We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price, Location, Parking, Cleanliness”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Price, Location, Parking, Cleanliness”
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This is by far the best combination of affordability and cleanliness in the Marina/Fisherman's Wharf area. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is welcoming and knowledgeable. The best part is free in and out parking, which is very hard to find in SF. Most hotels charge about $20 a day or more for parking. This place is well recommended and within walking distance of a lot of the typical attractions. Its also convenient to public transportation to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    301
    114
    15
    10
See reviews for
164
241
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2006

For the price, this was a decent hotel. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Hotel has parking. Staff pretty easygoing. No common space to hang out in beyond your room, but it didn't matter much for our group.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2005

I've stayed at this hotel every year for many years. They have good sized rooms, comfortable beds,hair dryer,lanai(hawaiian for balcony), coffee machine, Tv with about 80 channels. I've always found it very accomodating. It's a few blocks away from Fort Mason a nice place to take a run or bring children to play at. I've never had any problems with this hotel and the price has always been reasonable.Right now I believe rates are 79$ till Jan 31, 2006.
For more information check out:
[--------------------]

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thebaileyohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2005

We stayed here for 3 nights. the rooms were a good size and very clean. The front desk staff were great allowing us to check in at 11am which was needed after a 14 hour flight from Australia. It was a $40 taxi fare from San Francisco Airport. It is a 15 minute walk with no real big hills to walk up to Fishermans Wharf. It is very easy to catch buses from just around the corner to other parts of the city.The air conditioner was noisey but we did not need it. We didnt find any good eating places around the inn. Overall a good place to stay.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Convenient location and clean rooms. I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years going back to the 80's and have always had a pleasant stay. Good value and parking on site.

Helpful?
4 Thank Skip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2005

our family of three stayed 3 nights in aug, 2005.
we booked on line not sure of what we where in for.
we ended up being very pleased with the lombard motor inn.
very clean room, the most comfortable beds i have ever had in any hotel! the staff was really nice and where very helpful with a few questions we had concerning which direction we were headed when leaving the hotel. free parking which is very nice to have in s.f. we always use the public transportation. so we had our vehicle parked the whole time. we love san francisco, but we don't love driving in it! it's nice to take the bus once you are there. so many sights along the way.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The Lombard is a tremendous value, with a good location, nice rooms and comfortable beds, free parking and a great location. We have stayed at the Lombard on three of our last four trips to San Francisco and were sorry the time we tried a different place. The location is close to two bus lines that make it easy to travel to most tourist destinations. We always buy transit passes and leave the car in the hotel garage the whole trip. The Marina District where the Lombard is located is a real residential neighborhood with good shopping, restaurants and bars and is not as touristy as staying at the Wharf or at a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#43 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing