We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very glad we stayed here”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #77 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very glad we stayed here”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rooms are clean, the price was fair and the location is great in my opinion.

Close enough to Union Street for restaurants and bars. Market Street has some good shopping and restaurants within less than a mile. Only a few blocks away from the twisty part of Lombard Street. Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 33 are close enough to walk to.

If you don't need to stay downtown, I think this is a great place to be. The hotel was cleaned well everyday. The staff was very helpful... oh... and FREE parking! That is a huge bonus in a big city. Free Wifi... really good shampoo, conditioner and soap.. sometimes it's the little things.

Some have complained about it being loud, but we were never woken up by the traffic on Lombard Street.... I can hear it now... typing here with no tv on and the rest of the family asleep in the morning, but with the tv on.. it's no big deal to us. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want less street noise, ask for a room that doesn't face Lombard.... but.. it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    307
    117
    15
    11
See reviews for
170
247
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A friend booked this hotel for a stay in San Francisco. We had a great time. We were able to leave our car there at 11:00am in the morning and walked around Fisherman's Wharf since we weren't able to check in till 3pm. The room was clean, the wifi worked well. The clerk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dani4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Free parking and good location for the price. It's a 15 minute walk to the Wharf and a few hills to travel. Good exercise so you can burn more calories for a nice dinner out. Irene our desk clerk was so sweet and helpful. We had a newly renovated room and a wonderful bed and slept well. Yes BRING EARPLUGS because the traffic is noisy at night but ear plugs work great. I was happy to save on lodging and spend the $ on shopping.....I would return again

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank checkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Lombard Motor Inn as part of a business trip. This is a no frills hotel--you get a clean room with a flat screen tv, internet access and free parking (which we did not use). The price is very competitive with other budget hotels. That's the good.

The Bad from my point of view--The Hotel was recently renovated (Spring 2012) and as of July 2012 there was still significant outgassing from the new carpets and mattresses and a strong chemical smell apparent. I have allergies and I had many allergic symptoms in my room--red eyes, nasal and other congestion. My husband does not have allergies and did not experience these effects but other colleagues staying at the hotel reported nasal congestion without a cold.
Another caveat--The location is central and it is about six blocks from Fisherman's Wharf but you will encounter medium hills which could be a problem for those with disabilities.

There is no food available at the Lombard except for a bowl of fruit in the lobby. There is a cafe lombard across the street and there are two restaurants with breakfast and lunch at the corner of Van Ness and Chesnut.

The staff are very nice and some colleagues appreciated the free parking.
Personally I would not return to the hotel due to the outgassing and chemical smells. Hopefully these will resolve over time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in rear if you want to avoid street noise. Rooms in the front have a balcony and a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Considering this is a budget priced motel, it is great value for money, it's a little bit dated, but the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Only a few blocks ( uphill) to the famous part of Lombard street, and about 15 minutes walk to pier 39. Cable cars are also lose, free parking. Great value for the budget conscious. There is a diner about 1 block down the road which has absolutely the best breakfast I have ever had. We are staying here again in December this year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Lombard Motor Inn is located 4 blocks walk from Ghirardelli Square and an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf or Pier 39. It's convenient to bus stops and only 3 blocks from the free Presidio Shuttle. It IS a bit of an uphill hike to the famous part of Lombard Street, but good exercise.

The hotel isn't fancy to enter - no actual lobby but more of a reception desk and an elevator next to the parking garage. Parking is FREE! And the hotel itself is a great deal as we paid $126 + tax (AAA rate) in July for a good sized 2 double bed room. The room had a huge dresser, flat screen TV, small breakfast table with 2 chairs and was fairly roomy for San Francisco. The beds have memory foam and are comfortable. It's fairly clean - nothing glaring that a bit of vacuuming wouldn't fix. If you get a room in the back, there's no traffic noise and it looks out on a quiet space between buildings. Recommend 3rd floor because we heard walking upstairs.

There's no facilities but there is in room coffee and free (slowish) WiFi. There are 2 unsecured garages under the building. The going rate for parking at hotels in the area looked to be around $25 and hotels such as the Days Inn right down the block charged a lot more. There are small cafe's across the street for breakfast. It's not the best neighborhood, but we felt safe walking back at night. So, while the hotel is average, for the price and location it's a good deal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with a view, try rooms 303 or 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'm normally stay in the higher end hotel chains and veer away from any establishment with the name 'motel'. Since my husband and I were traveling with a budget conscience couple we opted to stay at the Lombard Motel because of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The Lombard is not a fancy place but it is clean and the price is good. It is older but the rooms have been renovated. The woman who checked us in was great. I cannot remember her name sadly. However the woman Misty who checked us out was awful. She talked down to my husband and I. I am a huge advocate of proper customer service and Misty does not seem to understand what good customer service is. Regardless of the nastiness of Misty, I would stay at the Lombard again and will probably try a motel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vskelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,544 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
690 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#52 of 229 in San Francisco
1,232 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
751 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing