We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling Clean and Absolutely Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay a few days at The Hotel Del Sol and we couldn't have been more pleased ... the Front Desk Staff were exceptional, providing maps of the area including good restaurants to try ... our room was sparkling clean, the contential breakfast was good, we so enjoyed the coffee and freshly baked cookies ... it was a great experience and we are looking forward to returning in the new year ..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate guest feedback and look forward to ways of improving our service!

I'm glad hear that our convenient location and complimentary continental breakfast made your stay more enjoyable! I'm also happy to know that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I hope you had a chance to visit some of the many excellent restaurants within walking distance of the property, on Chestnut or Union Streets!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in 2014!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was amazed at how they took an old 3-story motel and made it into a very welcoming and comfortable stay. Staff was great, parking was great, and the best was the luxurious bedding. If you are looking for a place to stay without the city frenzy, check this place out located in the Cow Hollow/Marina area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our friendly staff, complimentary parking and comfortable bedding made your visit even more memorable!

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

An old motel restyled as a hotel. Rooms are good sized and service was great. Minor fixes were promptly taken care of. Loved the free Continental breakfast and coffee. Good location. Worked great for a party of three. Huge closet for storage helped keep room uncluttered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our complimentary continental breakfast, your large guestroom and closet as well as our convenient location added value to your stay! I hope you had a chance to try some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the property on either Chestnut or Union streets!

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place is a renovated old school motor lodge. Lobby area is teeny tiny but the plus is the ongoing complimentary coffee, tea and water. AND, they put out freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon!

Check in was a breeze and Oscar was absolutely gracious. The elevator is small and funky but I guess that's part of the charm of the place. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The flat screen TV is rather small, as is the bathroom. You'd think for a tiny bathroom that the trash can wouldn't be so big that it can't be tucked between the toilet and the wall. Not sure if it's where our room was situated (corner, by stairway), but the walls are pretty thin and we could easily hear our neighbors. Wi-fi wasn't working well in our room :(.

Other than that, I enjoyed our stay. Nice location in the marina. Complimentary continental brekkie and a parking spot. Friendly service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SC_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Oscar made a great first impression of the hotel! I'm also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and refreshments throughout the day. I am disappointed to hear that your wifi connection didn't meet your expectations and that you had an unpleasant experience with noisy neighbors. I will certainly pass on your comments to the appropriate Department Manager.

Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow this isolated incident mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco.

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were two families travelling together in the US across Nov 2013 and San Francisco was one of our last destinations and we were pretty worn out. We were only at the hotel 2 nights but Lilli on the front desk could not have been more helpful. The hotel was quiet at night yet close to plenty of shopping in Union St and cafes. We had booked rooms online and they were exactly as described and what we were after. A bonus was free parking which can add up across a long trip. We would stay at the hotel Del Sol again.

Room Tip: The top floor is serviced by an old lift. It was quiet in our room on level 3 on the Webster St side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the guestroom you stayed in met your expectations. I'm also glad our complimentary parking added value to your stay!

Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow this isolated incident mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco.

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am so glad we chose Hotel del Sol. The free parking, free Wifi and free breakfast every morning was amazing for the price and location of this hotel! True the walls are a little thin, but the staff was excellent and pointed us towards some great near by Restaurants. Our room was great, it was only two people staying so we had plenty of space and loved the king size bed. If we return to SF we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We always look forward to and appreciate guest comments and feedback.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our complimentary Parking, Wifi and Continental Breakfast made your stay even more memorable! I hope you had a chance to try the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel on either Chestnut or Union Streets!

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to this beautiful city!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for our first trip to San Francisco to celebrate our anniversary. When checking in Tiffany(front desk clerk) found out and upgraded us to a larger room on the third floor. At the end of our stay she sent chocolates and Champaign!
The hotel is older but well kept, and a blast to stay at, especially if you are intent on exploring the city, and not spending a lot of time in the room. All the tourist spots are easily accessible (I would recommend the hop on/off bus tour which picks you up right around the corner) We didn't have a car, but here the parking was free-a rarity in S.F.
This is an OK place to stay, but it is all of the friendly helpful staff that make it a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Get up high, on the third floor if you can(quietest). The old fashioned elevator is even a hoot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We always look forward to and appreciate guest comments and feedback.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Tiffany's thoughtful surprises made your trip even more memorable! I'm glad to know that our convenient location provided easy access to all points of interest in the city! I hope you had a chance to try the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel on either Chestnut or Union Streets!

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to this beautiful city!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,044 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,277 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,174 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $185 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing