We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the Lombard Motor Inn for 5 nights in mid-April and it proved to be an excellent choice. I originally looked at a number of hotels in the Union Square area, but decided not to spend the money on a hotel room when we would be out sight-seeing most of the time.

The room at the Lombard Motor Inn was recently renovated with a clean, modern bathroom, a 42"(+?) flat screen TV and a balcony overlooking Lombard Street. We requested this location as the third floor Lombard Street rooms have a view of the GG bridge. Yes, Lombard St is busy all night and the tour and commuter buses all come through on the 101. But we never even used the ear plugs I brought. Guess all the walking and activities made for deep sleeping. Anyways, we loved the street-life and the balcony.

The new (tempurpedic?) king-sized bed was wonderful! Linens are changed every three days, unless requested more often. We ordered the optional refrigerator at and extra $5 per day.

Check-in and check-out were flawless. The average price per night was as stated on the reservations: about $102/night. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to borrow a corkscrew from the front desk. And when our TV froze at about 10pm one night, the the front desk attendant came right up to fix it.

The location was very convenient for us as we planned to visit many different areas of the city. We took the muni everywhere, especially the buses along Van Ness and Chestnut St. The walk to Fisherman's Wharf was about 15 minutes. We rented a car for one day and were able to park it overnight in the hotel garage at no additional charge.

I would definitely stay at the Lombard Motor Inn again. But I would also check out the Cow Hollow Motor Inn, a sister property. While it doesn't have balcony rooms, I would love to be closer to a restaurant/shopping district, as the Cow Hollow is. We walked to this area for dinner on two different evenings; on two other evenings we had dinner on Union Street. Both are easy walks, but it might be nice to be closer to the nightlife of these areas. Another possibility would be the Columbus Motor Inn, which also has balconies and might be closer to restaurants.

There are a couple of small markets in the immediate area for snacks and drinks and other supplies.

It looked like the first floor rooms were being renovated in April 2012 while we were there.

Room Tip: King rooms are on the Lombard Street side with balconies. Good for deeper sleepers. The sliders do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Price and location make this hotel one outstanding deal. I was traveling with teenage kids and wanted to be in walking distance of the Wharf and other things to do but didn't want to pay over $100 per night. We were lucky enough to get a renovated room on the third floor and it was really clean and nicely redone. What makes this place the ultimate deal is the free parking! The Holiday Inn up the street wanted $45 a night for my car which just wasn't going to happen. Even though there's no free breakfast at this hotel the money I spent on a few muffins and bananas was nothing compared to what I saved by staying here. The only negatives (minor) I would say is that even on the third floor you can really hear the road noise on Lombard - so bring ear plugs. And even though the rooms are renovated the furniture was a bit dated. Finally, the elevator did break down while we were there - but the seemed to be on top of it and repairs were being done quickly. One nice thing they did was let me keep the car parked there after we'd checked out and I got it later that day before we took the red-eye back to the east coast, which was a money saver. All in all, a great hotel for the money and I definitely will be back....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The first room we were in was on the first floor facing Lombard St. Wouldn't recommend facing the street unless your use to traffic noise. Asked for another room and were given a third floor room opposite Lombard St. This room had been remodeled and was very nice. Comfortable, clean, quiet, great night. We will be back in future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I visited this "motor inn" twice last summer on a family vacation to Yosemite. I traveled to San Francisco again in February 2012 for a business conference and stayed afterwards to do some sightseeing. I booked online directly with the hotel website (hint: it's the cheapest place to book here) and found the prices up just a little from last year. However, after paying $180 for parking in the financial district, the extra $20 was well worth just the free parking alone.

Pulling into the garage I was met with stacks of wood, carpet, and other remodeling items. I checked in, and found myself in a completely remodeled room. The rooms were a bit dated on my previous trip, but still in great shape. With the new updates, the room prices are STILL one of the best deals in the area. Oh, and did I mention the free parking?

New carpeting, plasma/LCD televisions, new paint, completely remodeled bathrooms, nice new firm memory foam mattresses. I slept like a log. The old tubs are replaced with nice tile showers. The rooms on the front of the hotel are still noisier (why do people on this side of town use car horns so much?), but considering the deal, the proximity to great restaurants and the pier area, a $.39 set of earplugs is well worth the price. The rooms on the back side are literally silent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are very quiet, but dark and with no view as there is a wall 3 feet away. Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StLJam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in feb 2010. The rom was big and with a room off the street it was also very quiet. It could use a upgrad. The bath rom had a ok size and was clean. Parking was free. Walking distance to Fishermans warf. Mels dinner was right down the street. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We just had a great stay here. They don't have queen beds but the doubles slept well. Rooms had a good amount of space. We asked for a room off the street and it was quiet. The back overlooks the backyards of neighbors.A small lobby with friendly helpful staff. There are 2 parking lots the upper lot off Lombard seems more secure. Location wise, we are walkers. We bought Muni passes and then were creative about routes. A cable car stops at the top of lombard. It was 3 long blocks to the hotel but all downhill. Fishermans wharf is an easy #30 bus. If you walk it seems shorter to walk up lombard. Actually head for the water first and you will miss the climb up and down the hill. #30 also gets you to Chinatown and Union square. No breakfast or microwave but clean basic rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street for a quiet sleep. Not a great view but no lane or street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The staff was nice, the room was clean. However, the most disappointing thing was the view from the room. We were on the third floor and faced away from the direction of the wharf. Our view was partially obstructed by someones home and we could see onto their porch. That was disappointing because this was our honeymoon and they didn't have anything with a view available either. :(

When you ask for pillows or any other toiletries, you have to go down and get them. We also have a large vehicle, 94 ford f250 and it barely fit in the space in the garage, but hey, it was free so we didn't complain too much about that.

Other than those little annoyances, the mattress was super comfortable (cali king) and the pillows were amazing. The staff was friendly as could be. Not to mention the location!!! A taxi ride was 8 bucks at the most and it was about a 10 minute walk to the wharf. :) Its worth it, just request a third floor with a view or else you could get a lot of traffic noise from Lombard St.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
1,178 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing