We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #39 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good experience”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The place was nice. The staff (Oscar again!) knew their city and were very friendly. Great location. The room was clean. My biggest gripe is that we reserved from Expedia who advertised free parking. We chose this place specifically because of this but were surprised on check-out day to have to pay an extra $50 for the parking. Their response was simply that they've been attempting to remove that info from Expedia. No mention of honoring the promised rate or even a discount of some sort. Disappointing way to leave an otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tneeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always look forward to and appreciate feedback from our guests!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Oscar was able to provide knowledgeable information regarding San Francisco and the sights it has to offer! I'm also glad to know that your room was clean and comfortable!

Regarding your comments about parking, the Hotel has a $10 plus tax parking charge as of January 1, 2014, however if a written confirmation is presented stating complimentary parking, we are happy to honor that and remove the charge from your statement!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and I hope this isolated incident did not mar your opinion of the Hotel. Please contact me directly if I can answer any other question.

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
(415) 921-5520
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    431
    147
    37
    18
See reviews for
456
281
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very comfortable, well-located hotel in Cow Hollow, close to Union Street and the Marina District. Front desk people exceptionally friendly and accomodating. We stayed on St. Patrick's Day weekend, and had some loud neighbors which was a bit of a distraction/annoyance. Room was clean but outside premises a bit dirty. Onsite parking for $10 was key in this busy area, especially on this weekend. Enjoyed the breakfast and coffee--informal and simple, but just fine. Place has a warm, family friendly feel. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always look forward to and appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, on Union and Chestnut streets. I'm also glad to know that our complimentary breakfast made your stay even better. I'm disappointed to hear about the noisy neighbors during your stay. I have passed your comments on to the General Manager.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel del Sol is perfect to explore San Francisco. You don't need your car. Everything is reachable per bus or ped. The staff (Oscar) is very friendly! He show us the best restaurants. See you again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Markus511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always look forward to and appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Oscar was able to guide you in the right direction for a great meal in the area. I'm also glad that our convenient location mare your stay even more memorable.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our room wasn't clean. The breakfast was a joke, worse than $20 hostels. The free parking is only good till 12:00noon the next day, which is fair enough given that's checkout time but it was pretty inconvenient for us since we were spending the day in the area. The location is excellent but I wish we'd stayed at one of the 4 star hotels in the area for just a little more money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank peezahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always look forward to and appreciate guest feedback!

I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I have personally spoken with our Housekeeping Manager regarding your comments about your room not being as clean as expected.

Our Complimentary Continental Breakfast is just meant as something small to get your day started, with fresh local pastries and bagels delivered daily. Regarding parking, while we would love to offer our parking spaces until later on in the afternoon, we have to make room for our arriving guests and therefore can only offer the spaces until check-out time, which is 12 noon.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and hopefully we can welcome you back for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was in San Francisco for business and I stumbled across Hotel Del Sol. The owners took a 1970's motel and turned it into a very nice, cozy boutique hotel. The rooms are simple but very nice and comfortable. The rooms are very well maintained. The hotel staff is very nice and accommodating, every morning serving a continental breakfast and fresh cookies in the afternoon.
The only thing I did not like about the hotel was the shower. The hotel has water savers on the showers, which I can understand water conservation is important however the sink put out more water than the shower did. There was barely enough water pressure to wash the shampoo out o my hair. Otherwise, I loved the hotel, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysGl0beTr0tting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always look forward to and appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be comfortable and well maintained! I'm disappointed to learn that the water pressure in your room was less than satisfactory. I will certainly pass your comments on to our Maintenance Manager for review.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We loved our stay in this very nice hotel. Nice and confortable rooms, drive in and breakfast. Location is perfect (not so mainstream) and staff (Oscar) is very friendly. It's also has a swimming pool, that our boys really enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our convenient location and friendly staff made your stay even more memorable. I'm glad to know that your kids enjoyed our heated pool!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Del Sol whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Enjoyed my 2nd stay at Hotel Del Sol and it was as good as my last stay here. It was a rainy weekend in SF, but the hotel was bright and cheery and the location to wonderful shops and high quality dining was perfect. Grabbed an umbrella and we took a romantic stroll up the street and it is all right there. The helpful staff led us to the right restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner and maps to points of interest around the area to easily drive to.
Convenient parking at the hotel at no extra charge is part of the charm of this 60's modern hotel.
Charming and convenient, clean and hospitable, the price was right too.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that your second stay with us was as good of an experience as your first! I'm also glad that the rain didn't stop you from visiting some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Del Sol whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
1,003 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
941 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing