We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #78 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lombard for four nights, very impressed, I wasn't sure about the Lombard but when we arrived we were very impressed with the room. Very comfy bed friendly helpful staff Good location, clean, easy to get to everything , quiet location but we did have a room in the back. Overall couldn't have asked for a better hotel it certainly was a delight. Would definitely recommend. Has great Café Lombard across the street .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    290
    109
    12
    9
See reviews for
157
229
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tring
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Staff were helpful, rooms were spacious and very clean. Not far to walk to the piers however it feels like forever walking back with all those hills. Pretty much central to most things. Would definately recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie147377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

In a city where the avg hotel rm costs $300 +/ night this place is some serious bang for your buck.
The outside is not pretty, nor does the area make you want to enter but the desk help is wonderful and the rooms have everything that you need for a night or two's stay. They are clean, bug free, and they have heat and air conditioning. The best part is the parking is free. If you are like me and used to free parking then you are in for a shock in San Fran bc most hotels charge an avg price of $50/ night for parking. Be warned!!

This place was a great deal and we got an even better deal on Hotels.com, but be careful bc they do book up quick.

Did I mention the memory foam mattress!!??

Room Tip: Choose one facing away from the street. The noise will keep you up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mull0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. We were able to walk over to Fisherman's Warf and the very helpful front desk helped us figure out what bus we needed when we went to AT&T Park for a Giants game.

The room had nice wood crown molding around the top of our room. The beds were great. From our balcony we could see the Golden Gate Bridge when it wasn't too foggy. There is no breakfast, but there is free parking. In SF that is a bonus. When I had checked prices the hotel just down the street was $28 a night to park. It is a big city, so paying for parking is not a suprise, but it is great when you don't have to pay.

I did notice some street noise through the night since it is right on Lombard and Lombard is the highway. My teenagers didn't have a problem sleeping through it. My wife and I did. However, my choice ws to be on the back side where I'm sure it was quieter or have the view and I chose the view.

We paid $155 a night for seven nights which is more than we usually spend. However, compared to other San Francisco hotels that were $200 + for when we were there, that was a good deal for a place that was this nice, in what felt like a safe area with good accessability to where we wanted to go.

I would stay there again. In fact as I'm typing this I'd like to go back right now, although that could just be San Francisco pulling me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We looked at pictures and were a little concerned but trip advisor reviews were positive so we booked two rooms at back of hotel. Check in was quick albeit that the young lady who checked us I. Could not have been less interested in us if she had tried!! Funny we spent five days in LA and found everyone there so wonderful and polite yet San Fran is much less personable. Anyway, lift arrived which was slow and creaked a bit but when we arrived into our room we were very pleased. Nice size. Very clean. Lovely bed and bedding and good air conditioner. Having read peoples posts about staying at rear of hotel rather than on the Lombard St side we deliberately booked our two rooms along the rear side if hotel and room was lovely and quiet. Great location and free parking was such a bonus in this city. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KookaburrasYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Quiet on third floor at back. No screen or safety barrier on large, opening window-be careful! Beds were really comfortable with good linen. Very clean and nice toiletries. Free parking is great, but spots are tight if you have a big vehicle. Great place to come back to after long days of walking. 20 or so minute walk down to Fisherman's Wharf-seems longer going back uphill at the end of the day in the dark! Would be nice to have a computer for guest use (not just the available wi-fi) and fridges in rooms. Elevator is creaky and doors open before its all the way to the top.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrel72vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We would return and recommend this hotel for anyone visiting San Francisco. The location is great, we walked and used our 3 day transit pass - no car necessary, but the no fee parking is another plus. The rooms were clean and quite large,free wifi worked great, and the king size bed was very comfortable - a memory foam mattress. We were worried about traffic noise but requested a room at the back and we weren't bothered at all by the traffic on busy Lombard Street. Staff were very friendly and helpful - especially Edgar at reception! He had good knowledge of restaurants, transit info and was able to answer any questions we had. :-) We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: We requested a room at the back of the hotel due to its location on busy Lombard St. and we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#85 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing