the Golden Gate Park. Get a MUNI pass and hop on and off the buses, cable cars and trams all day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoOxontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Loved staying here. Very clean, colorful rooms with bright, funky furniture. Set up like a motor inn, with parking underneath your room. Staff friendly. A bit on the noisy side but more than tolerable. Outstanding location for what we wanted to do. Great value as well!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chbarnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

This motel is as advertised. Great location, colorful decor, covered parking, pleasant rooms, cookies in the afternoon all good. We had no problem with the overflow parking -- actually preferred it to the tight spots in the courtyard. My only problem was the price -- Sunday night $160, Monday and Tuesday $120. It seemed about $20-$30 over priced for what you get... the breakfast is modest, courtyard can be noisy, no bathtubs in the rooms. We would consider going back because of the great location, easy walk to Union Street and Chestnut Street shopping.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intheshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#27 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing