We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #78 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed here two times because the location is good, you can go walking to the Fisherman's Wharf and Columbus avenue, or go up hill to the crookedest street (Lombard). The hotel is old but clean and comfortable. On a clear day you can see the Golden Gate from the rooms facing Lombard St. If you only need the hotel to sleep and get a bath, this is a good place to stay. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a restaurant, so take this into consideration. We had our breakfast at the Chestnut Diner, a block away on Chestnut St., and then we could just walk or take the bus (30 or 47) and get on our way.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lombard St. can be noisy from the traffic. If you are a light sleeper, take this into c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladventures2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    289
    109
    12
    9
See reviews for
157
229
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great place to stay. Irene at the front desk was very helpful when we needed to extend our stay. Thank you, Irene. There are two café/restaurants right beside it. One street over on Chestnut was a wonderful breakfast/lunch café. Great food. Request a back room as the front rooms get all the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the best. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClipperRace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is an older motel not too far from the Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39 area, and within walking distance of the crooked part of Lombard Street. It is in a bit of a dead area in terms of cafes, restaurants, and shops, but is close to a couple of bus routes which get you to different areas of the city. Free parking is good.

We were confronted by the super grumpy Pavel upon checkin who told us we could not check in until 3 P.M. (sure, we were there at 2 P.M. but usually it's not a big deal) and this was about all he said to us, no hello, no welcome, just grunted at us to come back after 3. A few pleasantries wouldn't go astray and every time we saw Pavel he was just unpleasant - the only receptionist in a hotel I have encountered ever to not say hello as his guests pass him in the lobby.

Our room was quite large but it took a rickety (and I noticed the safety permit was out of date by nearly a year) elevator ride to get to it. The room was at the back so was really quiet which was good. Bed was comfortable enough. A few weird things about the room - no fridge - what kind of hotel in this day and age doesn't have a refrigerator for guests? Also, the shower head was at a weird place, where it came out of the wall roughly about chest height (and I'm only 5"4 so not tall) so washing anything above your shoulders, especially your hair, took some serious back-bending acrobatics. Housekeeping did a bare job of tidying the room (not that we leave our rooms dirty, we just usually have the beds made) - they didn't bother putting the decorative pillows back on the bed or folding towels back up we had left hanging to dry - two things that usually happen in hotels.

However, despite the lack of fridge, scary/unsafe elevator, and the horrible customer service, free parking, a cheap room rate, and decent location make the hotel fine enough for a few days stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property as it is quieter. Try and have a lower level so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquathest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good price hooked me. The surprise was the interest that the front desk staff took in helping with meals and bus routes. Be extremely careful parking in the garage little margin of error. Would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Be careful parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been staying in the Marina district for about a year every time I come to San Francisco and I found this place on my last visit! The hotel is a classic motel style property that is undergoing or has undergone a complete remodel and the results are great. Decently sized rooms, new furniture including mattresses, desks and dressers. The floors are immaculate, hardwood (engineered hardwood), natural stone counters and showers - all brand new and very, very clean!

Check it out, great place and well maintained, ask for a remodeled room, though it looks like they'll all be done within a month or so!

Room Tip: Ask for newly remodeled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at one of this hotel’s sister properties [Chelsea Motor Inn] 4 years ago, which was quite nice, perfect for couples, newlyweds, etc. However if you’re a walker and prefer your sightseeing by foot, the property is located further along Lombard, further away from Van Ness and closer to the old Presidio and Golden Gate Bridge. Van Ness Blvd. hooks you up with Fisherman’s Wharf on one end, downtown civic center/Market St. on the other.

4 years ago as I passed Lombard Motor Inn [a building or so from the intersection of Van Ness and Lombard] enroute to Chelsea, I vowed on my next visit to the city if I stayed in or near this neighborhood – I would try this inn. Not bad.

It’s “not exactly” the outwardly appealing building as Chelsea. The room I stayed in was not “as posh” as Chelsea [no desk] but everything was at par.

I arrived late on a Thursday night [just as I had informed the staff I would] and sure enough as I walked up to the window for check in - my check in paperwork was on the clerk’s counter alone [must have been expecting an important guest].

Clean, quiet and safe [my priorities equal to price], an “easy moderate” walk up Van Ness places you at the wharf in 15 minutes. 20 minutes the other way and you’re almost at the civic center. And there’s both a Walgreen’s and CVS nearby.

Not a bad place at all.

Room Tip: Rooms toward rear of property [as in most cases] tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night before flying out of San Francisco. I had read that this was a great hotel, and was somewhat disappointed when we checked in. We were sent to a room that hadn't yet been cleaned from the previous guest. Not wanting to waste time, we set out on foot to Fisherman's Wharf, which was about a 15 minute walk. The room was ready for us when we got back a few hours later.

I would not say this hotel is anything more than decent. The room is average sized, and there were no real "extras." What had sold me on this hotel was the free covered parking, and the management did allow us to keep the rental car there until 4pm the day we checked out. That was a plus. I can't really make any negative comments, but it sure did not impress. For the money, it did provide a clean, comfortable place to land for one night when passing through San Francisco. I would not have wanted to stay there for longer, however. If going back to SF, I would likely stay someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catgreenize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#47 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing