We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect situated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Americania
Ranked #130 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect situated!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our second time here and we loved it! quick check in. Friendly staff. Clean room and nice beds. Free wifi! For breakfast its best to go outside! There are some nice places for better value in the vicinity!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erwinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear lestad026,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and your frequent patronage at the Best Western Plus Americania, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can’t wait for you to make it back with us for the third time!

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    355
    308
    149
    73
See reviews for
306
300
68
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel was ok. There is no air conditioning which made it uncomfortable at night. The restroom smelled a little rancid. Convenient location. Walking distance to a very nice mall. Easy to catch a taxi. Valet service. Safe for children. Heated pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Manuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Manuel V,

Thank you for sharing with our friends in the Trip Advisor community your thoughts on your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to know that our convenient location, heated pool and valet service left with you a positive impression. Due to the moderately pleasant temperature we enjoy in San Francisco many of the hotels here do not have an air conditioner. We do apologize if we did not convey the fact that the unit in our rooms is a heater and not an air conditioner. We thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania as your home in San Francisco and we can’t wait to have you back with us again.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Planning to attend a conference at the Moscone Center? This little hotel may be just right for those of you looking for a hotel within walking distance to the Moscone (1/2 mile via Howard St.). With a 1960’s theme used throughout, this hotel is nothing like the usual big name hotels. The rooms are clean and efficient. The staff is friendly and helpful. Be aware though, this hotel is not air-conditioned. It relies on a breeze from the bay, a willingness to keep your room window open, and an overhead fan for cooling.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room on the 4th floor. A courtyard view will be quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Cstmartin,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor in regard to your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your interactions with our friendly staff and that you found our rooms to be clean and efficient. Many hotels here in San Francisco do not offer air conditioning as we are able to enjoy the temperate micro climate of the Bay area on a yearly basis.

We hope to warmly welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania the next time you visit San Francisco for business or leisure. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am a federal employee, from Washington, D.C. I was unfamiliar with the San Francisco area, and asked for help to relocate to another Best Western, per my colleagues. Scottie and his amazing customer came to my rescue. He and the manager helped me cancel my reservation and saw me off with no cancellation charges!! Although they could have charged me they did not because they were trying to accommodate my travel plans. I am so grateful for all of the great customer service I received. More specifically when you go to the Americana ask for Scottie, he will make sure you are well taken care of!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 778jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear J R,

Thank you for providing your opinion about your great experience dealing with your special situation and for appreciating the level of service our staff willingly provides on a daily basis at the Best Western Plus Americania. Scottie is a rising star in our hotel family and we are excited to pass along your comments to him.

If you are ever in San Francisco again we hope to warmly welcome you for a future stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed recently for 3 nights and found a great place and value for the money. Rooms clean,service from front desk to cleaning crew friendly and helpful..great location to walk or catch public transport ...we'll definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Londina2,

San Francisco has a variety of great hotels and we appreciate that you chose to stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are delighted to have provided a wonderfully memorable experience during your time with us. We look forward to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Family suite available, with three beds, two rooms, one bath. But the best is the pool - no chlorine, so relaxing and inviting. Location can't be beat - near to all things you want to do. The area may look a little dodgy, but other than a lot of noise (it IS a city!) very safe and easy to get to transportation. There is a little place there for breakfast - try the Continental breakfast with the rich sourdough bread - so good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gimmiepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Gimmiepugs,

With the many choices of hotels in San Francisco we thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Plus Americania centrally located in the heart of downtown. We are delighted that you enjoyed our heated pool and that you and your family were able to relax. It was our pleasure to prepare your Continental breakfast as it satisfied your cravings. The sourdough bread is specially made for our restaurant.

We look forward to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great place to stay for the money in SF! We stayed in the family room and had plenty of space for 6. It's close enough to walk to AT&T. The kids loved the heated rooftop pool even in March. It was perfect for a quick overniter!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 285petes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear 285petes,

We understand that when you visit the heart of San Francisco you have many different hotels to choose from as your home away from home. We appreciate that you have chosen the Best Western Plus Americania as your home here in San Francisco.

Our design team here at the Best Western Plus Americania are ecstatic that you enjoyed our design choices. We are glad that your stay lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
294 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 228 in San Francisco
1,170 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
605 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
981 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Americania

Property: Best Western Plus Americania
Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Americania 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing