We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub Par Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Americania
Ranked #129 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sub Par Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall experience was Sub Par for musty smelling rooms , coz of no AC. Located Near the Mission District area in downtown SF where all the homeless are situated. Rooms are small with twin beds. The rooms had no AC and no microwave. No free breakfast and no area to use microwave in the hotel. Internet was very slow , customer service was lacking from the front desk staff. We feel that they don't care and don't want to help us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marksatoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    348
    306
    144
    71
See reviews for
300
292
68
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is centrally located. It is near Moscone Center, which is why we were in SFO to start with. BUT, I would not suggest going out after 10pm since it feels unsafe.

The rooms look modern and clean. The bathroom is outdated but clean enough. There is no AC but there is a ceiling fan. It got quite a little stuffy for us even with the ceiling fan, so we had to open the door to get enough air in.

The worst experience we had in the room is with their dresser cabinet. It was a two layer dresser. We were putting clothes on the top drawer and the whole thing just toppled over to me! It had a glass top that fell on my toes (which thankfully did not shatter). Then my husband was able to catch the dresser "body",while i put the glass top on the bed - then the 2 drawers just fell off again since it was leaning forward! the top one fell on my thigh and the bottom one fell on my shin! I think those dressers should have an anchor or should be bolted on the floor. I do not know, but all I can think of is what if my kid was with me and she likes to sit on the floor by the bottom of the bed. It would have fallen right smack on her head! We already informed the manager about this, and we hope they are doing something about it already.

Free wifi in the room, No breakfast offered. Parking is 35 dollars a day even for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Request for a room by the top floors so that is quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: If they are talking about saving water with reusing towels for guests who stay more than one night, then i think it is good.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earth-trekker-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Earth-trekker-x2,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is filled with a diverse group of locals which include families and singles alike. In many urban cities there are multiple paths you can take to avoid certain sections that some would deem as undesirable. With the Federal buildings nearby Seventh Street is quite safe walking from the BART station to our hotel.

Please thank your husband for providing us your feedback regarding the situation that we discussed with him as the two of you were leaving. This unfortunate incident is not common here at the Best Western Plus Americania and as you had requested you did not require any assistance. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed your concerns with the appropriate people and department in our Hotel.

Each Best Western Branded Hotel is individually owned and operated with each property offering different amenities. We apologize that we were unable to offer you the amenities that you expected. Our parking rate is very competitive for San Francisco as it is one of the lowest in the city. It is unfortunate that you felt the parking rate was unsuitable as it is very competitive for San Francisco especially given our location.

If you have any additional information that you were unable to provide during our conversations please feel free to contact us directly so that we are able to assist you with any further questions.

Thank you again for your time and response. We do hope that the next time you visit San Francisco you provide us a second chance to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My room was wonderful. The hotel was completely booked out, yet the hotel staff were nice, welcoming and efficient. I march in the parade and this hotel is one block from the end of the parade, not far to walk to after hours of waiting to march and then doing the parade. That shower felt wonderful. The hotel is just a couple block's from Shotglass Coffee, Rosco's and other restaurants of Folsom Street. I also walked to an AMC theater to catch a movie later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ann N,

It has been our pleasure to provide you memorable experiences at the Best Western Plus Americania during the Pride Parade. We are honored to welcome you to your home away from home whenever you come to San Francisco. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania and we look forward to welcoming you back.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here on 3rd floor room was very clean and fresh no fridge but plenty of ice available, walls a tad thin and slight noise from floor above with suitcases ect ,Reception were very helpful could not fault valley parking either the place makes you feel very secure as a pass required to enter lifts and rooms, as per other reviews we were on the look out for swarms of homeless outside the hotel and saw no more there than in the city centre,unfortunately San Francisco just has loads of homeless people. The restaurant burgers are some he best we had in the US and noticed locals eating here would stay again as only a short walk to Union sq and good prices.

Room Tip: Go for Top Floor If Light Sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DONJON13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Donjon13,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus Americania and of San Francisco. We are delighted that you found our hotel to be very clean and for appreciating the level of service our staff willingly provides on a daily basis.

Best Western is the largest hotel chain in the world with each Best Western branded hotel individually owned and operated as such the amenities offered differ from property to property. Upon request when available we offer other room options, additional amenities like a mini fridge, complimentary ear plugs for your convenience and we are able to move you to another room in a quieter part of the hotel.

Your feedback has been invaluable and will assist us in providing you and our future guests a better experience in the future. We hope to warmly welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania for a future stay. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston IL, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are looking for a good, reasonable place to stay in San Francisco, this is it. The hotel is clean, the staff is attentive, and you can't beat the price. Because of this, expect lots of families and budget travelers, and be prepared to pass a fair number of harmless homeless folks while using readily accessible public transportation to get to everything. The restaurant attached to the hotel has good burgers at a good price. We also liked the kitschy 1960s decor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nancy S,

It was our pleasure that our attentive staff were able to provide a peaceful and memorable experience at the Best Western Plus Americania. We truly appreciate that you found our décor aesthetically pleasing as I am excited to pass this information along to our design staff. Our cleanliness is a standard that we uphold as a Best Western branded hotel as well as all of our hotels within the Haiyi Hotels portfolio. We are delighted that the Best Western Plus Americania and our Custom Burger restaurant has lived up to your expectations.

We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania on your next visit to San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Scotty the front desk clerk will make you feel you are the only one he dealt with that day. No matter what you need or think might be a problem, it is not one for Scotty. The room was perfect, the food very tasty and the location was just what I wanted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank samrdwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Samrdwd,

San Francisco has a variety of great hotels and we appreciate that you chose to stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are delighted that our facilities met your expectations and that Scotty was able to provide a wonderfully memorable experience during your time with us. We look forward to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A wonderful location within walking distance of Union square and Market street. Once a questionable location the area has cleaned up nicely as too the hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very well made up clean safe with valet and security guard. Although the décor wasn't our style it did fit the city and the people who live there and on this weekend of gay pride parade was very cool indeed. The room was very clean, well appointed, everything worked as advertised. With a ceiling fan and the windows it was very comfortable in summer, 65* high with a 55* low at night it was warm enough and cool enough. no a/c needed but did have a great heater if you must. We like a soft bed so we were a little disappointed with the new very firm beds. No worries we slept fine even with some late night noise from those night goers and early morning kids running. If your a light sleeper this may not be for you. We had no problem even on a weekend like this. We were upgraded to a two room suite which was excellent. Now it can be pricey and you must pay for parking but it is in a garage, valet parking or self parking. Restaurant on site is ok, pool is heated on second deck out side and the is area ok. The staff is a mix bag some seem very friendly and helpful some not so much. Of the 3 valets we dealt with 1 was very good, 1 was helpful, and 1 was just ok. If you can get a deal its worth it. We liked it and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcKloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manage at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear DarcKloud,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your thoughts and experiences about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your upgraded room and our heated pool. We are happy to know that you like the hotel and will stay with us again. Thank you again for sharing, we are excited at the next chance to be your destination while in San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Americania

Property: Best Western Plus Americania
Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing