We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel was like the middle square of a bingo card with the less than desirable neighborhood surrounding it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Ranked #132 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The hotel was like the middle square of a bingo card with the less than desirable neighborhood surrounding it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for a scheduled one night stay (attending a day San Francisco Giants game 9-20-2012) before travelling on. It was obvious the building was older but incurred an extensive amount of remodeling and redisign. The area is not the best but felt safe while at the hotel. Definately an eye opener of the environment when walking to the subway while seeking transportation to AT and T Park, walking back to the hotel after the game, and when I went running the next morning. My wife and I were pleased that we were able to stay in the hotel that night, eating at the hotel's restaurant (the burger was very good) and having a beer at the lounge. We actually stayed in room 205 (see other review) and other than a hyper active (and loud) motion detecting bathroom exhaust fan the room was fine. We did hear some noises from outside (people walking, rolling suitcases and street sounds) but nothing that caused any problelms. I liked the room because it was near the workout room for my wife and a short distance to the pool and elevator. Things I did not like was the valet fees and the aforementiond bathroom exhaust. The staff were very polite and accomendating and the hotel appeared clean (as well as our room).

Room Tip: The valet fees will be a necessary evil. Always be aware of the surroundings at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlk961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear jlk961,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Regarding the bathroom exhaust, I'll be sure to relay your message to our Engineering team to take a look at it, thank you also for providing your specific room number! Also, regarding our overnight parking fee, parking is a challenge in the entire city but we are pleased to offer affordable parking rates compared to that of hotels around Union Square, Financial District and Fisherman's Wharf where fees top $62 per night. But most importantly, I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay while in San Francisco and you enjoyed a wonderful game at AT&T Park. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    344
    300
    142
    71
See reviews for
296
284
68
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is located in the south of market area of San Francisco. The room was comfortable for a single bed and the hotel is done up in a retro-1960's style. The location is OK in the downtown core and 2 blocks away from the subway, but the area is rife with homeless people. All the standard amenities were functional although the bathroom was very small with the door actually unable to open fully because it hit the front of the toilet. The room I got overlooked an alley and was across from several recycling bins from a neighboring business. Needless to say this spot was a favorite spot for the homeless to go searching for bottles so every night during the week, you could hear the sound of clinking bottles through the single pane windows as the homeless sifted through the recycling containers.

It appears that the carpets in the room also needed some major cleaning. One night I put the initially clean bath towel on the carpeted area just outside the washroom and I stood on it. Imagine my surprise when I was done and moved the towel back only to find that there was a dark black stain on the underside of the towel in the area I was standing in which came from the filth on the carpet!

There is an attached restaurant which produces standard breakfast fare (hot & continental available). The food is well prepared and can get very busy in the mornings especially when the bus tourists hit the restaurant all at the same time.

Ostensibly, there is wireless internet service at the hotel. It allows regular internet traffic but the data rate was very low speed in general and it had some extreme problems handling secure virtual private network (secure VPN) services. Although I could get VPN access to my server initially, within a few minutes, they blocked the VPN address. This happened on 2 different VPNs. This means you cannot access the internet through a secure encrypted connection. I called their tech support to try to get the problem fixed but connections continued to be spotty at best.

Overall an average hotel with no surprises, but expensive for what you get, slow speed internet access, and with very poor VPN access. Business travelers considering this hotel need to consider these factors carefully.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ent i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear ent i,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the quality of the room as I will insure your comments will be relayed to our Hotel Manager, IT Manager and Director of Housekeeping to guarantee these issues are taken cared of.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Positives first .
The Americania is centrally located near the Muni Station and close to Market St so public transportation was ++++. This is a 70's hotel that has been redone in a cool hipster motif. The staff was very helpful with any issues my party had. Custom Burger which is attached to hotel was very good for a burger place very Umami Burger if you are familar

Negatives
DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 205 it is next to elevator and ice machine and the fitness center is five feet away they will wake you up with their banging on the treadmill. I am sure the staff have heard all this before. But try to rent it to see if you do not complain. I had to move because the noise was horrible. Next day staff member Jazmine moved me to third floor much quieter she was my go to girl when I need help. Thanks so much. Overnight parking is 25 dollars a night with in and out privileges. Location for some may seem a bit rough but this is SF and their are homeless everywhere at least they are not aggressive like in other cities. Room did not have accessible receptacles to plug in equipment next to bed I have a sleep apnea machine and had to move the attached headboard to access recep to plug in. WIFI reception in both of my rooms was unacceptable only saving grace was that one room had ethernet cable but not my second room. If you are doing business and need WIFI I do not recommend staying here. If you are traveling with friends and like being close to SOMA and all of its night life but not directly in it. You will find it acceptable. Oh yes did find a used bandage in my room on the floor YUCK!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 205 way to noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear John M,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. IWe are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the offerings at our Custom Burger!

Thank you for your candid feedback about the first room that you were checked into, but am glad that Jazmine was able to take care of your relocation and was able to take care of you and your group throughout your stay. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the amenities of the room and will also insure that the message is conveyed to our Director of Housekeeping so that we may deliver a pristine room to all of our guests.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on 3,4,5th September for the first stage of our honeymoon, it was pre-booked for us by a travel agent. On first arrival it seemed a nice place, nice big reception with 2 computer workstations with internet and a printer that was free to use. The guy on reception was very helpful and friendly and gave us some helpful hints and tips for our stay in SF. We were given a room on the 4th floor that was big and airy, everything worked fine. The decor was very retro but in a good way. Bed was comfy and clean. Rooms cleaned daily. Its not in the best area but it is close to Market St (where you can get basically anywhere in the city via trolley or bus). We would walk the route during the day but due to the amount of homeless and gangs that were on the way we would get a taxi at night. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear James R,

First and foremost, congratulations to you and yours in tying the knot, we wish you both an amazing future ahead together!

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service during your three-night stay! Our little neighborhood of SoMA is an eclectic and diverse area and although it's not the luxurious part of, "The City," SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant and cafe openings as well as major corporations that have recently moved to the area. And as you mentioned, our location provides the best great access to anywhere you need to go within San Francisco and beyond! Above all, I am very happy that you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco and stayed with us during the first leg of your honeymoon!

We hope to welcome you both back on your next trip to San Francisco, maybe on an anniversary!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I normally don't leave reviews but didnt want anyone to be as disappointed as we were. This hotel was a horrible experience. I would like to say there was one redeeming quality in this hotel but cannot. In the hotel room the heat didn't work and the maintenance person that came to check on the room was drunk. There was no hot water and was told to wait a couple hours for hot water again. When we requested a new room with working heat the staff stated there wasn't one available and promised to have available later. After returning to check on a new room they stated they were booked and couldn't move us. They management was inefficient and not friendly. The hotel was expensive,loud, no heat, no hot water and extremely non helpful staff. I would never stay here again and may not ever stay at a Best Western again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helg0040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Helg0040,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations.

We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you are willing to give us and Best Western another chance as we are capable of providing excellent customer service.

If I can assist you in anyway I am at your service. Please give me a call at 415-626-0200.

Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Chico, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Room size was bigger than some of the other hotels I have stayed at in the City. $25 to park a small car. $20 charge for each adult in a room, beyond two. They don't allow partying or loud noise, they make you aware of this andthey will have you removed. Wifi worked well. Main issue is the late night people in the quad areas that talk...the noise carries into the rooms. Actually woke me up. No free breakfast, but I didn't stay there for the food. Close to Market St., Muni, AT&T, and restaurants. Funky decor, some posts have issues with it, but no real complaints about the room. Felt safe, and staff was friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ganderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear ganderson,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed our accommodations during your visit. As you mentioned, we do not allow parties in our hotel guest rooms simply to insure the comfort avoid any disturbances for all of our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I travel to SF often and unfortunately the whole downtown core is very expensive.Unless you want to stay at a Motel from the likes of CSI, this is one of the cheapest hotels.

However, in the whole scheme of things it is expensive, and paying over $160 a night you expect better place than this. I have stayed on three occasions for a week at a time in recent months and felt short changed despite this being the best of 3 BW's downtwon.

I have to say the staff (other than bar staff) have been great. The wireless is relatively reliable. The rooms are an acquired taste. I quite like them, but they have galleries on websites, so if you don't like don't book. The furniture is cheap and already showing signs of ware.

The Hotel is a motel style of unit, where the front door opens out to a courtyard or balcony.

Breakfast is poor. Evening meal is limited to Burgers, which after a week is waring.

The hotel is just on the edge of a rough area (IMHO), but had no trouble.

If you are on a budget and have to stay in Downtown area, then this may do for you. If not, find a Hotel near the airport and commute in on Caltrain ($3) and pay $65 for a basic room

Room Tip: Room near the back are quieter. Rooms by road are noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear mr_and_mrs_nibbles,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am sorry to hear that our accommodations fell short of your expectations but I am pleased that the service provided by our staff was well received.

Although our little neighborhood of SoMA (South of Market) is slightly off the beaten path, it is rich in culture and diversity, and provides easy access to anywhere in San Francisco and for that, we thank you for visiting our wonderful city and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future stay.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing