We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My Girl Scouts LOVED it!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #49 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Claremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Girl Scouts LOVED it!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here last week with my kids. HAD to come back, and won't stay anywhere else after staying here with my Girl Scout Troop for the Bridging ceremony in 2009. LOVED it! About the last stay: As I knew the neighborhood from living in SF years before, I knew we would be able to get everywhere we wanted to go easily, either by bus or walking.The staff couldn't have been more better at helping me organize all of us. My 6 girls, moms, a dad, sister and grandma all came along. The girls loved the funky elevator! The color scheme was great, Free parking a plus!!!! For the majority of us that came by plane, they have an in with a limo service that picked us up, for a fee, but Wow!!!! It is comperable to prices down on the wharf, but a much more fun and memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    392
    129
    33
    13
See reviews for
385
250
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic for everything you might want to do in San Fran. Blocks from the waterfront, running distance to the Golden Gate Bridge, and excellent/safe bicycle access to the bike baths along the waterfront and through to Sausalito and beyond. The area around the hotel is where people actually live and work and has a less “touristy” feel than other location in San Fran. Rooms are fairly basic but clean and REALLY comfortable beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I returned to the Hotel Del Sol in October, 2012, after last staying there with our son in 2008. Again, the hotel had the best rates. By coincidence, we had the same room and the second stay was as good as the first. It's great for both couples and families. And, the location is perfect for walking to dinner, the waterfront, and very convenient to public transportation options. The two-room junior suite is very spacious and comfortable. Though it's a renovated motor inn, it's very funky and modern. The staff is always hospitable, provide great information, and is happy to assist in any way. We were able to store our luggage without any trouble to let us explore the city one more full day before returning home. The continental breakfast and excellent coffee are all you need to begin a day of walking and eating. We are looking forward to returning with our son in January!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chugginsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The room was clean but not very nice. It had an old double fireplace or something that was not in use that was an eye sore and waste of space. It is in a safe area and there are good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our family loved our stay at Hotel del Sol. Rooms were clean. Beds so comfy that we peeled back the sheets on the last day to find out what mattress they use. We want one! Great location to use as a homebase to sightsee from. Even though the streets are busy and I was concerned about traffic noise, it was not a problem. Front desk staff are awesome. We came blowing in 45 minutes to go until our reservation for the Alcatraz tour. Even though their computers were down, the front desk graciously allowed us to park (without officially checking in), called us a cab, and got us to Alcatraz in time! Breakfast were great. We stayed two nights and plan to come back as we did not begin to see everything we wanted to. When we do, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stay at a lot of Joie de Vivre hotels and this one is up on their quality. The staff is so nice and always accommodating. The breakfast in the morning was great for a little something before leaving the hotel and the location is wonderful. Union street is only a short 2 block walk from the hotel and there are great coffee shops, restaurants, and shopping near by. The hotel itself is in nice condition. The rooms are nicely redone with bright colors and the beds and linens are super comfortable. For the price, it is unbeatable! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Top floor is best, you can hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is part of the newer genre of retro'd motor lodges of the past. Still keeping the physical feel of the typical squared structure surrounding the courtyard (pool, parking etc), this Joie deVivre property keeps with the nuance and quality the we have come to know the brand for.

We opted for a 1bd as were going to have guests stay with us on the pullout (they couldn't make it). Though on the smaller side, the room was well appointed for the price, including 2 closets, fridge, microwave and also included a continental breakfast and free on-site parking (unheard of in SF!!).

Being in a residential neighborhood, it can get noisy when the bars close down on the weekends (we usually stay in the financial district which is a ghost town after hours). That being said, it is residential and quiet safe. Right of Lombard and a short walk down to the bay.

A great value in a nice, residential area surrounded by plenty to do and see.
Free on-site parking

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor on the alley ways away from the main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#84 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#27 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#19 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#25 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing