We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - Great Location!”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #77 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Prince Edward Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it - Great Location!”
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This hotel is a great little gem of a place. Very safe area, walk within one block to the bus stop which takes you a few more blocks to the Fisherman's Wharf area.

Rooms were very clean, and done so daily. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful, with information, and maps.

I would recommend staying here for sure as the price is great, area safe and the hotel is better than some of the more expensive ones in the area!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Breakfast or Restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    304
    114
    15
    10
See reviews for
166
243
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

What a GREAT Find!

CHEAPER Than Everything We Looked at...AND INCLUDES PARKING! (none of the other hotels we looked at did, most of them charge 30.00 a day for parking)

VERY VERY CLEAN!
NICE SPACIOUS ROOM!
WONDERFUL STAFF!

I recommend people to this hotel anytime someone I know is going to San Fran!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnwood
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2008

With reviews we read here and other places, we picked this place. It was everything you said it was. It's true. It didn't take long to get anywhere. I love the styles of the buildings so it was eye-candy the whole way. True too, you can get to the roof. It's not locked. (Shhh, I don't want them to lock it.). The VERY comfortable pillows and Serta mattress really came in handy after all of the walking we did. I only saw a few guests ever. The sign showed NO vacancy and it was really quiet. Parking in the basement, easy open access to the street. The price is very affordable for San Francisco. We would definately stay there again. I have included photos. One is from our private balcony. One from the room. Oh, and the balcony for the pic of the sign. Yes, it was right off our balcony!

  • Liked — Clean, the room had everything we needed. Nice balcony separate from other people.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippywonderpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This hotel has parking provided and is walking distance to most attractions including the Crooked Street. It is about a 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Warf but it isn't too bad. Good neighborhood and overall we would do it again.

  • Liked — Near golden gate, lombard street, and fishermans warf
  • Disliked — A bit noisy since it is on the main road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RandR916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Conveniently located motel within walking distance of Wharf and cable car. Clean room and recently refurbished bathroom. Having read reviews we booked room at the back. There was not much of a view but there was little street noise. Very good value.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gascondomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

This was going to be my first time in San Fran and my wife's second. Our friend recommended getting a hotel/motel off of Lombard as there were good, "cheap" motels in that part of the city and it's a nice part of the city. I almost went with a hotel near Union Square- glad I didn't as other than the extravagant shopping, there wasn't much else there. LMI had a good clean rooms, surprisingly comfortable beds, and excellent service. They even let us keep our luggage there after checking out so that we could have one last romp around the city without having to drag our luggage everywhere. It may have been a small action on their part but it meant a world of convenience to us. It's a great location- just a couple of blocks from buslines that will take you to any part of the city, a nice walk to the Crookedest Street area and not too far of a walk to Fillmore/Union where there were decent shops and restaurants. The staff were helpful in showing where to go and how to get there, definitely utilize the Muni as it was the easiest/cheapest way to get where you wanted to go. Of course the only complaint was the street noise, but you're in a big city so it's expected. With some good earplugs you're set. Also, after a couple of nights, we didn't really notice the noise as all of the hustle and bustle during the day put us in a deep sleep at night. Between the price, location, service and room quality, it made us feel as though we got a great deal for being in San Fran.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lovesanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I did my research and stayed two nights with my two kids. The location is good, had no problems parking my mini van in the garage, room was clean, staff was nice. On the downside we did have a room that faced the street. Wow was it noisy and we were there during the week - I'm sure it's even worse on the weekend. Didn't keep me awake, but it takes getting used to. If they want 5 stars they'll need to invest in double-pane glass doors.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Street Noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoCalWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#105 of 228 in San Francisco
1,129 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
1,530 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
1,089 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
312 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing