We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Take your ear plug” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Take your ear plug”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Warm welcome ,free parking ,a real bonus. Good size room ,spotless. Very good value for money. Unfortunately very noisy. I live in London so am well used to traffic and noise but this was something else. Whilst in San Francisco we were fortunate enough to see the space shuttle ,it went through my mind at the time what it is possible for man to achieve ,what a pity he has never got around to the double glazing at the Lombard.......

Room Tip: Try and get a room off the road ,other wise take your ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    275
    103
    11
    9
See reviews for
145
216
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Lombard Motor Inn for our honeymoon. The room was very clean and nice. The parking was very convenient and easy (not to mention FREE!!). The staff were all friendly and helpful enough (but we didn't have many needs or requests). We stayed in room 301 (I think). There was a nice view of Lombard from our balcony. The street noise was noticable but definitely not a big deal or disturbance. The best thing about this hotel is the LOCATION!!! We walked everywhere! We went to Fort Mason, Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Chinatown, LIttle Italy (North Beach) and the Presidio. It was great to not have to drive or take public transportation. I will DEFINITELY be staying at this hotel again when I'm in San Fran. Also, a block over and half a block down is this great diner for breakfast (Chestnut St. Diner) their french toast is yummy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarpea81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We read many tripadvisor reviews before booking this hotel so we knew perfectly well to expect - and the reviews didn't let us down. This hotel is right on a 3-lane highway so the road noise is pretty extensive. We were on the second floor facing Lombard Street. We could see part of the Golden Gate Bridge from our room and being able to see the street was worth the noise. I heard if you get a room in the back the noise level decreases significantly, but of course so does the view. It's a pesonal preference. We could walk to just about anything. We are mid-40s couple in great shape so this wasn't a big deal but if you don't like to/or can't walk 8-10 blocks, you can always catch a cab right outside the hotel. The room was always immaculate and was a very good size. Nice flat screen TV and comfortable king size bed. you can't stay in San Francisco and want to be in the heart of everything without expecting some noise. So like I said - we got what we expected. We would probably stay here again, but might try a room in the back (maybe). Make sure you try the Lombard Cafe. Super sweet ladies running the place and the food was great.

Room Tip: Room on the backside may reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent forever trying to decide on a hotel for 3 days in SF and finally chose this one. I'm glad I did. The price, though I think high, was certainly do-able, especially considering the location and the free covered parking. I also found that the price seemed to be the average for this type of hotel anyway so I really don't think I could've done too much better for the area and that included the parking.
As for the hotel it was spotless with decent amenities, though a small fridge would've been helpful. I really loved the addition of the tempurpedic bed! And the free wi-fi was much faster than a lot of hotels I've been to.
As per earlier reviews I requested a room off of Lombard and we were rewarded with a lovely and quiet room overlooking the neighbors' little patios.
The staff was polite and helpful when needed. There are a few restaurants within a block or so for whichever meal you wish, though none we tried were all that great (including Cafe Lombard, though to be fair we only tried their breakfast). And as others have said, the wharf and pier are a fairly short walk away.
The only thing wrong (and it's minor) is that our toilet seemed to be trying to disengage itself from the wall so every time it was used it sounded--and felt--like it could fall off the wall at any time! I totally forgot to tell the management that when we were checking out so hopefully they read this and can tighten the bolts or something! :)
All in all a pleasant stay and I would definitely consider this hotel again!

Room Tip: If you want quiet make sure you request a room at the back away from Lombard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goddess0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want a nice, affordable place to stay in San Francisco, you can't beat it. Its location to the Wharf & Pier 39 is within walking distance, approx 1 mile. The room was plenty big, clean, & had an awesome king size bed (I believe a Tempur Pedic); the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The only issue is the lack of restaurants very near by. However, if you're in San Fran, you'll probably be out & about anyway, so restaurants are plenty. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Room on the back side are quiet. Room 302 was spacious & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the years and have always been pleased. I find it very convenient and accessible, especially coming from the airport. The carpark is excellent and no extra charge. The room had been refurbished to a very good standard. It was located at the rear and was very quiet. We had requested a rear room as the street is a very busy one. Prices have increased,but still better value than most. There are a couple of convenience stores nearby and the little Italian place across the street is good for breakfast. However, it is a treat to stroll down to the waterfront. One morning we had breakfast in the Blue Mermaid (great) and then got cable car from terminus into Market St., a great way to start the day

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

So I knew the hotel was full but still, we got the last room again, STILL we got the room in the corner of the back with a view of the wall next to us. Okay can deal with that, we werent in the room all that long, but the carpet was wet in one spot so i put down a towel down come to find out is was urine. that just was just to much for me to handle, and the front desk didnt say antthing...still had to pay 140.00...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank waa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#46 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing