We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #48 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel does the little things to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. There is a small continental breakfast in the morning milk and cookies in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the room itself was comfortable. We had a room with a pull out couch in the front room and a double bed in a separate room. The mattress on the couch bed was the only negative of the room as it was thin. This room also fit a roll away bed. While the bathroom was small, it was fine. The room style and the overall hotel style was great. As far as location it is a good walk to the waterfront (Ghirardelli Square), however this hotel is located in a fabulous neighborhood. Within 4 blocks are great restaurants and interesting shops. It is worth exploring. The hotel offers parking at $10/day. Bargain. The wifi is free and it was ok. The heated pool and hammocks are other extras of this fun hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. I'm also glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    434
    153
    42
    18
See reviews for
465
289
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved staying at the Hotel Del Sol, in San Francisco, CA. Would stay there again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast,convenient and delicious. Comfy rooms and located in a wonderful district, walking distance to some very nice restaurants and shopping. Would recommend to all my friends. Thank you, Oscar, for all of your tips about getting around in San Francisco, and your help when checking in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylife66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable! I'm also glad to know that Oscar assisted you at check-in and gave you some good tips on what to see in the city!

It seems like our convenient location and complimentary breakfast made your stay a memorable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family with 3 teenagers loved the hip, young vibe of the Hotel del Sol. Our rooms (family suites) were spacious, clean, comfortable and colorful. The breakfast was convenient and delicious. The location could not be better with Union St. shops and restaurants and the Marina Green/Golden Gate views both a few minutes on foot. We would stay here again anytime!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our heated outdoor pool and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

It seems like our convenient location, complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast made your stay a memorable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This small clean adorably furnished hotel was once an old motor lodge. But it has been refurbished and redone in a fun clean way. Comfy and close to Cow Hollow with it's strips of lovely restaurants, funky shops, and mass transit (best bus system anywhere), it also proved to be walking district to the Presidio and the water. The staff was charming and helpful, the morning breakfasts simple but ample. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Green Features: We were so impressed by the recycling, the biodegradable flatwear, and the requests to conserve water. Bravo!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well furnished. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Located in a excellent spot in town, the hotel has nice and clean room, great hospitality. The Breakfast is simple but is all you need for starting the day.

Mr Oscar is the frontdesk man and he is a very very very nice person, Thanks Mr Oscar for all the great tips and the patience.

SF is an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUS_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

I will certainly pass your comments along to Oscar!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

the room was clean, the staff was very nice, and the parking very inexpensive. plenty of nice bars and restaurants close by. the area of the hotel put us within easy walking distance of several things we wanted to see. i hope to get back to san fran and i would stay here again in a heartbeat. all positives.

Room Tip: we were in a corner unit by the stairs and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rykkinn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Greeted by the most friendly man in reception the start was very good. As a family of five you should consider statying other place as the ved provided by the sleeping couch was poorly. The Internett speed also varys, we were unlucky and far from reception so our internett wasn't working for most of the time. Other than that, a good place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MortenMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our Front Desk Staff was friendly and helpful! I'm disappointed to hear that your internet connection was spotty and that your sofa bed mattress was not as comfortable as expected. I will certainly forward your comments to our General Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,015 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
677 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
484 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
959 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing